Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (Rev.2) CPU Cooler Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Here at KitGuru we spend a lot of time looking at high end  products so it’s easy to forget about the cheaper products at the other end of the market.  Many people aren’t interested in how many megahertz they can squeeze out of their top-end i7-980X CPU with the mammoth Noctua NH-D14 cooler and simply want a cheap alternative to a stock cooler to improve longevity and possibly achieve a modest overclock.

Arctic cooling is renowned for producing some of the finest cooling kit on the market. They are often the choice of companies such as Sapphire to cool their top-end Radeon 5970 graphics card (modified Accelero Xtreme).  Additionally, Arctic Cooling’s MX-3 thermal compound is widely regarded as some of the best on the market and is the choice of enthusiasts across the globe.

Today we are going to look at the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU cooler which can be bought for a modest £16 – almost a quarter of the price of the Noctua high end NH-D14 ‘Austrian Sandwich’ cooler.  This price sets it up to be a perfect companion to those looking for a budget friendly CPU cooler but we shall see how it performs in our tests before we give a definitive verdict.

Features

• Compatible with Intel Core i7 and Core i5, as well as AMD sockets
• Excellent cooling performance – 130 Watts
• Ultra quiet 92mm PWM fan
• 6 heatpipes and 42 fins for efficient heat dissipation
• Patented vibration absorption to eliminate buzzing sounds
• Pre-applied ARCTIC MX-2

Specification

Dimensions 104 x 58 x 126.5mm (LxWxH)
Fan 92mm
Fan speed 900 – 2500 RPM (PWM Controlled)
Airflow 45 CFM / 77m3/h
Max. cooling capacity 130W
Bearing Fluid Dynamic Bearing
Weight 520g
Warranty 6 Year

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (Rev.2) CPU Cooler Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Terry

    Even cheaper than the Thermaltake Contac 29 very nice indeed ! this will be a good seller I would imagine

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Awesome little cooler, the original was brilliant, such a bargain really considering the £40+ asking price for most now in the UK. this and the Contact 29 seem the best deals.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Great review Henry, nice pictures and the product is very good

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    shame we didnt get a head to head with the contac 29, id love to know how they both hold up together. same price,. well almost.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    Nice review Henry, looks like a nice little cooler. very cheap which is always good to see

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Its hard to justify spending £60 on a cooler unless you need to overclock very high. and most people don’t. this is ideal.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry Rodgers

    Great review, seems like a perfect first step up from intels reference mounts.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    ideal cooler for a newb or someone wanting a very cheap product. performance is much better than the price would suggest

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth

    I had the first version of this cooler and it was very impressive. so easy to fit too in a rush.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    Excellent design and such a cheap asking price. the first one was around for a long time, I see no reason why this one wouldnt be also.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tense Past

    Found this site, and it looks great on my iPad, so clean and fast loading !

    Nice review, very helpful for a purchase I have coming up soon.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chaos

    I used the original in several systems and got good results with them. It’s good to see Rev2 performs well also

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    Very well written review Mr Butt :) a few things id change such as fan support, but for the price, its impossible to fault.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • P1n3apqlExpr3ss

    Good review, as far as I know this has been around for a while but still holds up there quite well.
    One thing that got me thinking while reading through it was this… see that pic looking at the cooler from the south east corner of board? Yea, well how does if at all, does taller RAM modules affect cpu cooling performance? Taller DIMMs could potential interrupt airflow into the fan and thus the heat dissipation of the cooler? That could make a pretty interesting read if that theory holds true :D

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives