Kingston SSDNow V100 128GB SSD Review

Review Score:
6 Flares 6 Flares ×

Today’s market is saturated with SSD drives and it is difficult to know which drive to buy. No one wants to pay over the odds for something they don’t need, yet we all want to make sure the performance is up to stratch. This is how Kingston are marketing their SSDNOW V100 series, with fantastic levels of performance at the lowest possible prices.

The Kingston V100 series of solid state drives are available in three sizes, 64GB, 128GB and 256GB. All drives have a 3 year warranty with 24/7 technical support. The 128GB model costs £198 inc vat and can be bought in ‘notebook upgrade kit’ packs which offer an external chassis, cabling and DVD with Acronis True Image for easy drive mirroring. Kingston only charge £207 inc vat for this additional bundle … £9 extra certainly seems like a great deal.

SPECIFICATIONS

  • Form factor — 2.5″
  • Interface — SATA 1.5 Gb/sec. and 3.0 Gb/sec.
  • Capacities — 64GB, 128GB, 256GB
  • Dimensions — 69.85mm x 100mm x 9.5mm
  • Weight — 78 grams
  • Storage Temperatures — -40°C to 85°C
  • Operating Temperatures — 0°C to 70°C
  • Vibration Operating — 2.17G
  • Vibration Non-Operation — 20G
  • 256GB – 250MB/sec. read
  • 128GB – 250MB/sec. read
  • 64GB – 250MB/sec. read
  • 256GB – 230MB/sec write
  • 128GB – 230MB/sec write
  • 64GB – 145MB/sec write
  • Power Specs — 6.4 W (TYP) Active / 1.0W (TYP) Idle
  • MTBF — 1,000,000 Hrs
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Kingston SSDNow V100 128GB SSD Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
6 Flares Google+ 1 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 6 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

17 Comments
  • Tim
    November 18, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Read a review on this on anandtech last week and already have it bookmarked for a purchase. stock seems to be limited however right now which sucks. Thanks for the article, good to see macintosh testing also,. a lot of people will be buying this for t heir macbooks as apple rip them off with their own SSD options.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe R
    November 18, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    128GB for under £200, is that a first?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    November 18, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Not a first I think some cheap make did a 120gb for less, but the performance was a suckfest.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Moffet Lux
    November 18, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Damn. I have been putting off getting an SSD for a year now, this might tip me over. 40GB are only 70 quid, but its far too small, ill end up hating myself going for something that small. 128gb is well usable.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    November 18, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was looking at the crucial REALSSD, the 64GB model, which is £110 inc vat in the UK, and it has 355mb/s read speeds which is faster than this. the sad thing is though the write is only 70mb/s and I dont have a sata 6 port, so the 355mb/s will be wasted. the crucial realssd 128gb is 225 inc vat, but the write is still slower at 140mb/s

    This kingston one is actually pretty much the best value i can see right now, anyone else find something better ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin Davidson
    November 18, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    CrucialREALSSD would be my top choice, cause ive a sata 6 port. otherside this one seems better. the write is quicker, but I dont think you notice that real world too much. otherwise the intel drives would be piled up in a landfill right now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • James And the Giant Peach
    November 18, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Price is good. kit is even better, thats a nice deal. I still am not sold on SSD. I know its faster, but im pretty patient, im in no rush to wait 15 seconds rather than 7. Might be different if I worked on a PC all day, but im a casual user. Good review once they get 1TB for £200 count me in ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth Rogers
    November 18, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have one of the 40GB drives and the low rated write speeds dont make much of a difference, only in a few instances. generally the read is much moer important. In this product review however, the product is well balanced which is pretty much the first time for a product at this price. write was always low.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fluffychicken
    November 18, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    EXcellent product from kingston. they are doing well this year. id buy this, but i need to buy presents for christmas first :p lets hope another price drop happens in january!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER
    November 18, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    im going to buy this when I get paid next week. thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    November 18, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    if you can find it AMD4EVER next week, please let us know ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    November 19, 2010
    #12
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The price is lower than anticipated http://www.dabs.com/products/kingston-128gb-ssdnow-v100-sata-300-2-5–solid-state-drive-desktop-bundle-7834.html

    £170 inc vat !

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chris
    November 19, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Got one of these from Aria which arrived today – retail package but without the cables etc. – £150!!! (Something like £157 delivered)

    Currently they have 5 in stock: http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/Solid+State+Drives/Kingston+128GB+SSDNow+V100++2.5%22+SATA-II+Solid+State+Hard+Drive+?productId=42531

    Bargain? I think so :) .

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • yun
    December 1, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    153 Pounds, http://www.ebuyer.com/product/247001, :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dazz
    December 1, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I just ordered me one of these drives from Ebuyer really doof value at £152 can’t wait to see what the SSD fuss is all about.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • chop stick
    January 23, 2011
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Got it for £90 inc delivery brand new on ebay :D :D:D

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • SSD reviews from around the web | Passion: Technology
    December 7, 2011
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Kit Guru (128GB) (November 18 2010) *Must Have* [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives