Sapphire EDGE HD4 Mini PC Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the Sapphire Edge HD4 Mini PC, the latest in their Edge lineup which features an Intel Celeron processor. We reviewed the EDGE HD3 in February 2012, powered by the AMD E450 and the EDGE VS8 in December 2012, powered by the AMD A8 4555M APU. How does the EDGE HD4 Mini PC slot into the lineup and is it worth buying?

At the heart of the Edge HD4 is the new dual core Intel Celeron 847 processor, which according to official specifications demands only 17 watts at the socket. Sapphire wanted to release an Intel based EDGE, following up on the first EDGE PC which we reviewed way back in March 2011. The machine at this time featured the Intel Atom D510 processor and proved popular with the audience who yearned for a diminutive, low power Intel system, particularly for specific certified software.

The EDGE HD4 shares the same slim outline as the other models in the range. It is worth pointing out at this early stage that these machines are not suited for hard core gamers, the graphics performance means that there are strict limitations. They can however replace a bulky desktop PC in a living room or bedroom and are ideal within an office environment, dramatically reducing the physical footprint and overall power draw at the socket.

Sapphire were generous enough to let us hang onto the original EDGE in 2011 and we still have it in action behind a television set in a spare room, it has worked flawlessly now as a media center for several years and is invisible to the naked eye.

Why could this be important? Well it would be fair to say that many men have to deal with unhappy partners, who don’t want an ugly computer case hogging floor space in a living room. In this situation, the EDGE is an ideal choice.

SAPPHIRE MiniPC EDGE HD4 PR Sapphire EDGE HD4 Mini PC Review

In addition to the Intel Celeron 847 processor, specifications of the SAPPHIRE EDGE HD4 include 4GB of DDR3 memory, a 320GB hard drive and built in wireless connectivity as well as high speed LAN port, one USB 3.0 and three USB 2.0 ports. It provides high resolution graphics output with a full HD (1920×1080) HDMI interface (with an HDMI cable and HDMI-DVI adapter also supplied) as well as a VGA monitor output and it has built-in audio with mic-in and line-out sockets.

The EDGE HD4 doesn’t ship with an operating system installed so you need to budget the cost of a license to get it up and running. It has full support for Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8. All the drivers are supplied on a disc which is included in the box.

One of the main selling points for buying the EDGE is the incredibly low power drain. In the past we have documented that these systems will require around a tenth of the power of an average desktop computer system. They can be left on 24/7/365 without having a noticeably negative impact on an electricity bill.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Sapphire EDGE HD4 Mini PC Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

  • Rt23ds

    Its a nice little system, but that celeron is a little weak, I was expecting a little more from Intel, even up to the A8 4555m performance, but AMD are all over Intel, with only a little more power demand at the socket.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Debbie

    I actually have the first EDGE and this seems like a decent upgrade. I might pick this up. any availability anywhere? cant find it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Nice idea, I missed the A8 Edge first time around, that certainly appeals to me more than the celeron v ersion.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sven

    The power consumption is incredible, thats less than my light in the bedroom. Celeron is a bit gutless however, but for a media center id love it.

    SSD for me of course.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • EsOne

    I want to get the EDGE VS8 when I get the cash, i absolutely love the look of it. I will be putting Windows 8 on mine for media. This is also great, but its funny to see AMD walking away with low powered systems ! can’t say that in the high end.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wilker

    that power consumption figure is crazy, that whole system is taking less than my processor. That is very tempting for a media center in my bedroom, as you could hide it behind the rear of the tv and use a bluetooth remote to get through the screen without a problem.

    Why a 320gb 5,400 rpm drive? are they out of their minds. You can save money on the OS, but you have to buy the drive you will never want to use?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kirk

    I think this review is too positive. that is some dire performance and there are many flaws with this range.

    Firstly, the EDGE HD range was atom, then it moved to AMD E450, now its back at Celeron? Meanwhile they have the VS range which is trouncing this HD range, even if its more expensive – so far its only been AMD APU.

    To confuse matters, Sapphire want you to save money on the operating system, yet they force you to buy the rubbish hard drive and some of them don’t have bare bones options as far as I can tell.

    And why no Linux support? this would be ideal for linux users. I could probably locate some of the drivers, or get them to work, but they should make a linux version of this machine or help the open source market develope for it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • knyz

    Hey Zardon, it’s been a while ! i was searching you to talk with you about some project.
    can we talk in private when you have a moment ?
    i hope that you didn’t forget about me :)
    take care :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which monitor next?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives