HIS HD 5870 iCooler V Turbo review

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

KitGuru has been concentrating recently on many mid range boards, however today we are going to be looking at the high end custom HIS HD5870 graphics card, a product we know that will get you excited.

The HIS HD 5870 iCooler V Turbo is completely redesigned and it ships with a iCooler V heatsink and a customised PCB layout which offers a more cost effective production. The core speed is increased by 25mhz and the memory also gets a 100mhz effective bump. If you like free games then this bundle also ships with the excellent Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.

The icing on the cake is that the card is only £20 more expensive than the reference design, so on paper it appears to be very good value for money.

HD5850 Reference HD 5870 Reference HIS HD 5870 iCoolerV Turbo
GPU Cypress Cypress Cypress
Shader Units 1440 1600 1600
ROPs 32 32 32
Transistors 2154m 2154m 2154m
Memory Size 1024MB 1024MB 1024MB
Memory Bus Width 256 bit 256 bit 256 bit
Core Clock 725mhz 850mhz 875mhz
Memory Clock 1000mhz 1200mhz 1225mhz
UK pricing £225 £320 £340
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
HIS HD 5870 iCooler V Turbo review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

  • Glenn

    HD5870 is a great card and I like the look of this one. cooler is a bit ugly I think but its nice to see improved/higher fan speeds for cooler temps.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    I never really notice fan noise, unless its wild helicopter style noise. This looks like a good buy. I never see them in america tho, not in stores anyway

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    Sapphire model is better but it costs more. which I would say would be pretty obvious

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek

    Well I like being proved wrong, I had assumed HIS was a POS, but this review has certainly changed my view.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bret

    mega OC on that. weird they only overclock it a little out of the factory. its hardly ‘turbo’ more ‘shoved a little’

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph

    Glad to see you mentioning the hardly overclocked speeds. I dont know why they launch these as TURBO editions when its hardly even overclocked in the least, which is shown on the graphs. So much headroom and I think a small portion of the audience will even know how much they can get out of it. ID have gave it 3 out of 5 just for that point. TURBO should be TURBO.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    Well I was expecting good temps, but more noise over reference? surely thats not right

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • frank

    nice review, very thorough, thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cyril

    Excellent, I like that card a lot. I prefer cooler to quieter.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois

    I would probably still opt for Sapphire, they just seem a better company

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob

    HIS are good, its just a name, most of them are really good cards today.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • glenn

    I just ordered one of these and got a bit of a bargain, 50 off retail price :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: The autonomy of Revolution Health Bullet Proof your health. | Deep Sleep for Health

  • Pingback: 6/7/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!

Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives