SteelSeries 7G Gaming Keyboard Review

Review Score:
6 Flares 6 Flares ×

There are many reasons why gamers might choose to buy a top-end gaming mouse which has a high-resolution sensor and a variety of configurable options.  However with gaming keyboards, things are very different; the  performance of a gaming keyboard cannot be configured so manufacturers differentiate them by including extra features rather than improving the raw performance.  So many gamers may use a standard keyboard rather than paying over the odds for a variety of features and only small improvements in performance.

Unlike some manufacturers, SteelSeries are focused on the raw performance of their gaming products rather than adding gimmicks which may look attractive on the box but serve little purpose when gaming. Today we’re continuing our look at SteelSeries’ range of gaming peripherals, looking at their top of the range gaming keyboard, the 7G.

Looking at the 7G it may not initially be clear why it carries a price tag of around £100 at most etailers.  However, at the heart of the keyboard there are 104 Cherry MX 18k gold plated mechanical switches which differentiate it from almost every other gaming keyboard on the market.

Specification:

- Switches: Gold plated no-click

- Switch lifetime: 50,000,000 cycles

- Assembly: Face plate mounted keyset

- Dimensions: 480 x 250 mm / 18,9 x 9,8 in

- Cable length: 2 m (6,6 ft.)

- Connectivity: PS/2 + USB

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
SteelSeries 7G Gaming Keyboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
6 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 4 6 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

10 Comments
  • Eric K
    July 8, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Oh, very nice indeed. saw reviews of this before, but forgot about it. Its slightly misleading, the marketing I think,. its more a typists keyboard than a g amers keyboard I think. very few gaming gimmicks on it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    July 8, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its a beautiful looking keyboard and reminds me a little of the DAS keyboard. Well worth the money as these feel like the old IBM boards. I hate the modern day spongy boards which populate the marketplace.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    July 8, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    When compared with microsoft and logitech gaming keyboards it seems to take a totally different focus, rather than supply screens, macro buttons and various tools to aid games, they have stripped it down and offered a fantastic system for multiple key presses and quality of key response for typists. Its an unusual product really and I admire steelseries for releasing it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo
    July 8, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I know this has been out for some time, but I missed this completely when it was released. feels like an old IBM board? really? shall try and see if our local shop can get one in to test it out. I hate buying keyboards online, its not something you can tell will suit you until you try it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    July 8, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I dont need sold on this, I love steelseries, but I agree, as a gaming keyboard it seems somewhat unusual, no macros, no real gaming options as such apart from the controller being able to handle loads of simultaneous key presses. quality is high, gimmicks are low, which I would assume means most mass market people wont actually get it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    July 8, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is expensive, but its steelseries, it goes hand in hand.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry
    July 8, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Quality keyboard, but I really dont spend that much on a board, I hardly ever use it. Would be hard for me to justify this cost. looks great, like the shape. very monolithic.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chaos
    July 8, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have been using the 7G for several months now and love it to death, best keyboard I have ever owned

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Legion
    November 2, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    steelseries 7g does not support macros?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • appaftgoderog
    April 10, 2013
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Love it!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives