Sapphire HD6870 Toxic Edition Review – the fastest HD6870 available?

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Sapphire have a well earned reputation as one of AMD’s finest partners. Their Vapor X and Toxic Edition cards command a small price premium while offering significant advantages in all key areas. Today we are looking at the as yet unreleased HD6870 Toxic Edition with custom Vapor-X cooler and ‘out of the box’ clock enhancements.

For many of you this will have been a long wait, Kitguru reviewed the standard Sapphire HD6870 on the 22nd of October 2010 and we had initially hoped to see the customised solutions early in the New Year.

The Sapphire HD6870 Toxic Edition card we are reviewing today has received some significant clock increases, up to 970mhz on the core (from 900mhz) and 1150mhz (4600mhz effective) via the GDDR5 memory (from 1050/4200mhz on the reference board).

Sapphire HD6870 Toxic
Sapphire HD6870
Sapphire HD6850
Core Clock Speed 970mhz
900mhz
775mhz
Stream Processors 1120
1120
960
ROPs 32
32
32
Frame Buffer 1GB GDDR5
1GB GDDR5
1GB GDDR5
Compute Power 2.0 TFLOPs
2.0 TFLOPs
1.5 TFLOPs
Memory Width/Speed 256bit, 4.6GBPS
256bit, 4.2GBPS
256bit, 4.0 GBPS
Power Connectors Dual 6 Pin
Dual 6 Pin
Single 6 Pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
2xDVI + 2x mDP + 1 HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire HD6870 Toxic Edition Review - the fastest HD6870 available?, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

  • Samuel

    That is one seriously awesome mid range board. Sapphire do it again !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frederick

    Great work man, covered all the bases. amazing temps, my 5770 runs hotter.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    This is a damn good indication of why sapphire are still the leaders for AMD products.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rufus

    My friend just read this review and wants the card. waiting patiently in the UK for it now ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph

    excellent, the price is very good, although the 6950 isn’t much more really…..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas Jensen

    That fan is a very unusual design, is it tapered at the edges? most fans at this size have 9 blades. very clever.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke

    Very nice indeed and im not sure what the guy earlier was smoking, the HD6950 is £240 in the UK, thats £30-35 more. quite significant in this sector.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Nice one, any ideas when the USA gets this baby?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric

    Where can you get the trixx tool? I dont see it online anywhere. does it work with any card?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Im impressed and thats hard to do now with the over saturation of cards on the market from so many companies. This stands out enough to get major sales for sapphire.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    I dont like AMD hardware, but the temperatures on this card are incredible, very impressive engineering from Sapphire.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER

    fucking hell, thats a crazy core clock speed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fluffychicken

    great review again. do you ever sleep?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tronoamas

    Excellent, would like to see this head to head with 560.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ethan

    I bought sapphire 6870 last year because I couldn’t wait for the toxic edition. The temp for furmark was 89C in just 1minute not to mention how loud the fan was. So I bought the AC TTP, now peak at 63C for 15mins, I’m very happy.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • faith

    @Ethan: Running cards around 90 is not always a problem, as we’ve seen from the GTX480. But it is always a pain when the cooling solution is screaming at you :-( Glad you found a better solution! Just out of interest, when you bought it, how much was the AC TTP ?

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Preetam

    I checked ur original HD6870 review, and it seems that despite being 70Mhz higher clocked, this TOXIC edition card consumes only 3W higher than reference card. This is nothing short of amazing.

    Considering you are getting higher than HD5870 performance by a 250$ card whereas only last year HD5870 was selling for 400$

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives