Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus Review (tested with O/C 5870)

Review Score:
4 Flares 4 Flares ×

If you share our mindset, then no matter what cooling you have, it will never be enough. With graphics cards getting faster and hotter all the time, manufacturers are releasing third party coolers on a regular basis … these offer lower running temperatures and reduced noise levels. If you are a demanding enthusiast, then reference solutions really just don’t make the grade anymore.

Today we are going to look at the new Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus cooler, which aims to put even the best third party coolers to shame. Arctic Cooling claim 36c lower temperatures when compared to reference solutions, which sounds like rather a tall order and one we are going to test thoroughly.

For test purposes there is no point mounting this cooler on a low end or mid range board, so we are going to test it on an overclocked HD5870. To make matters more interesting we are also going to compare the cooler against the HIS HD5870 iCooler V Turbo solution which we looked at a while ago. The HIS cooler certainly isn’t the quietest on the market (47-48dBa peak), but it manages to drop temperatures to 65c under load, compared to around 80c with a reference AMD graphics card cooler.

Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus Main features:

  • Unmatched cooling performance – 250 Watts – for a multi-compatible VGA cooler
  • 3 ultra quiet 92mm PWM fans with low noise impeller
  • 5 heatpipes and 84 fins for efficient heat dissipation
  • Patented fan holder eliminates buzzing and vibrating sound
  • Pre-applied ARCTIC MX-4
  • Compatible with CrossFire and SLI

We also received the VR001 set which offers heatsinks for specific high end cards, including our HD5870.

Here are the four seperate kits Arctic Cooling offer.

Set Compatible Models Package Content
VR001 ATI Radeon

HD 5870, 5850, 5830, 4890, 4870, 4850, 4830, 3870, 3850

nVIDIA GeFORCE
GTS 250, 9800GTX+, 9800GTX

RAM and voltage regulator heatsinks set, thermal adhesive
VR002 nVIDIA GeForce GTX 285, 280, 275, 260+, 260 Mounting plate, RAM, voltage regulators, and NVIO chipset heatsinks set, thermal adhesive
VR003 nVIDIA GeForce GTX 470, 465 Mounting plate, RAM and voltage regulators heatsinks set, thermal adhesive
VR004 nVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 Mounting plate, RAM and voltage regulators heatsinks set, thermal adhesive
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus Review (tested with O/C 5870), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
4 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 3 4 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

13 Comments
  • Liam
    September 11, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have been trying to source one of these for weeks. cant find it anywhere :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tommy
    September 11, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great cooler ! noctua NH D14 for graphics cards comment had me laughing. I think Zardon has shares in noctua :p Looks great, but very expensive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    September 11, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    fuck me, what a cooler. speechless.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jerry Harringston
    September 11, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    65 bucks? ouch x10. I want one though. any dealers actually sell these? even the arctic cooling site isnt selling them, what a mess :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    September 11, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is a really good design, some good shots of the copper block too. I never use those preapplied pastes either, good to see im not alone.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kickilicker
    September 11, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That cooler looks very well engineered. the underside is a top job, color me impressed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    September 11, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Availability is non existant. find out if they are going to sell these in europe would you ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Saul
    September 12, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Arctic Cooling make great coolers, they just need to work on their distribution in certain countries.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jordan
    September 12, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have one for my GTX280…
    very very nice cooler with the exception of the adhesives for RAM… they are not good :-/

    I had to remount them several times and they are still bit loose…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    September 12, 2010
    #10
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They say an hour to bed in for the adhesive, can’t say I noticed any issues but I think I read a few people said the same thing as you Jordan. Perhaps they changed the adhesive composition recently.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jordan
    September 15, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I do hope for their sake :)
    It is stupid to have such issue with such a nice cooler… :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • wezmilan
    October 3, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have a Sapphire 5870 card with this cooler for sale if u are in the UK.
    if interested in more details let me know at…
    wez...@live.co.uk

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hawkeye
    October 30, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi, what was the VRM temp during test?
    thanks

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives