Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review

Review Score:
4 Flares 4 Flares ×

When overclocking the Sapphire HD6870 we used Catalyst Control Centre.

Overclocking on reference boards indicates potential speeds a few weeks down the line when AMD partners release their own overclocked solutions with improved coolers and bios configurations.

overclocking sapphire 6870 Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review

Our overclocking tests were reasonably successful considering this is a reference cooler, although we didn’t find huge overhead on the core. We were limited to 950MHz on the core and 1,140MHz on the memory.

We then wanted to run some tests with our overclocked results, settling on 940MHz core and 1,140MHz memory for the final CrossFireX settings.

heaven oc Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review

vantage oc Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review

tessmark oc Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review

The overclock results are healthy, Unigine Heaven Benchmark shows a 2fps increase in and 3DMark Vantage scales with 300 additional points when overclocked.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire Radeon HD6850 and HD6870 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
4 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 4 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 4 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

  • JC

    Your 6850 have 1120 sharders. o_o”

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • harry

    these are really good cards, love the performance and price.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Excellent boards those, really look the part and performance is awesome. overclocking is great !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • P1n3apqlExpr3ss

    Shit… haha 6850 is a killer card and guess what? its right in the price range im looking at :D
    Only thing i can say reading other reviews is that the 6850 reference cooler is pretty weak. These sapphire cards look great for the money :D (6850) will reserve judgement til i seem overclocked 6870s

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Killer card indeed, couldnt agree more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrid Fayid

    HD6870 is good, but I dont like reference designs, too noisy/hot/ I will wait for sapphires or XFXs custom cooling one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harris

    HD6870 is the one I would get, but not reference version. will wait a month for vapor X or toxic version.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev

    6870 reference design is a waste, waiting on other solutions

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • steve

    the hd6870 isn’t my first choice until they get third party products out of the stable,

    Its always the way with launches, but its weird AMD have let their partners make third party solutions for 6850s

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon

    over clocked HD6870s might be hard to get out the door with such poor over clocks on the core. seems both boards max out around 950

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    While these cards aren’t awe inspiring, when you look at the price 150 for a 6850. about the same as the 5770. 25% more performance, looks good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lux

    those overclocks on the 50 are great. id say overclocked versions will be out really soon. vapor x anyone ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Michael

    As JC stated, this 6850 has 1120 shaders instead of the default 960…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech head

    The bottom gpuz screenshot is for the 6870

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    I get the same 3dmark vantage score as this HD6850. I was hoping I might even up with a 1120 shader version but sadly not :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://noir-badger.deviantart.com Krissy

    @ Jon

    I saw in another review that they managed to get the Sapphire 6870′s core clock to 1000mHz stable. I’m sure if put under water, these cards will have a bit more overclocking headroom anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which Platform/CPU next for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives