ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 Review (w/ 4770k / GTX770)

Review Score:
4 Flares 4 Flares ×

Regular readers will be aware that Intel recently launched their Haswell range of processors. Kitguru has already reviewed motherboards from partners such as MSI, ASUS and Gigabyte in the last week. Today we look at the new ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 – this is a 12 phase power design featuring Premium gold capacitors. Is it worth your time and money?

We were impressed with ASRock Z77 motherboards released throughout 2012. The company went from strength to strength as the products were developed, delivering a wide range of competitive motherboards at various price points.

Z87 Extreme6m ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 Review (w/ 4770k / GTX770)
ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 Overview:

  • A-Style : Home Cloud, Purity Sound™, HDMI-In
  • Supports 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 / i5 / i3 / Xeon® / Pentium® / Celeron® in LGA1150 Package
  • Premium Gold Capacitor Design, Digi Power, 12 Power Phase Design, Dual-Stack MOSFET
  • Supports Dual Channel DDR3 2933+(OC)
  • 3 x PCIe 3.0 x16, 1 x PCIe 2.0 x1, 1 x mini-PCIe
  • Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX, 3-Way CrossFireX, CrossFireX
  • Supports NVIDIA® Quad SLI and SLI
  • Multi VGA Output Options : DVI-I, HDMI, DisplayPort
  • Intel® Dual Gigabit LAN with Teaming
  • 7.1 CH HD Audio with Content Protection (Realtek ALC1150 Audio Codec), Supports DTS Connect
  • 10 x SATA3, 1 x eSATA, 8 x USB 3.0, 7 x USB 2.0
  • 1 x Front USB 3.0 Panel with 2.5″ HDD/SSD Rack, 1 x Rear USB 3.0 Bracket
  • Supports A-Tuning, XFast 555, Easy Driver Installer, FAN-Tastic Tuning, USB Key
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 Review (w/ 4770k / GTX770), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
4 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 2 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 4 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

  • Greg

    Good price, and well built. great review, very honest. The bios is quite ugly looking, not like some of their past efforts. maybe this was rushed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben

    Im still in love with the MSI board you reviewed last week. want it badly

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harris

    the layout is good and the SATA config is best yet, shame about the bios. Gigabyte are miles ahead now IMO. hard for the others to follow. they really stepeed it up this time around

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • James

    I don’t see why people care so much about how the BIOS looks. As long as it does what you need it to do, who cares? I can’t remember the last time I went into my BIOS since I got my 2500K OC stable at 4.8Ghz. Set it and forget it!

    Can’t wait to get my Extreme6 Z87 board on Wednesday!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • failboat

    what brings a red flag to my mind is your review..

    you say the board wont post with 2933mhz memory but there are two SPECIFIC 2933mhz g.skill memories listed on the board’s compatible memory… did you even check to make sure it matched? cuz you sure didnt indicate the model in your review. for all we know you just tried something you “thought” would work.

    oh and buy the way, this memory: F3-2933C12Q-32GTXDG costs SEVENTEEN HUNDRED DOLLARS on newegg.

    thats right, enough to buy your college bound kid their first used econo car. so even if you are talking about that memory, are you fricking HIGH? what are you testing a low/mid model motherboard and putting ram that expensive for in it and crying?

    the 16gb version, F3-2933C12Q-16GTXDG, is a STEAL at eight hundred dollars.

    the motherboard memory list is here, on that place called the internet. i hear it has useful information. you may want to check it some time, because either you didn’t, and slammed the mobo for no reason, or wanted to put some fricking ferarri ram in a dodge challenger… derp derp?
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z87%20Extreme6/?cat=Memory

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Fallboat. Clearly you haven’t read the review, or can’t read properly. Not sure which. The memory worked with ASUS, MSI and GIGABYTE Z87 boards we previously tested in the last week – some of which aren’t actually much more expensive than this one. These other boards booted with the motherboard set at a lower speed setting and would overclock via BLCK to allow for the 2900mhz+ speeds. This board was the only one that wouldn’t post at all with it in the slots, regardless of the speeds, settings or timings.

    Would people buying this board want 2933mhz memory? Who knows, people are selling it right now and it boots in other Z87 boards we tested. Should we ignore the fact it doesn’t or mention it doesn’t? One is lazy, the other isn’t. Some motherboard manuals list supported memory speeds up to 2,133mhz but work perfectly with 2,600mhz memory+. This is common knowledge, except to very inexperienced users.

    The board was not ‘slammed’ either, we just mentioned the negative point compared to other Z87 boards we tested in previous weeks, seems logical to mention the fact.

    I enjoyed your colourful message but it would help if you read the content properly before exploding in a fit of rage.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • notmyname

    So to be clear, you tried the F3-2933C12Q-32GTXDG listed on the ‘supported list’ and it didn’t work?
    Or you tried a variant not specifically supported, to see what would happen?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • notmyname

    I’d like to know because the board looks interesting, but if it can’t post with ram it’s supposed to support, I think I’ll skip it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ajay57

    That said about Ram modules it seems like 1600MHZ is the sweet spot for Haswell and works well. Also must PC geeks run about 1600 or 1866 for there set ups now days as its relatively cheap to buy and works. But my overall concern in this whole review would be the amount of Bios that was tested!! I want to buy this board, but i need to confident that the Bios will work properly and not cause me huge problems etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • notmyname

    trawling through, I found the RAM tried in the MSI z87 Mpower Max review was:
    F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG (12-14-14-35 1.65v)
    which isn’t on the supported list, in case anyone is interested.

    I think the issue is both the XMP profile, and the board’s treatment of BLCK adjustments

    Like ajay57, I too would like to be confident of the BIOS – I think I’ll hold off for a couple of months and see what eventuates.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • CraigO

    Just finished a build with this motherboard and I guess I got lucky as no problems with the GSkill F312800cl10d-16gbxl or the bios

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • osiris2000

    CraigO…
    Just curious as Im thinking of getting this board… how has it worked for you so far since July?? Thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much RAM on your next build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives