Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation Review

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

The latest Intel Core i7 processors are class leading performers and we have already reviewed the i7-3820 and flagship i7-3960X Extreme Edition. Today we are looking at the 3930K which should offer much of the 3960X performance, at almost half the price. To power the system today we thought it was a good time to look at the Asus P9X79 WS Workstation motherboard. This follows in the footsteps of our previous Asus Rampage IV Extreme and P9X79 Deluxe motherboard reviews.

There is no doubt that the Intel Core i7 3960X Extreme Edition is the CPU to rule them all right now, but the asking price of £800+ in the United Kingdom is enough to make grown men cry and credit cards cower in fear. The Core i7 3930K is available for £445 inc vat, which is certainly more palatable. The big question is, can it get close to the 3960X after we trash it to within an inch of its life?

Asus really need no introduction, they genuinely make some of the finest motherboards known to man, and the Asus P9X79 WS will hopefully complete the trinity of high performance X79 boards that we have reviewed to date. Asus introduced the ‘workstation’ line of motherboards with the X58 series, with three models in the lineup – the WS Supercomputer, WS Revolution and WS Professional. These boards could cope with Xeon chips, as well as the mainstream Core i7 range.

Today we aim to test the system in a highly overclocked state and then with two of the most recently released AMD graphics cards in Crossfire. How will this new system compare to our long standing overclocked Core i7 970 system?

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 1 Twitter 1 Reddit 2 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

10 Comments
  • Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation Review – KitGuru - IT Lounge
    February 17, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] KitGuru [...]

  • Janis
    February 17, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Absolutely brilliant review, very interesting to see them both at 4.8ghz when rendering. That L3 cache does make a difference.

    wish I could afford the 3930k. but id need to change my motherboard as well……. still when I get £800 this will be the changes!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nicholas
    February 17, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very informative review and the pictures of the mobo are great. glad I found the site today.

    I feel sorry for AMD, I remember when they were closely matched, but sadly no more :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation
    February 17, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] the 3960X after we trash it to within an inch of its life?" The full review is available here.   "Other girl's luxuries are my necessities, so buddy, [...]

  • amythompson
    February 18, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Fantastic read. I can only speak for the Intel Core i7 3930k –
    While the product itself is great, it doesn’t include a cooling fan, necessitating the purchase of an aftermarket cooler. As of Dec. 6th, there are only a few compatible fans available on the market and Corsair Hydro Series H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler (CWCH80) is the only one that I know of that Amazon carries. Buyer beware!
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00603QXPM/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=emjay2d-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00603QXPM

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ian
    February 18, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice system, love asus motherboards, this one has a passively cooled northbridge too which is better than the others. I hate seeing small fans blocked by graphics cards.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Julia
    February 18, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    AMD where are you? I long for the days of good FX processors. That 8150 was a disaster. double the cores of 2600k and still slower :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Biostar TPower X79 Motherboard | Biostar TPower X79 Motherboard Review – The best computer components reviews!
    February 19, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation Review To power the system today we thought it was a good time to look at the Asus P9X79 WS Workstation motherboard. This follows in the footsteps of our previous Asus Rampage IV Extreme and P9X79 Deluxe motherboard reviews. There is no doubt that the Intel … Read more on KitGuru [...]

  • Intel Core i7 3930K & Asus P9X79 WS LGA2011 WorkStation Review | News Maniac
    February 28, 2012
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] the 3930K which should offer much of the 3960X performance, at almost half the … Read more on KitGuru This entry was posted in Computers and tagged &amp, 3930K, Asus, Core, i7, Intel, LGA2011, [...]

  • Roma
    May 27, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review! Now I have both devices in my computer. I’m waiting a opportunity to get a ideal power suply and enjoy this awsome configuration!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives