Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 Z68 review – bargain mobo of the year

Review Score:
12 Flares 12 Flares ×

Kitguru often focuses on the ultra high end hardware, but today we are building a system around the Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 Z68 motherboard, a new product which aims to deliver the best price point possible. At a shade under £85 we wanted to test this new mobo with the award winning Intel 2500K processor. Can we upgrade your older system to a new, kick ass CrossfireX gaming system for around £600?

As this is an upgrade scenario, you will already have a chassis, hard drive, power supply, monitor, keyboard/mouse and we will focus on upgrading the core components including processor, graphics, motherboard, memory and cooler.

gigabyte board Gigabyte GA Z68AP D3 Z68 review   bargain mobo of the year

Motherboard:
Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 Z68 Motherboard
- £85 inc vat from Scan.

Processor:
Intel Core i5 2500k
£160 inc vat from Scan.

CrossfireX Graphics:
XFX HD6870 Black Edition x 2
£146 inc vat each from Scan. (£290 total)

Cooler:
Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme Rev.2 CPU Cooler
- £26.50 inc vat from Amazon.

Memory:
Corsair Memory XMS3 Classic 4GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 Dual Channel Desktop
£23 inc vat from Scan.

Total: £584 inc vat.

The system above is well balanced with some of the best priced components on the market. Obviously if you also need a power supply upgrade you could run initially with a single graphics card, then upgrade with another at a later date, when funds permit.

On paper the Gigabyte -Z68AP-D3 Z68 seems almost too good to be true, especially at this budget price point. It is fully loaded and even comes equipped with Intel Smart Response Technology, the first ever mSATA drive connectors on a standard desktop PC motherboard. It has CrossfireX support, USB 3.0 connectors and SATA 6Gbps connectors.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 Z68 review - bargain mobo of the year, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
12 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 11 12 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

  • Orion

    Wow, that might be a ugly looking board, but great performance ! ill direct my friend to this link he was on about a new mobo and system before christmas

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev

    Great bargain. I have read an analysis before on x4 and it doesnt really make much difference for a second slot card. maybe 5% lower performance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lukar

    It is a bit stripped down, but in the right places. such as not having 12 sata ports etc. who the hell needs all that anyway.

    Shame about the x4 secondary port, but ive looked at the 3dmark results and they seem pretty much on par with 2x x16 slots… very good quality board. I like gigabyte anyway.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gibby

    They are selling well, most places are sold out. companies need to release more sub £100 b oards like this, huge audience.

    Look at the results for instance. a 2500k and a board like this with cheap ass memory, performs well, and for gaming a 970/980/990x is a total waste of time.

    proved many times. nice article

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yorkie

    Gigabyte have good bios recovery systems, always found it with my older P67 board. I moved to asus Z68 and it sometimes craps out. has surprised me to be honest as I know they get the best name overall. ill move back to gigabyte in the next cycle.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned

    We sell 10 of these a week. excellent product. Never used one in Crossfire, so this is a good resource.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Polo

    I got one two weeks ago, but they are hard to find now in stock

    Ebay sellers have them

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rupert

    Bought it, this week and am very happy. great review thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • antonpopov

    This website is remarkably interfering and winsome, unquestionably be affirmed b club in naval aft here in the expected! Thanks again!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Pc Gaming in 1000-1200 euro - My Garage

  • Pingback: Recomandare placa de baza - My Garage

  • JudgeFudge

    Hello Zardon, thank you for the very informative review but I just wanted to ask.

    How did you overclock the Z68AP-D3 without an option to change the Vcore? Which setting do I change to change my Vcore? Right now I have a 2600k and I’m hoping to go at least 4.2Ghz. I’d be really grateful if you’d email or post the solution here.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Overfocused

    The maximum selectable multiplier for me with this board is 41x. Is this a limitation of revision 1.0?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Do you buy technology for the workplace?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives