NZXT Kraken X60 Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

Today we are going to take a look at the Kraken X60 which is NZXT’s first attempt at a performance liquid cooler.  Over the past few years there have been a number of different companies trying to enter the all-in-one liquid cooling market, following the success of Corsair and Antec. Companies such as Zalman, Cooler Master and now NZXT are all trying to make their mark.

It is quite easy for new companies to enter this market, as most of the products on offer are based on exactly the same technology from Asetek, the company that manufactured the original Corsair H50.  As a result, the differences between most of the liquid cooling units can be attributed to the different fans bundled with each unit. That said, Corsair only use Asetek for their budget range and have a number of models based on CoolIT Systems technology.

It doesn’t come as a surprise that the Kraken X60 is based on an Asetek design which differentiates itself by incorporating a 280 mm radiator, rather than the 240 mm model adopted by most of the competition.  It’s therefore very similar to the Corsair H110 which we reviewed recently, which was also based on an Asetek design, featuring a 280 mm radiator.

IMG 0022 300x200 NZXT Kraken X60 Review

Features

  • World’s first all-in-one 280mm cooler with capacity to mount up to four 140mm fans.
  • High performance pump and copper block with interactive digital fan control.
  • Integrated HUE controlled LED pump cap.
  • Large tower support with extended 16″ tubing and premium black sleeved cables for a clean look and improved airflow.
  • SATA power connector for easy installation and effortless cable management.
  • Completed sealed system backed by a 2 year warranty.
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
NZXT Kraken X60 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

  • Danky D

    Monster! Corsair H110/H100i is hard to beat, but I like this cooler too. I might buy it to compare myself.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tttt

    Kick ass !

    ───▄▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▄───
    ───█▒▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒█───
    ────█░░█░░░░░█░░█────
    ─▄▄──█░░░▀█▀░░░█──▄▄─
    █░░█─▀▄░░░░░░░▄▀─█░░█

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alex

    Best review I have read of this yet. just ordered one. thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    NZXT rock. I have one of their phantom cases, this is next on my life. great review.

    Now I need to persuade my credit card to accept the charge !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • HWExpert

    These are great coolers, but the size and mounting positions mean they won’t work in a lot of cases.

    Please check everyone before buying it could be an expensive mistake!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kirk

    I just bought the Corsair H110, love it. this looks good too, so many great coolers now hard to choose.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Barry

    Bought the X40 last week and its brilliant. X60 wouldnt fit in my case sadly, too big.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • EsOne

    No intention of changing my Noctua NH D14 – its much quieter than any of these coolers.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben

    Ordered this for my Phantom. cant wait !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Is is just me or are these coolers just getting bigger and bigger? I know many people said the Phantenks and Noctua took up too much space around the CPU socket, but these liquid coolers need half the case and huge mounting positions at the top of the case, hogging a lot of room?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wilker

    Who cares if its taking up space on the top of the case? if its out of the way of the memory slots etc, its a winner. I love the D14, but I sold mine to get a H100i. The D14 is just as good at cooling, but I could never get at things I needed to

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stevie

    Already own the X60, bought it last week. and its fantastic. bit big for a lot of cases, but its obvious with a radiator this size.

    I am using Bequiet fans on mine and its much better, cost another £20 but I dont care.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sven

    I must admit I think the Corsair H100i is a bit better looking by design.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Slashwat

    Cant buy it here anyway, has to be Corsair for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Debbie

    I will buy this for my boyfriend for his new system, birthday present sorted thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David SD

    What is the best case to run this in?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rt23ds

    Corsair Obsidan 650 works well with this cooler.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Skidmarks

    I don’t think there’s much to choose between the H110 & the X60 performance wise. You pays your money & takes your choice. That said I still use my old Antec Kuhler 920 & apart from it’s over elaborate (read pain in the ass) mounting system it probably performs just as well as newer competing brands in it’s class.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives