Lian Li PC-X2000FN Chassis Review (w/ dual Xeon)

Review Score:
166 Flares 166 Flares ×

I have reviewed many thousands of tech goodies over the last decade and only a handful of these have left a long lasting impact. These are the products that you get a ‘warm fuzzy glow’ about inside when you think back … I can still remember playing Tomb Raider at 640×480 with my 3DFX / Matrox Millennium system for instance. Apple’s first iPad was an iconic product. When i first listened to STAX 009 headphones, that was a life changing experience.

Lets be honest, computer chassis are not the sexiest products. They don’t target the Endorphins - we review hundreds of cases every year and very few create any kind of lasting impact with me. There is a reason for this – they are generally built to a budget price point to target the largest possible audience. There are only two cases that I would take with me into the next life – the Silverstone Raven 02 and the Lian Li X2000. Today we are looking at the latest revision to the X2000 – the X2000FN.

I got my hands on the PC X2000F in March 2011 and at the time I was incredibly impressed with the overall design and build quality. Lian Li are without question one of the finest chassis manufacturing companies on the planet and the attention to detail was apparent on every panel. I actually still use this case today, 18 months later.

The X2000FN has received a handful of changes since we last had the opportunity to put it through our labs. We hope that Lian Li haven’t made any changes for the worse, as we know sometimes this can happen.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Lian Li PC-X2000FN Chassis Review (w/ dual Xeon), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
166 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 164 166 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

8 Comments
  • Harris
    October 2, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Holy batpants batman. I almost creamed myself.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dannie
    October 2, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    System price must be close to £5,000? crap, i feel poor now :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    October 2, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They do make beautiful cases, but I can never afford the ones I like as they all seem to cost £300 or more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • luay
    October 2, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The case seems lperfect for workstations but gamers can do better. Does LianLi have a shorter version with two front intake fans and less drive bays?

    Would a side fine obstruct the airflow of this case?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    October 2, 2012
    #5
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi Luay. You mean the same case but basically just shorter in height? I dont understand your second question – whats a ‘side fine’?

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • luay
    October 4, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Oops! That’s me typing from my iPad. Thanks for taking your time to help out!
    I meant a shorter case with one less intake and less drive bays, and perhaps a side fan would make a proper gaming case. But I agree with you saying it can serve both gaming and workstation in one build. Three front intakes would probably cool even dual video cards but not optimally as a side fan would.

    I can see the carefully planned airflow of this case, but would a side fan obstruct this type of air flow? I really like the build quality of this case but I also have the specific requirement I mentioned.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Yume
    October 5, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks for the detailed review Zardon.

    I was wondering… Is the drive bay on the top (Zone 1) removeable?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    October 5, 2012
    #8
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hello Yume. The drive bay at the top/rear for 2.5 inch and 3.5 inch units?

    the 2.5 inch bay at the top is removable as shown on this page http://www.lian-li.com/v2/en/product/product06.php?pr_index=627&cl_index=1&sc_index=25&ss_index=61&g=f but only the one at the front, not at the rear. The reason is that particular bay is the main position for hard drives so its in place with soldered bolts, rather than screws. the lower one in Zone 3 is also removable.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives