Cooler Master GX650 Bronze Power Supply Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Cooler Master have been releasing power supplies now for many years and today we are looking at an upgrade to their long standing 650w non modular unit. It receives 80 Plus Certification and a range of internal design changes, with a new Enhance implementation. Cooler Master are also aiming for competitive pricing to target the mainstream enthusiast audience … but is it worth your money?

The GX650 we are looking at today is the mid range model in a new series of 550w, 650w and 750w power supplies which are hitting the market this week. They are designed for enthusiast systems with a key focus on performance, while maintaining a strong value for money balance. The new design features a dual layer EMI filter and a large quality 120mm PWM controlled fan.

ACC 1899 300x199 Cooler Master GX650 Bronze Power Supply Review

Main feature list:

  • Compliance with the latest Intel standard ATX 12V V2.31
  • Single +12V Rail provides ample power and strong resistance to any overloading
  • High efficiency design that meets 80 Plus Bronze requirements
  • Multiple protection designs (OVP/UVP/OPP/OTP/SCP).
  • High reliability of over 100,000 hours
  • Double Layer EMI Filter reduces Electromagnetic Interference.
  • Huge bulk capacitor for hold up times of >17ms when fully loaded
  • Efficient transformer that reduces 5Vsb power loss when the system is in off/sleep state.
  • EuP ready: To save most power consumption (below 1W in standby mode)
  • Five Year Warranty
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Cooler Master GX650 Bronze Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Iain

    hard to complain with that pricing structure. I just hate non modular power supplies now. they make a system build so much more messy.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    Yeah, good budget model for sure. I agree with modular comments however. dont think id ever buy a new non modular PSU. I hate routing unneeded cables.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric

    They seem to be releasing a lot of products in recent months.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    Great pricing for a quality product. never owned a cooler master product before, well not a PSU anyway

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    That sticker on the side is ugly IMO, but the design seems very good all round. I have to upgrade soon, but I wish they would have made this in a modular design. i learned the hard way

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dog

    Hard OCP failed this power supply and said coolermaster should be ashamed

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francis

    isnt that the older model though? they had a previous version of this out, but it wasnt bronze certified and it was an older design too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dog

    It was the RS650-ACAAE3. what’s this one’s part number?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dog

    I just looked on EBuyer and they are still selling the same part as this one, not a new part

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/11/22/cooler_master_gx_650w_power_supply_review/1

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • k0rn

    Thats the older model, its a different internal design and isnt 80 plus bronze rated either.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dan

    The GXs that got bad reviews were built by Seventeam, it looks like, based on this review, that the Enhance built ones will be better.

    I think the greatest problem with this product is going to be customer confusion. Just remember to look out for D3 in the model number, otherwise don’t get it.

    @Zardon, thank you for including cable length measurements.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • barry80

    @Dan, i don’t think this batch is made from Enhance. cuz what i read on hardocp is same manufactured with this so called “Enhance” oem.

    http://www.hardocp.com/image.html?image=MTI4OTc4Nzk2NzcwVlJNdjVCYmxfM180X2wuanBn

    both of the UL code is E320127, its mean OEM by Acbel? i am so confused, cuz last time i remembered the previous batch is oem by seventeam, it should be E141400.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-supply-oem-manufacturer,2913-5.html

    cooler master really try to make a fool around us?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dan

    Here is another review of the newer Cooler Master GX650 Bronze:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/CoolerMaster/GX650W_Bronze/
    he confirms that the OEM of the new GX series is Enhance.

    That HardOCP image is from the review of the Seventeam built unit, and published in 2010. These Enhance ones are very/much more recent.

    As for that Toms link, it is probably only useful as a rough guide, not something to swear by; its already out of date. And IMO, has an over-reliance on UL numbers.

    It’s been awhile since UL numbers were a good way of finding out the OEM for power supplies.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives