Antec Earthwatts EA 650W green Review

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

Antec have a wide range of quality products in their portfolio, and their power supplies have always been big sellers. They are updating their mainstream ‘value for money’ EarthWatts range with two new models, a 650W and a 750W power supply. Today we are looking at the 650W model, with the 750W review to come very shortly.

The EarthWatts 650W is supplied without a power cable, because Antec see these units as ‘upgrade’ models. Antec have came under fire for not supplying the power cable but after speaking with them, they feel that people already have plenty of cables and this is an unnecessary extra. I think there is also a ‘mother earth’ angle to it, but I don’t really understand how the removal of a power cable would help anything, so ill just move on.

So what’s new? Well Antec are still using Delta as their OEM but they are now 80 Plus Bronze Certified. The new units are ‘green’ and they have received some performance improvements. The 750W also has a larger cooling fan, but more on that in the next review.

Earthwatts 650W overview:

  • 650 Watts of continuous power
  • Nvidia SLI certified, ATI CrossFireX certified
  • 80 Plus Bronze Certified – up to 88% efficient
  • Two +12V rails
  • Up to 100% power available on +12 rails
  • Quiet 120mm fan
  • ATX 12V version 2.3 and EPS12V version 2.91 compliant
  • Active PFC with PF: 0.99
  • MTBF: 100,000 hours
  • Meets 2010 EUP requirement: 5Vsb < 1W
  • Safety: cUL, TUV, CE, CB, FCC, C-TICK, CCC, BSMI, Gost-R
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Antec Earthwatts EA 650W green Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 3 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

12 Comments
  • Dotith
    March 31, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems like a decent product. pricing is briliant. ideal for a second machine. I dont see the big deal about the cable missing. not sure how thats helping the earth? but yeah ive loads of spares./

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jarranst
    March 31, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nothing wrong with Delta designs, ive had a few older antec psus with them in them, still working like troopers.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kanned H3at
    March 31, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    65 bucks is great. might check it out on newegg later.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Oliver
    March 31, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    cant be bad at the price. i think id rather have the ADATA one at 10 more for the modular support. I cant deal with all those cables anymore hanging around the case. also im surprised these arent sleeved. seems a bit penny pinching.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance Gallid
    March 31, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wont buy antec again I had one blow up on me last year. took out my motherboard too :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 082938212
    March 31, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Too cheap for me, I want a 80 plus gold from corsair, but I guess for cheapo kids it fine.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Haggard
    March 31, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I dont know why people complaing about PSUS in some threads. ive had enermax, antec and ocz, and I never have a problem. I must be lucky.

    I like this one, but ill wait on 750w review, 650w wont give me much room to upgrade this year. my old ocz is still hanging in there, but Id like a 200W+ increase

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • buget 4500-5000 - My Garage
    November 17, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] iar sursa are electronică excelentă (Delta) şi certificare 80Plus Bronze (review). Dacă ai neapărată nevoie de stocare, schimbă SSD-ul cu un HDD mecanic de 1 [...]

  • Quer escolher sua fonte rapidamente? - Guia atualizado de fontes
    May 12, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] [...]

  • Fuente para pc gamer, que les parece?
    September 16, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] sin pasarse de los 60 mil pesos: Antec EarthWatts EA-650 Green (650 W) – SoloTodo reviews: http://www.kitguru.net/components/po…-green-2011/5/ Antec Earthwatts EA650 650W Review Antec TruePower TP-650 (650 W) – SoloTodo reviews: [...]

  • ayuda fuente de poder y placa de video
    May 21, 2013
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] [...]

  • Vtkacy@Gmail.com
    February 21, 2014
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    WHY don’t STATE input Voltage…????!! What’s goin on…? Where are the input voltages…?? 110 VAC – 230 VAC ….???? Who are you “kitguru” amateurs..?? :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives