MSI GE620 Gaming Laptop Review (Core i7/Nvidia)

Review Score:
15 Flares 15 Flares ×

Gaming laptops are for an elite audience, where ultimate performance is paramount. Sadly they aren’t cheap either, often costing £1,500, or more. Fear ye not, for today because we are looking at the MSI GE 620, a 15.6 inch portable which packs in a Core i7 quad core processor, 4GB of fast DDR3 with Nvidia discrete graphics … and all for £800 inc vat. Surely there is a catch?

The GE620 is positioning itself as a viable machine for a wide audience who are interested in portable gaming. On paper it is certainly an impressive specification for well under a grand, we have tested the Intel Core i7-2630QM before and it is a fantastic processor. Equally so, the Nvidia GT 540M is a capable discrete solution capable of powering through many of the modern gaming engines.

Main Specifications:

Processor: Intel Core i7-2630QM Processor (6M Cache, 2.00 GHz)
Operating System: Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Chipset: Intel HM65
Memory: DDR3 1066/1333 MHz
LCD Size: 15.6″ Full HD (1920×1080) or HD (1366×768) LED backlight
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GT 540M (DDR3 1GB)
HDD (GB): 500GB
Optical Drive: Blu-ray / DVD Super Multi
Audio: 7.1
Webcam: HD type (30fps@720p)
Card Reader: SD(XC/HC)/MMC/MS(PRO)/xD
LAN: 10/100/1000
Wireless LAN: 802.11 b/g/n (Intel or Atheros)
Bluetooth: Bluetooth v2.1 + EDR

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
MSI GE620 Gaming Laptop Review (Core i7/Nvidia), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
15 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 6 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 8 15 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

11 Comments
  • southwind
    September 2, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great Buy for a gaming laptop

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    September 2, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is a fantastic price. I bought an ACER a few months ago with a core i5 for not much less than that. im gutted :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ian Price
    September 2, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I saw this in a local store and was impressed. the most annoying thing I found was the reflections. its very very reflective. in the store, the lights made it hard to even see the screen it was that bad.

    The keyboard is ok, its some great bits shoved into a mid range chassis. I like the price however. amazon are selling it for £100 less than our local store.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    September 2, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I actually like the appearance, but it is rather ‘samey’. the hardware inside is impressive, must be one of the lowest prices online for those specs.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix
    September 2, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its worth it for the processor and graphics alone.

    It looks fine to me, and I like the USB ports on both sides. do they offer one at more money with 1080p screen?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth
    September 2, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just ordered one for myself. excited !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Perith
    September 2, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I already have this product and i think the review is fair. I dont really rate the screen either, but I think you can buy a better 1080p version for a little extra. dont see it listed anywhere however.

    Its very fast though and I do some rendering on it in 3dstudio max. its very good value for money. recommended from a happy customer

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel
    September 2, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good price indeed. I bought the new Asus high end 17 inch which cost me £1700. It has 1.5tb of storage and 560 m onboard, but the CPU is the same.

    I think MSI have managed to release a good laptop fro the price. some aspects will suffer a little, but I doubt most people would even notice some of the poiints raised in the review

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • RaihanR
    September 3, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Dude, 3D Mark score without comparison figure blows! What would a GTX460m score in this set up? around 1,500?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steevo
    September 6, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’ve always used this site http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html

    Can’t be certain the results will match every other mag, but it looks fairly complete.

    We allowed to post links to other sites here, or will the thought police shoot us?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives