XFX HD6950 XXX Edition Review – dual fan overclocked

Review Score:
20 Flares 20 Flares ×

The latest card to get the ‘special’ treatment from XFX is the HD6950 XXX Edition which is not only supplied with higher than reference clocks, but a dual fan, customised cooler design. Is this one of the best HD6950′s that money can buy? Today we will find out.

When compared against the reference edition, the XFX HD6950 XXX is supplied with a 30mhz core clock increase, from 800mhz to 830mhz. GDDR5 memory is also enhanced from 5.0Gbps to 5.2Gbps.

We are pleased to see that this time the card also has a customised two fan cooler, unlike the rather disappointing HD6970 Black Edition we reviewed last week.

Product XFX HD6950 XXX Edition
AMD HD6950
Core Clock speed
830mhz
800mhz
Primitive Rate
2 prim/clk
2 prim/clk
Shader Architecture
VLIW4
VLIW4
Stream Processors
22 SIMD/1408 ALU
22 SIMD/1408 ALU
Texture Units 88 88
ROPs/Z-Stencil 32/128 32/128
Frame Buffer 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5
Memory Width/Speed 256bit, 5.2 Gbps 256bit, 5.0 Gbps
Power Connectors 6 pin & 6 pin 6 pin & 6 pin
Display Outputs 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI 2xDVI + 2x mDP + HDMI
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX HD6950 XXX Edition Review - dual fan overclocked, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
20 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 18 20 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

14 Comments
  • Brian Smyth
    February 16, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is more like it. good overclocks too. I need an upgrade in the next few months, but I might opt for the GTX560

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    February 16, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems like a good card, depending on the price point they achieve. they seem to have another XXX out with a single fan design.
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-194-XF&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1752

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas
    February 16, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Dual fans are always the way to go. anyone ever released a card with three fans ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fhrkfr
    February 16, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    mmm so it will be over £200 then? its right into the 560 price zone, tough call

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    February 16, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    DOnt think any company has released a mainstream card with a three fan design, although I know arctic cooling had the exteme cooler on sale, was reviewed here. it had three fans.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth
    February 16, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really like that return to idle bit in the cooling section. sometimes the crap coolers ive noticed can take well over a minute to sort the temps out.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph
    February 16, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I thought XFX had lost the plot after reading that Black Edition review at the weekend. no more like a black edition that my kettle. this is a lot better.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Earthworm Kim
    February 16, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its either this or the 560……. ill probably opt for nvidia. prefer the drivers

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Monster Jon
    February 16, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Im still getting over that 6970 card from Asus, everything pales in comparison. :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John
    February 16, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    my mate garry pointed me to this today, if they can get it under £200 quid id jump all over it, but I cant see that happening

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colyn
    February 16, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I just bought the hD6870 flex, and have two screens coming soon, all for £600 :) really excited, but this card looks good too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek
    February 16, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great looking card, love the dual fan setup. wish AMD would adopt that idea, we have to wait months after the release to see them. sucks for early adopters

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Karilm
    February 16, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This range doesnt impress me to be perfectly honest. they are good cards but I expected so much more from AMD when they were released. prefer nvidia all round.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Barney
    February 16, 2011
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, but ive entered the 460 competition, would prefer it !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives