Antec TruePower New 650W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
8 Flares 8 Flares ×

When building a new PC, it is important not to overlook the importance of a power supply. Without solid, stable power delivery a system can experience hard locks and in worst case scenarios, even component failure. Thankfully the market has no shortage of high quality, cost effective solutions available and today we will be looking at a product from Antec which retails for a modest £85 inc vat.

Antec are one of the industries most respected companies, especially when the topic of quality power supplies is raised. Earlier this year they released the new TruePower series which replaced the older Truepower Trio and NeoPower lines. This new lineup not only brings new technology to market but streamlines the range into a focused, cohesive platform.

The Antec TruePower New 650W has both nVidia SLI certification and 80 Plus Bronze Certification.

Safety approval: UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick, BSMI
Meets 2010 EUP requirement:  5Vsb < 1W
Weight: 2.3 kg; 5 lbs
Dimensions:
- 3.4″ (H) x 5.9″ (W) x 5.9″ (D)
- 86mm (H) x 150mm (W) x 150mm (D)

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Antec TruePower New 650W Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
8 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 8 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 8 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

9 Comments
  • Raymond
    November 4, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Quality product, good price too. I never pay under £100 normally for a PSU, but this is a decent price for what you get. nice to see the real world system info at the end, I never know what ill get out of it by figures.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    November 4, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I actually use one of their older supplies in my media center at home, ive had it now for 5 years and never a single crash. I really rate these guys.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    November 4, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    A little more expensive than most, but seems worth it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel
    November 4, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I almost bought this a few months ago but went for the XFX 650W instead.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry
    November 4, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice one, good product from Antec, although this range is all good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terror of the deep
    November 4, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Almost bought their 750 W unit but went for the corsair 750 instead. good range this thought.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon Humphreys
    November 4, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This might be ideal for me. price isnt bad and more than enough power for my system and future upgrade in jan.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    November 4, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like their products, cases and PSUs are some of the best on the market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mel
    January 1, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I hate to be picky, but shouldn’t the following read Antec PSU :)

    “The XFX PSU handled the Cross loading tests without a problem and we experienced no issues.”

    ” We measured this AC signal amplitude to see how closely the XFX unit complied with the ATX standard.”

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives