Cooler Master V8 Cooler Review – revisited

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

KitGuru staff often get asked which cooler makes the best partner for their overclocked system. My personal choices normally shift between the Thermaltake Frio and the Noctua NH D14, depending on the budget. Recently we have received many emails asking if we could give the Cooler Master V8 the ‘KitGuru treatment’.

The Cooler Master V8 has been available now for several years, but it still proves to be a big seller for the company. We thought as KitGuru only opened last year that it was time for a ‘revisit’, comparing against some of the latest high performance coolers on the market. Cooler Master are due to release new coolers over the coming months, so our testing today will also act as a future benchmark for Cooler Master to improve upon.

Specifications:

Manufacturer: Coolermaster
Model No.: V8 (RR-UV8-XBU1-GP)
Materials: Nickel plated aluminum fins, copper heatpipes, aluminum base.
Fan Mfg: Coolermaster A12025-20RB-4DP-F1
Fan Spec: 800-1800RPM, 12V, 0.32A
Fan Dimensions: 25x120x120mm
Heatsink & Fan Dimensions: 161x122x121mm
Weight: 865 grams
Includes: LGA775 and K8 socket mounting hardware, thermal compound, instructions

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Cooler Master V8 Cooler Review - revisited, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

8 Comments
  • Thommy
    February 11, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have had one of these for a year now and its still great. recommended.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin
    February 11, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Still looks good too. I never liked their highest end one, it takes up basically a full case !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • HotChuck
    February 11, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I always meant to pick one of these up, but opted for the noctua a year later. Still looks nice and it gives more room over the motherboard. That is why I dislike the D14. it just hogs all the space and makes adjustments to a system a nightmare.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rupert
    February 11, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    quite surprised to see this being reviewed so long after it was released, but after reading it, its was good to see the performance of the new coolers gainst it. they have a bit of a task outperforming the D14, not unless they make the size much larger.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optic Nerve
    February 11, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Frio seems the better deal to me, pricing is very similar and its a newer cooler. bit interesting to see what Cooler Master come up with.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke
    February 11, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This was always a great cooler, and I think their new version should be really smoking, if they dont make it too big like the V10.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Norman Shields
    February 11, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    nice to see this cooler again, was always a good product from cooler master, probably why they let its life span run so long.

    look forward to seeing the new version, whatever it might be.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ethan
    February 11, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’m using hyper 212 plus, performance is good, but I don’t like its fan, when ever CPU usage spikes, the fan follows.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives