MSI R6870 HAWK (Twin Frozr III Thermal Design) Review

Review Score:
17 Flares 17 Flares ×

Today we are looking at a rather special card from MSI, the R6870 HAWK Edition with the new Twin Frozr III Cooler. With a 8+2 Phase PWM design and a dual fan speed profile switch connected to a new propeller blade design we have high hopes that this will be one of the finest 6870′s we have tested at KitGuru.

The HD6870 has been on the market for quite some time now and it has been a strong seller for AMD, targeting the lucrative sub £200 price point. In recent months AMD partners have been working hard to push this specific model to new performance levels while dropping the emited noise as far as possible.


The R6870 HAWK Edition is supplied in a preoverclocked state with the core running at 930mhz and the memory at 1050mhz (4200mhz effective). The new Twin Frozr III Cooler is a dual fan system formed around a high density aluminum heatsink with Nickel Plated Copper Base.

MSI R6870 HAWK AMD HD6870 AMD HD5870
Die Size (mm2) 255 255 334
Transistor Count 1.7 billion 1.7 billion 2.15 billion
Memory Bandwidth 4.2Gbps 4.2GBps 4.8GBps
Stream Processors 1120 1120 1600
Texture Units 56 56 80
ROPs 32 32 32
Core Clock 930 mhz 900 mhz 850 mhz
Memory Clock 1,050mhz 1,050mhz 1,200mhz
Memory 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
MSI R6870 HAWK (Twin Frozr III Thermal Design) Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
17 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 5 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 12 17 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

19 Comments
  • Harry
    February 8, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am not easily impressed, but this did it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Seth
    February 8, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That is one hell of a mid range graphics card. Wish they would bring out a MARS or ARES style card. my money is on that it would be better than anything asus could do.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rupert
    February 8, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love their frozr coolers. buddy of mine has one of their older boards and the cooling system is the best on the market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    February 8, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love their customised solutions, the high end modded stuff they bring out. this is f*cking brilliant.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned
    February 8, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    With all the extras ill be stunned if this retails for only £20 more than reference

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel
    February 8, 2011
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    59c under gaming load. thats specatular. my 6850 runs 10-15c higher.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • KorN
    February 8, 2011
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I never knew they made customised cards like this. its a complete overhaul. excellent. so im waiting on the 560 modded one now :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frankie Delitto
    February 8, 2011
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    man I love this site, I was waiting on this card and didnt expect a review so soon. ordering it when I can.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Toby Medo
    February 8, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great bit of engineering from MSI, these guys can deliver smoking hot hardware when they put their mind to it. they are just slow on releasing the hardware, but worth the wait.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Natahna
    February 8, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Biggest issue I have is that with 20-30 more than a reference HD6870, you are starting to get into the 6950 zone.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bret
    February 8, 2011
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very elaborate design. A lot of work went into this card. Nice job.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Manny
    February 8, 2011
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love the metal cooler, thats radical. bet it weighs a ton.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • TyranT
    February 8, 2011
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love my MSI 5770 HAWK
    can’t wait to get this R6870.. Better start saving money..
    :-D

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • elite12
    May 8, 2011
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    exelente review!!!! en estos dias me llegaaa y estoy feliiz!!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • produKt-nz
    September 9, 2011
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I bought two of these cards on recommendation. Glad I did after reading this :D Would love crossfire-x support tho, then i would have got three :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • BIGfalconlover1
    November 29, 2011
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I got two and one is bad. Card its WAY too hot 90c when playing BF3 while my other card was nice and cool max temp 52c. Cost to ship and replace under RMA was $21 Fedex. MSI sent my card back from RMA after 4 weeks and its still at 90c on load. Its like they didn’t even touch it. I can’t recommend this card due to MSI RMA. Just do a quick search on hot twin frozer cards. Its a nightmare. Run from MSI.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    November 29, 2011
    #17
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sorry to hear that, ill mention it to MSI.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gundam
    December 9, 2011
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If your Twin frozer is getting hot.
    Remove the cooler and clean the GPU form to thick thermal paste.
    Ad some Artic silver paste and voila a cooler card.
    Well that fixed my hot issue.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives