Spire TherMax Eclipse II Cooler Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

High performance coolers are much loved by the KitGuru audience and today we are going to review a cooler from Spire, a European manufacturer. This is a product we believe our readers will find rather intriguing. After all, the company claims that “this towering cooler is built to deliver the best thermal performance – guaranteed”!

Claiming that your product can guarantee the ‘best’ thermal performance is a very bold marketing claim, especially when the MSRP is €38.95, around half the price of massive class leading air coolers such as the Noctua NH-D14. Spire named this cooler the TherMax Eclipse II, successor to their first DT (direct touch) cooler, the TherMax. In this review we will thoroughly examine the cooler and test its overall performance, which hopefully will be in par with Spire’s claims of greatness.

Manufacturer features and specifications

  • Five (5) 8mm all copper U-shaped direct touch heat-pipes
  • Straight lined heat-pipes allowing air to easily pass through
  • 46 stamped aluminum wide fins for best surface rate
  • Dimpled surface fin for increased heat transfer rate
  • Black-Nickel coated heat-sink to preserve killer looks from oxidation
  • Two (2) 120mm BlackStar 9 blade fan design
  • High Quality, Long MTBF Japanese No.1 Ball bearing
  • Anti-Vibe universal rubber fan mountings (crews)
  • Supports AM2/AM3 socket 939/940/ 775/1156 & 1366 incl. Intel Core i7 Extreme 130W
Dimensions
Heat sink : 131×70×152 mm (l × w × h)
12VDC Fan : 120×120×25 mm
Material Alu fin + CU heat-pipe DT base
Heatpipe Five (5) 8mm all copper U-shaped direct touch
Bearing Ball bearing
Rated speed
Cooler : 2200 RPM +/-10%
Only Fan : 2200 RPM +/-10%
Rated power 4.2 W
Rated Voltage 12 V
Noise level 29.0 dBA
Air flow 93.3 CFM
Current 0.35 A
Connector 3 Pin
TDP 150 W
Thermal resistance 0.091 oC/W
Thermal Grease BlueFrost – SP802 blue grease(Injection Tube,0.5g)
Static Pressure 3.35 mmH2O
MTBF 50000H
Application
Intel : Celeron D ~ 2.93 GHz (340J)
Intel  : Core 2 Duo ~ 3.33 GHz (775 Dual-core)
Intel : Core 2 Extreme ~ 3.2 GHz (775 Dual-core)
Core 2 Quad ~ 3 GHz (775 Quad-core)
Core i3 ~ 3.06 GHz 1156
Core i5 ~ 2.66 GHz 1156
Core i7 ~ 3.2 GHz 1366
LGA775 ~ 3.93 GHz (Prescott)
Pentium D ~ 3.4 GHz (775 Dual-Core)
Pentium EE ~ 3.93 GHz (775 Dual-Core)
AMD : Athlon 64 FX-74 (K8)
Athlon II (AM3)
Athlon X2 (AM2/AM2+)
Phenom ~ 9950 GHz (AM2/AM2+)
Phenom II ~ 9600 GHz (AM2/AM3)
Phenom II ~ 8500 GHz (AM2/AM3)
Operating Temperature 30~70 oC
Storage Temperature -10~40 oC
Warranty 5 years
Packaging type Color Box
Package includes FAN / Clip 1 set / SP-802 grease / Manual
N.W 0.822 KG
G.W 1.3 KG
Life hours Ball: 50.000
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Spire TherMax Eclipse II Cooler Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Terry

    ill pass, that cooler sounds awful for noise. why no dB ratings in this reviwe, they are useful

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    Disappointed a little with this review, the testing is good until we get to the noise. I am told by the reviewer that it is loud but ive nothing to compare it against. I would like to know just how loud the fans are in a dB rating, especially as the new kitguru system is without a doubt the best on the net for noise measurements.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Not impressed with the cooler, its a brute force solution, decent looking cooler but putting on two high spinning fans seems such the wrong way to do it. Shame about noise levels but im guessing high 40dbs/low 50dbs

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    Hello, sorry about lack of DBa measurements, our dedicated room is in a specific location and our specialist equipment is also not in a location that ironlaw can get to.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    Hard to know if id be able to use it, but if its painfully loud then id pass. the thermaltake contac 29 is cheaper and very quiet for instance.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe

    Why dont they sell a version for less money without the fans and let users add their own high quality solutions?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Our IT guy in work has this on a test bed as he is constantly bringing in things for home and making sure he has time to play with the latest stuff.

    Id say on hearing it, it must be at least 50db. its quite bad.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Its a competitive market, they dropped the ball with the noise aspect. No need for that anymore, maybe 10 years ago sure. we have too many good low noise, high performance coolers in 2010.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    50db? lol, come on Spire, lets get with the plan :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    so around £30, you get two fans most people wont be happy with, then have to buy two more, which is another £12. best just getting the corsair A70 or thermaltake frio

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sven

    noise doens’t bother me, performance is what i need :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.spire-corp.com Vivianne

    Hi, Vivianne from Spire here. 1. Would it be better if we’d include a PWM and PCI fan speed control unit? 2. Or would you rather have low speed fans? 3. Or would you prefer purchasing your own fans?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    Hi Vivianne. I am all for performance cooling, and I can deal with a limited amount of noise, but I think you should maybe sell two versions.

    Version 1: the heatsink and a controller with the two fans. even charge £2 more to compensate for the controller, so we can vary the speeds. Its a little like the Thermaltake Frio. have you heard it on full? I think kitguru reviewed it and it rated at 60DB? they used their heads and offered a controller so you could fine tune the noise and cooling yourself.

    Version 2: Just sell the heatsink as it looks quite good, then users can add their own fan(s).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech head

    I would be happy with a low and high speed settings, two decent 120mm fans on low can generally cool anything, even overclocked CPUS. the heatsink looks good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Vivianne its a tough call really. if you dont sell it with a fan or two then people will complain they need to spend more, even if you drop the price.

    What I think is the best option is to either sell it with one fan with a variable controller. If you lose the second fan, im sure the price could be kept the same. then people can add another fan later.

    If this is not what you want another option would be to sell it with two fans with low and high settings , and charge a little more.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fred

    The cooler looks good, and the fans are decent looking units, but in 2010 people want some kind of control, especially if the default is LOUD!. Id be interested in this cooler, but its not an option for me with the noise being described as loud. There are so many coolers out now with reasonable cooling and not much noise.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Id go with the current version, add a controller to each fan, like FRIO has. call it the DELUXE model. Then offer the heatsink on its own to people who already have fans at home, and charge less. I think you would get a lot of sales from both.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois lebon

    Its a good review, but without DB ratings and the reviewer saying its LOUD, its very hard to judge.

    I would however immediately advise SPIRE to offer a controller knob for each fan, even if it costs more to the end user. people LOVE control over fan noise. this means hardcore overclockers like SVEN can crank it when gaming, and can easily lower the fan speed later when watching a movie for instance.

    Forcing people today to have just a LOUD setting, is not going to work to get sales.

    Incidetnally great review Kitguru, ill hold off buying one of these until the fans get sorted, and its nice to see SPIRE on the thread discussions and wanting advise. thats good customer relations.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Hello Vivanne. I don’t know costs to you as a company, but I would suggest you spend more on the fans and even if it raises the price a little charge more. or offer a top quality fan with controller instead of two fans without. that sounds like it would balance out and you could maintain the current pricing?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev mang

    Great review KitGuru, just got home for my KG fix :)

    Good honest review Ironlaw, I like the testing and the honesty with the readers. Also im very impressed to see SPIRE asking us for our views.

    I think it has already been said, I overclock like hell, and I do it on water, but ive owned loud heatsink/fan combos before, its why I moved to water ! offer a low setting at least, then people who are overclocking but who aren’t going mad can still get a good performance to noise ratio. lack of controls isnt good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Levi

    Don’t listen to these dumdums on here Vivianne… 50db is not very loud considering the performance. Not to mention the fact that these people here are talking about it being 2010 and needing quiet fans, yes it is 2010 and if you don’t have a motherboard that can control your fan speed via bios then you maybe need to look in the mobo mirror. Can’t wait to get this thing, who else offers two high-speed fans included for this price?? seriously. I hope she doesn’t listen to you numbnuts.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jason

    Bought this cooler last year as I wanted Noctua performance but not for Noctua prices. I had to buy this from Amazon because I couldnt find a stockist in the UK. It cost me £40 which i didnt mind considering all the 4 pipe heatsink coolers are sitting around £35 i didnt mind the slight increase in price.
    The install on an AMD machine is a b*tch. However if you can put up with the install, the rewards of this CPU cooler is awesome. I ended up buying me a front mounted fan controller (£11) off Amazon as well but im sure the cheaper ones that sit inside the cases for £5 will be just as effective.
    Very good performer, but yes a little loud but when gaming I dont notice it at all. The problem with my set was that the fans were rated at 2200rpm but they were spinning at 2400rpm. With the purchase of the fan controller now this is not an issue at all.

    Performance wise i have a Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.8ghz. Arctic Cooler 64pro had it idle at 49c and load at 65c. This spire has it idle at 35c and full load at 49c. Not bad for a full 15c drop in temps. Gaming has it sitting between 42c and 45c

    If i could reccomend some stuff to spire i would say
    1) Find a UK stockist. The Noctua is selling at £72 and if you can offer a cooler that performs just as well as that for £40 you should be able to fill a good niche market.
    2) The fans are very good high performance fans but really need to have some form of control or temp sense option. Being on full ~2200rpm just wont sell your coolers. 50db is very loud, especially when just browsing the internet or doing tasks which dont need the fans spinning at 100%.
    3) When u guys decide to do the Eclipse III try to make it CPU friendly for both AMD and Intel.
    4) Get better instructions. If needed, make a youtube video. It will take your marketing deparment around 30mins to do for a quick 5min tutorial yet provide your customers with another reason of why to endorse your product to the rest of the community.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.pro-clockers.com Formula350

    I managed to get this cooler off eBay around May of 2010, was a guy in Canada selling it (I’m in the US), so it was a sweet find! Managed to get it cheaper than it would’ve been had I waited another 5 or so months for it to become available… Anyways not the point :)

    I first used this on a Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H. I installed the bracket as per the instructions and they INDEED SUCK ASS. However, when I got this ASRock 890FX Deluxe3, I changed up how they want you to do it. They require the long bolts to go through the backplate; have a small thumb nut installed with a collar to keep the bolts from sliding out, which the collar then fits into the mounting holes for alignment; after the bolts are through the motherboard you then screw on ANOTHER thumb nut to keep everything from falling off the board o_0; after which you mount the cooler, with the bolts passing through it’s hold down plate; then screw on large thumb nuts (with flat head screwdriver slots, which you can’t GET a screwdriver too due to the fins) with springs to help keep equal tension across the whole CPU heat spreader :\

    So what I did: eliminate that first thumb nut on the back of the motherboard (the one with the collar) and used it on the business side of the board. It works so much better this way and also puts the backplate in contact with the motherboard for (IMO) better support :)

    My next plan is to turn /everything/ around, so the spring equipped thumb nuts are on the back side of the motherboard. Of course, this would require a case with a motherboard tray cut out for easy backplate swapping, otherwise there wouldn’t be enough clearance ;) But I won’t attempt this until I have to remove the HSF for either a review of another or replacing the CPU.

    Finally: The fans are QUITE, if you don’t run them full speed! My ASRock board has some fan header problems where it runs them full speed and won’t regulate it, so I moved the fans over to another one (not on the CPU header sadly) which DOES work. I run them at 930rpm and it keeps my 555BE (stock clocked since it’s a cripple) at only 3c over AMBIENT temperature! Under load it only raises around 4C (I shite you not!) and I love it :D I’m interested to see how a quad or six core does with it heh

    [/long post]

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: MyGaRaGe

Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives