nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

To test power consumption today we are using a Keithley Integra unit and we measure power consumption from the VGA card inputs, not the system wide drain. The best way to get maximum load results is by using Furmark, and even though it is not indicative of a real world situation it shows the limits the card can theoretically demand. The ‘gaming’ results are measured when playing Crysis Warhead and is a more valuable result to take from this.

power1 nVidia Geforce GT430 Review

The power consumption figures of the GT430 are excellent, with it averaging around 37 watts when gaming. Under Furmark load it peaks around 50 watts, which is still very conservative and ideal for a media center environment. When KitGuru ran the world’s first ‘50 Watt Fermi‘ story back in May, we got a lot of stick from forums across the globe. After seeing the GTX480/470 cards, no one could believe that it was possible to get a Fermi product down to just 50 watts. nVidia has proven those critics wrong.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
nVidia Geforce GT430 Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

  • Roger

    ekk, same price as a HD5670, thats a bit of a mess.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Disaster, the card doesnt seem to have much going for it, certainly not at that price.

    Why not make it passively cooled and the same price as a HD5500 series card? like 40 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Very highly overpriced. as a media card it seems decent as the HQV testing shows, but again the HD5670 is better. Dont think it has anything really to sell it. price needs to be 40-50 quid.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    They all need to passively cooled and under £50. not sure what they are thinking. performance is very poor.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Very honest, and I like to see KG not hiding behind some silly comments. its a poor board. GTX460 seems to be the only no brainer this time around.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad

    Well this is very open. I am a bit sick seeing 9/10s on this site, I doubt this review will make you popular with nvidia fans, but It is a tough card to recommend. I think even the 5570 si a better card. at least its passively cooled too !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    I have read this and there was certainly no quarter drawn :)

    It isn’t a poor card, power consumption is good and noise levels are decent.

    My points are this and its been said before.

    1: price needs to put it into the RIGHT CATEGORY! £45 inc vat
    2: passively cooled, all solutions (or see point 3)
    3: non passive cooled solutions need the clocks raised much higher to help with gaming.

    I know people say its a ‘media card’ but come on, even people who are media fanatics, still play the odd title at 720p. this card even struggles at that, which is acceptable for 45 quid, not 65. HD5670 is a decent media gaming card, so this has to be as well, or else the price has to change. fact.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    10/10 review. dig the honesty. product sucks. There are loads of cards in this price sector which deliver better performance. point proven today.

    Maybe they can;t drop the price more, but this is destined to fail. loads of threads up across the net already. its only decent for encoding some files. but very few media people care less with even powerful low end CPU’s today.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JCB

    Well this article is useless as it it compares against the wrong ATI graphics card…

    The Nvidia GT430 is priced at about $79 (£51) and so competes with the ATI 5550 which would look much more interesting, and a Best buy rating !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    bollocks.

    This is the common pricing online. learn to count http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-239-AS&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1863

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davy

    JCB has been on the LSD :)

    The whole point of this article is that the 430 SHOULD be £sub 50 but its £65-70!

    Might be cheaper in america but it sure as shit aint in the UK.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • harry

    Maybe if I got a flight to New York, it might work out at £50, but id need to get a flight for £3 before it would be worth my time.

    All the prices today in the UK are 65 to 75 quid in the uk. ive not seen any decent makes for close to 50 quid. at 70 quid for the asus card, thats 5 less than a 1gb HD5670 ! well worth a 6 month wait for this crap.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.buygbl.com Jilma

    i wait for the nexgenartion cards

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives