Asus Crosshair V Formula Motherboard Review

Review Score:
12 Flares 12 Flares ×

A few weeks back AMD launched their new 990FX chipset which provides support for the new AM3+ socket.  Motherboards based on this chipset and socket will support the new Bulldozer (Zambezi) line of CPUs when they are launched.  We looked at the Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard on launch day which left us with generally positive impressions but today we are looking at a different board from Asus.

Today for review, is the Asus’ top-end 990FX motherboard, the Crosshair V Formula which is part of their RoG (Republic of Gamers) series of products.  Like the Sabertooth 990FX, this boasts an impressive specification that is sure to whet the appetites of enthusiasts.

It supports 3-way AMD CrossfireX and nVidia SLI so whatever your preference on GPU manufacturer, you’ll be happy.  Other features worthy of note include six SATA3.0 (6Gbps) ports, six USB3.0 ports and 8+2 phase DIGI+ VRM.

Features

  • 3-Way NVIDIA® SLI™ / AMD CrossFireX™ Technology
  • Extreme Engine Digi+ – Powerful combination of analog and digital design elements
  • SupremeFX X-Fi 2 – Play with ultra-real cinematic in-game surround sound!
  • GameFirst – Creates the speed you need to PWN!
  • Intel® Gigabit LAN – Experience the fast network connectivity!
  • UEFI BIOS – Flexible & Easy BIOS Interface

For the full specification of this motherboard, visit the Asus website here

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus Crosshair V Formula Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
12 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 12 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 12 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

  • Jerry

    Great looking board that, as usual from Asus. We need the new processors however the current range is looking seriously dated.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rufus

    quality products. love this company. Only thing I will say is that their pricing is normally a fair bit more compared to some others. more so recently I think

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rupert

    Will be the center of my next system, with a bulldozer CPU. not sure how long this will be, probably a few months off from the rumors online

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eartha

    This is going to sound like such a minor point, but I regret not buying ASUS for my last system. The reason being that I love their support website. Many of the other east makes download files at 5k. it drives me nuts for updates.

    Asus just have the whole package right from the start

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • UEFI rocks

    As much as this looks ‘great’, im all about the bios and overclocking and their products are very hard to match overall. UEFI bioses are so easy to use too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Optix

    cant go wrong with red and black ;) ROG FTW

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • padrick

    Read a few reviews of this now and it seems an all round good board. no faults of note.

    I dont think ill be moving to AMD tho. waiting on the new intel platform end of year.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Carfanatic

    What they didn’t test or even mention in the review is that SLI or Crossfire do not work at all yet no drivers have been released to work with the new chipset so you may have two cards but they won’t work together till they release the software to use them with the new board. I was all set to buy this board a few weeks ago when it first came out till I found this out. If this if fixed I will pick one of these up asap.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Urtecho

    what? the crossfire is not working properly? F ** k! I already buy one of these with 2 XFX RADEON HD 6870.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • orngi

    crossfire is ok no prob with me with 2x xfx 6770
    the driver currently available working fine

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives