Thermaltake Contac29 Cooler Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

We know KitGuru readers love good coolers – our review of the Noctua Austrian Sandwich (NH D14) has been read by over 60,000 people in the last three weeks. That said, we also know that a substantial portion of that readership couldn’t afford to pay almost £70 for pride of ownership. It is a lot of dosh.

To cater to a broader market today we are going to be looking at the critically acclaimed Thermaltake Contac29 Direct which retails at a very competitive £20 inc vat in the UK.

Unlike many, Thermaltake products are easily purchased in most high street stores such as PC World, this can ensure many ‘impulse buys’ – but is it worth your hard earned cash?

MODEL Thermaltake Contac 29
Materials Aluminum Fins, copper heatpipes, aluminum base with exposed heatpipes
Fan Mfg Hong Sheng A1225L12S
Fan Spec 800-2,000 rpm, 12v, 0.30A
Fan Dimension 25x120x120 mm
Heatsink & Fan Dim: 160x120x77 mm
Weight: 558 grams
Accessories Multi socket mounting hardware, instructions, thermal compound
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Thermaltake Contac29 Cooler Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

17 Comments
  • Fluffychicken
    June 26, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    My buddy has this cooler its great for the price, I agree.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    June 26, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Really solid results in t hose tests. I had been looking at a new one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer
    June 26, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It was the only thing putting me off the NOctua cooler. the incredibly high price which I thought was quite ridiculous. costs more than the Corsair watercooling H50 for instance in the UK. Surely a lump of metal cant cost more than pumps, radiators etc?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 26, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have an old arctic cooling product, I think it might be good time for an upgrade :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sack Killers
    June 26, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice review, I read a few reviews of this before and it seems everyone loves it. they must be doing somethign right :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fred
    June 26, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Heh, good timing, was just heading out to get a new cooler for my new 6 core AMD chip. shall hunt this out ! thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ray
    June 26, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love the orange fan, is it ok to say that without getting slagged off ? :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    June 26, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like that, and congratulations to Thermaltake for not ripping people off. some of these new coolers are ridiculously priced.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Number One
    June 26, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wow thats better than I thought it would be. I passed over it in a shop recently when I saw the crappy box and cheap price. shall have another look over it.

    nice to see a site focusing on AMD CPUs for change, there are a lot of us out there with an eye on value for money !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 26, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I skimped over reviews of this in the past, but I read the KitGuru one (as I do with all of them). What a great product, and so well priced.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jonesy Loverboy
    June 26, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hello editors, thanks for the review, found it on google. helped me make a buying decision!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry Mod
    June 26, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent review and nice cross section of coolers showing comparative products and a single class leading one at 3 times the price for any possible gains if you can dip further into your bank.

    I think I will order one of these for my upcoming AMD system build :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tres Bein
    June 26, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks, I was wondering about this and I don’t trust many sites for reviews. Might pick one of these up next week in our local store, although its 25 quid with them.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • When Bobby met Delilah
    June 26, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its purty ! I like it. good price too, I like it more. Ordered one from YoyoTech this morning

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • PeteK
    June 26, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’m going for it! Does anyone know if Thermaltake does a version with the second fan included in the box already?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 26, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Dont think they do Pete. ive never seen them. if i were you id pick up a 120mm Noctua fan and slot that on, they do give the rubber mounts with the cooler. probably cost £8

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    June 26, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If you are on a budget, these are good fans. for very little money.

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FG-037-AK&groupid=701&catid=57&subcat=4

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives