XFX Pro Series 450w and 550w Power Supply Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Last year KitGuru reviewed all three of the new XFX Pro Series family, the 850W, the 750W and the 650W. We found them all to be great power supplies capable of solid power delivery at very competitive prices. Today we review the two latest members of the Pro Series family, the 450W and 550W units.

The XFX Pro Series 450W and 550W supplies are released to target the mainstream audience. Those people who don’t demand high levels of power output. These would also be ideal as a low cost supply for a quality media center.

ACC 5163 300x199 XFX Pro Series 450w and 550w Power Supply Review

Both supplies are 80 Plus Bronze Certified units with rated efficiency of 85%, meaning that only 15% of the power drawn from the outlet is lost. XFX are also keen to highlight that some manufacturers are misleading the public with dubious, inflated wattage ratings.

overview2 XFX Pro Series 450w and 550w Power Supply Review

easyrail11 XFX Pro Series 450w and 550w Power Supply Review

EasyRail Technology is a key focal point for XFX with a slogan of ‘one rail, one setup’. We know that Seasonic are the manufacturer behind this design so we have high hopes for a quality power supply today. XFX are giving a full five year warranty with each power supply. European customers simply have to register their product on www.xfxforce.co.uk to upgrade the standard 3 year warranty to the full 5 year plan.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX Pro Series 450w and 550w Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  • Nicht Nacht

    Nice chassis design from these. Pricing looks spot on, if they hold to what you think.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tommy

    450 would be great for a media center, like the fact they have included two pcie cables even at lower end.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nick

    ermm didn’t they discontinue the pro series? I saw some with cancelled notices on uk stores recently.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin

    I think it might be stock, our local pcworld stock the 650w. what store did it say the pro series was cancelled?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Juniper

    Nah, not for me, modular all the way, the system builds are a mess with all these leads inside. no amuont of routing sorts it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    They need to bring out a 1500W gold certified supply, just for shits n giggles.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • didyman

    There is no conductive polimer capacitor in these units. The visible ones are all traditional low ESR ELKOs from Nippon Chemicon.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • scrambler

    I purchased my XFX Pro 450W power supply in January 2012. It’s been working fine. But a comment:
    Despite the prominent advertising of “all high-quality Japanese brand capacitors”, which is mentioned in the user manual as well, mine has a number of Su’scon and Teapo capacitors clearly visible through the PSU vents as soon as I removed it from the packaging. Those aren’t Japanese brands, and I’m not sure they are high-quality.

    Please also note that my PSU has just 1 PCI-E cable. Some reviews (including the one on this site) refer to 2 PCI-E cables for this model, but mine came with just one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John

    this was a big disappointment for me! I’ve got my new pc at home and when powered up i almost hit my head in the roof from the noise! i stop every fan of the case and find out that it was the power supply (the 650w version). it covered the noise of my old crappy 5 years old pc that sounded like a jet already … today i will get it back and currently i researching to find an other silent one. i guess a bequiet or coolermaster silent pro series

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://xfxforce.com/pt-br/Features/haswell-compatibility-with-xfx-power-supplies.aspx Peter-John

    Both power supply’s are not Haswell suitable due to new sleep states Intel added to the CPU

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: PC Linux Build Mostly for Programming and General Use. - Page 2()

Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives