Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Review (with battery slice 39+)

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

The IBM ThinkPad has iconic status, being the machine of choice for the demanding businessman for the last decade. They were known for their traditional ‘boxy’ black design, fantastic keyboard and all round class leading build quality. In 2005 Lenovo purchased the IBM personal computer division and took control of the ThinkPad development. Today we are looking at the ThinkPad X1, which was released a few months ago … is this the ultimate business laptop?

The Lenovo X1 ships in several configurations including the choice of Core i5, i7 processor and mechanical or solid state drive. Today we are looking at the 2.5ghz Core i5 model with 4GB of DDR3, 320GB mechanical SSD, costing around £1,250 in the UK.

ThinkPad X1 – At a glance:

  • Up to 2nd generation Intel Core™ i7
  • Up to Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
  • Lenovo Enhanced Experience 2.0 for Windows® 7, with optional RapidDrive
  • Starting at 3.7 pounds
  • Up to 10 hours with slice battery
  • 13.3″ HD SuperBright LCD
  • Up to 8GB integrated DDR3 SDRAM
  • Up to 160GB SSD (optional 320GB HDD)
  • X1 Laptop Tech Specs
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Review (with battery slice 39+), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

10 Comments
  • Harrison
    September 18, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is seriously impressive. Its fairly expensive, but with all the work and materials involved I wouldnt mind paying it.

    Surprised about the keyboard being that good, most laptop keyboards suck ass.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lukas
    September 18, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fantastic. looks ideal for my business needs. No need to worry about a discrete card.

    Great to see lenovo aiming a little higher. most of their machines are budget oriented

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • paulie
    September 18, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    backlighted keyboard, I wish more manufacturers would use them. my mates mac has one and i love it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hermann
    September 18, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah thats what a call a good laptop. Tginkpad always had brilliant keyboards, good to see lenovo didnt cock it up

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeremy
    September 18, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Whats milspec? Some kind of rugged standard?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel
    September 18, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    We bought five of these for work and they are really good. Ideal for travelling as they can take a fair bit of abuse.

    Battery slice is very costly however and needed for anything serious on the move.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Polo
    September 18, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shame its not an ips screen. Some other thinkpads use those.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    September 19, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I know there were some battery issues with this initially, but I think a bios update has sorted it. This is a heck of a nice machine for most people (excluding gamers).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    September 19, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Such a shame they went for a single memory slot, and therefore single channel. Understandable for a netbook, but for a 1000+ machine? I know space is at a premium, but SODIMM slots can be stacked or placed beside each other, I cant see how this couldnt be done.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brett
    September 22, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    really looks cool! no doubt about it but im looking for a mid-high range laptop just like this

    http://www.thinkpadtoday.com/thinkpad-x220-and-x220-tablet-review-the-new-benchmark-for-ultraportables.htm

    which gives a little more kick! any suggestion?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives