Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

A few weeks ago we reviewed the Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 600W, an extremely impressive power supply on a variety of levels. While 600W should be enough for most systems, there will always be a more demanding audience who need higher levels of power.

For this particular audience we will look at the highest power output model in the Silent Pro Gold range, the 1200W model.

Can this monster supply hold its own against the incredible class leading Corsair AX1200 that walked away with our top award in July this year?

  • Heat Transfer Technology
    A unique “L-shaped” heat-sink to remove heat from the PSU
  • Hybrid Transformer
    Unique design that combines heat-sink with transformer
  • Hyper Path
    Places IC close to transformers leading to huge efficiency ratings
  • Flat modularized cables provide easy cable management leads to better airflow
  • Compliance with the latest Intel standard ATX 12V V2.3
  • Operation with intelligent fan speed control
  • High reliability (MTBF> 100,000 hours)
  • Multiple protection design (OVP/UVP/OPP/OTP/SCP/OCP)
  • Japanese-made capacitors
  • Five-year warranty
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200W Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

7 Comments
  • Raymond
    November 11, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Just ordered one from OCUK, needed a new PSU and was going to get the corsair 850W, but its only 35 more!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sammy
    November 11, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not often you see a 1200W PSU with gold cert for under 200 quid. winner for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trimib
    November 11, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, that just hits the spot for me. was going to spend about 130 on a new one, but I seem to buy a new PSU every 2 years, so this one might last me 4. thats my logic. might be after christmas, but I think this is for me.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon
    November 11, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love the KitGuru PSU reviews, top job.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon
    November 11, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am glad you didnt nail it for the ripple results. its still well within specs and some sites are known to mark a product down on this.

    Products should only be marked down if the problem actually affects the user. this isn’t a problem. just a little higher ripple than leading products and well within the specs.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Manflaps
    November 11, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very impressed with this and the pricing especially. most of them are 250 here.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color
    November 11, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Pricing is good as everyone says. its only 30 quid more than some 850W psus ive seen online. looks like a solid buy. design of the chassis looks very like the corsair products, or is no one else seeing that? the font etc.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives