OCZ Agility 2 120GB SSD review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

SSD drives haven’t quite reached ‘mainstream’ yet, however as more enthusiast users are realising the performance benefits, sales figures are increasing and the adoption rate is improving.

SSD performance is based around three areas, the Controller, the Firmware and the NAND. The controllers are massively important to the overall unit with products from Micron, Samsung, Sandforce, Toshiba, Indilinx and Intel making up the six big players. The Micron Marvell controller is right now the performance leader and we reviewed the Crucial RealSSD C300 256Gb drive a few weeks ago. This is the only current unit based around a 6GBps controller which means there is no real competition, unless you configure a dual Raid 0 configuration.

For many years OCZ have used tried and trusted Indilinx controllers but in recent months they moved to create units based around the Sandforce SF-1200 controller, which has helped them squeeze out more performance from the drives. This leads me into our review product today, the OCZ Agility 2 120GB which uses the very same controller.

Specifications OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Size 99.88 x 69.63 x 9.3 mm
Operating Temp 0-70c
Max Performance Read: up to 285MB/s

Write: up to 275MB/s

Sustained write up to 250 MB/s
4KB Random write up to 10,000 IOPS
Shock Resistance 1500G, 0.5ms
Vibration 20G Peak, 10-20khz with 3 axis
MTBF 2,000,000 hours
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
OCZ Agility 2 120GB SSD review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

  • Brad

    OCZ SSD’s are great :) seems like another winner.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    I love the sandforce controller, even though it doesnt often translate into a much better ‘real world’ scenario when compared to say intels units. good balanced performer and ideal for database workers.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    OCZ dont make a bad SSD, this seems to be a good followup to the original unit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    I think the 40GB units are ideal for boot drives, as long as you have a mechanical drive at hand for storage. I like the look of the new Corsair F40, at under 100 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Very good units these, well made, and pricing isnt too bad. I agree though, two 40gb SSDs in raid 0, seems cheaper and faster. id like to see a review of the new 40GB SSDs

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    So many companies using sandforce controllers now, they all seem to handle much the same. still, good drive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    The biggest issue for sandforce right now is the marvell/crucial partnership. that controller is more advanced, and the only thing against it is the fact that most motherboards dont have sata 600 ports, and even those who do are crap. you need a dedicated 600 sata controller for optimum performance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bill

    I still find them too expensive. a few good 1TB mechanical drives in raid 0, partitioned to say 300gb boot and 1.7 storage, is pretty good and also fast enough for most people.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech head

    Bill, while I understand what you are saying, you really do need to actually use a good, new modern SSD, they are much faster, not just with throughput, but with accessing. they make brilliant boot drives, no doubt about it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Thanks for the great review zardon.

    I want more SSD reviews however, there are so many out there. how about Crucial 128GB REALSSD (256 you reviewed costs too much) and maybe some of the new Corsair sandforce range.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry

    Do OCZ not make a 40GB SSD? I couldnt find any online, I see intels and corsairs.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hello, we will be looking at many more SSDS over the coming months, we have many in our offices right now and more reviews are forthcoming.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    OCZ do make small drives by the way, such as the 30GB vertex which is just over 75 in the UK right now.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek

    Good performers, sandforce is a very good performing controller, class leader in sata 300.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Very nice unit, I had been looking at picking one of these up for a while now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Serge

    I would love these to drop to under 200 quid. once you break that point it gets so hard to justify.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob

    Its either one of these, or a crucial REALSSD 128GB. so hard to decide!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance

    Last year I would have bought OCZ immediately. This is a great drive, but the competition is high, I agree. hard to know which to go for. I think if you need high write speeds the sandforce are good, but intel are great with reading and crucial’s are in another league, but only if you have the right controller for it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.thessdreview.com Les@TheSSDReview

    Any Sandforce drive is nice and that a monster of a review! Great work!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives