Home / Tech News / Featured Tech News / Half-Life: Alyx is a 67GB install, game unlocks tomorrow at 5PM GMT

Half-Life: Alyx is a 67GB install, game unlocks tomorrow at 5PM GMT

Tomorrow is going to be a huge day for Valve and Half-Life fans alike, with Half-Life: Alyx officially releasing. Those who already have their VR gear ready and waiting can pre-load the game ahead of time, we also know exactly when the game unlocks on Steam across multiple regions. 

The pre-load for Half-Life: Alyx is a 48GB download but once the game is uncompressed, it’ll eat up 67.3GB of storage space. That is just over ten times the file size of Half-Life 2, which goes to show how far technology has moved in the years Half-Life has been on hiatus.

Those looking to play the game the very second it drops will be able to do so on March 23rd at 10AM Pacific Daylight Time, 1PM Eastern Time, 5PM GMT, 6PM CET. Over in Australia, the game unlocks at 4AM on March 24th instead.

Half-Life: Alyx supports multiple input methods and VR headsets, so if you have a HTC VIVE or Oculus Rift instead of a Valve Index, you will be able to play the game. Speaking of which, this is Valve’s ‘flagship VR game’, so it should set a new standard for immersive, story-driven VR shooters.

Discuss on our Facebook page, HERE.

KitGuru Says: I’m on the 5-7 week waiting list for a Valve Index so it might be a little while before I can dive into this game myself without borrowing an Oculus Rift. Still, I’m very excited to see the reaction once it does drop. Are many of you planning on playing Half-Life: Alyx next week? 

Become a Patron!

Check Also

Final Fantasy IX patch removes all game files on Steam

If you have a Final Fantasy IX update waiting to download on Steam, then you …