ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo 690 Cooler review (w/ Asus GTX690)

Review Score:
158 Flares 158 Flares ×

We have reviewed many ARCTIC products in the last year, and today we are looking at their latest cooler, the Accelero Twin Turbo 690. As the name would suggest this is specifically designed for the current NVIDIA GTX690 flagship graphics solution. Is this worth the hefty $169.95 asking price?

The Accelero Twin Turbo 690 Cooler is designed to reduce the noise and drop the temperatures of the high end GTX690 and as the image above highlights, it is based around two large 120mm fans.

For the purposes of the review today, we need a ‘test’ subject. We are using an ASUS GTX690, which you can buy from Overclockers for £839.99 inc vat.

There is no such thing as a ‘cheap’ GTX690, but with prices up to £999.99 inc vat today, the ASUS GTX690 seems like somewhat of a bargain. Yes, I can’t believe I said that either.

The specifications of this card are:

  • Core Clock: 915MHz (GK104) x2
  • Core Boost Clock: 1019MHz x2
  • Innovative thermal design: Vapour Chamber (Quieter & Cooler than previous generation)
  • Memory: 4096MB GDDR5 (2x 2GB)
  • Memory Clock: 6008MHz (Effective)
  • Memory Interface: 512-Bit (2x 256-Bit)
  • Processing Cores: 3072 (2x 1536)
  • Bus Type: PCI-Express GEN 3.0 (Backwards compatible)
  • Display Connectors: 3x Dual-Link DVI-I, & 1x Mini-Displayport

So we can already see that this cooler is improved on the reference solution. Can the ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo 690 outperform the ASUS solution?

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo 690 Cooler review (w/ Asus GTX690), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
158 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 155 158 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

9 Comments
  • Lucas Johnston
    October 3, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    well thats extremely sexy, and extremely expensive!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dannie
    October 4, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Id love to know how many GTX690′s have sold in the UK, as a total figure/ £900 for a video card? cant be too many thats for sure.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harris
    October 4, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    ARCTIC make some great products, but these are really expensive coolers, you could buy a video card for the same price as this cooler.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ethan
    October 4, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I just installed a 690 for a customer few weeks ago, but there is some issues with the card, then we changed a new one for the customer, still can’t play some of the games

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andres
    October 8, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well, I don’t see myself paying $170 for ~10-20 degrees cooler.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo 690 Review Aggregate
    January 7, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] 80/100 – Worth Buying – KitGuru [...]

  • JuanPabloCuervo
    March 5, 2013
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Weight! before & after, Original cooler Weight vs. Accelero difference, Weight with 1 fan removed? 800grms seems too much for a video card, temperature performance with 1 fan? Front vs. Back? fins removed? The only thing that holds me back is the unknown weight difference. Is there a hybrid in the future? Or a gtx590?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JuanPabloCuervo
    March 5, 2013
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Passive performance? All fans removed & dissconected? Weight all fans removed?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JuanPabloCuervo
    March 6, 2013
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Is this thing SLI Compatible? I mean is compatible with double wide pcie connectors?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives