NZXT Beta EVO Case Review

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

Today we will be looking at our second chassis from NZXT.  This time we have the NZXT Beta EVO in the KitGuru test labs.

As with the previous chassis the Tempest EVO, the Beta EVO is a second generation of the original NZXT Beta chassis.

The Beta EVO is designed for the budget conscious consumer that wants a functional yet attractive case at a reasonable price.

We think it should fit this criterion and it has the potential to be a good performance case if all six of the available fans positions were populated.

MODEL Beta EVO Series
CASE TYPE Mid Tower Steel
FRONT PANEL MATERIAL PLASTIC
IMENSIONS (W x H x D) 200 X 430 X 501 mm / 7.87″ x 16.9″ x 19.7″

COOLING SYSTEM

FRONT, 1 X 120mm Blue LED (included)

REAR, 1 X 120mm

SIDE, 2 x 120mm

TOP, 2 X 120/140mm

DRIVE BAYS

9 DRIVE BAYS

4 EXTERNAL 5.25″ DRIVE BAYS

5 INTERNAL 3.5″ DRIVE BAYS

Screwless Rail Design

MATERIAL(S) Steel with black finish
EXPANSION SLOTS 7
POWER SUPPLY 500 WATT PS2 ATX 12V 2.0 ( OPTIONAL )
WEIGHT 7.28 KGS (W/O Power)

MOTHERBOARD

SUPPORT

MOTHERBOARDS: ATX, MICRO-ATX, BABY AT

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
NZXT Beta EVO Case Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 4 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Eric K

    Good review Steve, t he case looks decent, but that thermaltake reviewed here yesterday seems a better deal.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    Shame they are using such thin metals on the chassis, I dont think id buy another case like this, I had one last year and it was poor. ill spend more this time and aim higher.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    I quite like the shape, but the metal thinness puts me off. nice review

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Well at least the hack on their server hasnt put them off sending out samples :) Good review steve. bit surprised on the material thinness as other people said. I had a cheap antec chassis and I noticed the same issue when building the system, the flexing. I think id spend more money on a better chassis next time.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    Seems an OK product, but the market is so competitive now. I cant see this selling wonderfully. Thermaltake and Silverstone have some great, low cost chassis out lately.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry

    Anyone seen this available in europe?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    People need to understand that when cases like this are released at such a budget, corners will be cost. its normally on materials – such as t his. seems a fine case for the price. would suit a young kid or someone on a tight budget.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    I think id give this one a miss. looks ok, but think people need to spend more to get something decent. would be good for a second build. or testing rig/server at home.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo

    I am not sure I like the looks of this,. the insides are good however, which would be more important at this price point.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    I gotta be honest, I think this is a really ugly looking case. not much work went into the appearance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois LeBon

    @ Tri Color – what do you think is ugly? I had a good look at the pictures steve took and it looks fine to me. not sure I buy into the ridges at the top, but apart from that, it seems ok.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Its just a really ugly looking front fascia. the vented bits look out of place and the shape and posture of the overall design. Its not very pretty. I appreciate the cost but it would put me off buying it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Chaos

    We were given price updates. You can get it for $60 from NZXT or as low as $45 @ Tiger Direct

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dlb

    Good review, great case! I used this case for my SLI build (2 x GTX260, AMD 955BE, 6gb DDR2, CoolerMaster Hyper212+) and I couldn’t be happier. True, the metal is a bit thin, but I’m not using the case to hold up my car when changing a flat, so it’s a non-issue. For the price (I paid US $29 after rebate plus free shipping), this case can’t be beat! It would be nice if they included more than the single front 120mm fan……

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives