Sapphire HD6970 Battlefield 3 Flex Edition Review (Limited Edition)

Review Score:
232 Flares 232 Flares ×

Sapphire are AMD’s largest graphics partner and today we are looking at something very special – the new HD6970 Sapphire Flex with Vapor X cooler, which not only comes with a proprietary cooling solution, but with a free copy of the brand new Battlefield 3 game. This will be a strictly ‘limited edition’ release on a ‘first come, first served’ basis.

Sapphire have been making some of the finest graphics cards this year and this Limited Edition card looks on paper to be one of their greatest. Sapphire have included a dual BIOS switch allowing users to choose between two performance settings. The ‘normal’ setting has clock speeds of 880MHz for the core and 1375Mhz (5.5Gb/sec effective) for the memory, and a quiet fan profile, whilst the ‘boost’ setting raises the core clock to 930MHz, as well as increasing the core voltage, fan speed and overclock limits to deliver higher performance.

If you want to push the card even further, then the Sapphire TriXX software tool will allow for manual interaction. Today we will test the card with a variety of games and benchmarks, measuring power drain and performance with Battlefield three in Eyefinity, across three 24 inch screens.

Should you treat yourself to the Sapphire HD6970 Battlefield 3 Flex Edition as an end of year treat?

GD Star Rating
a WordPress rating system
Sapphire HD6970 Battlefield 3 Flex Edition Review (Limited Edition), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
232 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 6 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 226 232 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

24 Comments
  • Harry
    October 28, 2011
    #1
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    THe price is pretty good, but some of the GTX580s have dropped in price recently too, £380 ish. Nice to see them working out a deal for BF3.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Thomas
    October 28, 2011
    #2
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Is battlefield 3 any good? havent played it yet.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Iain
    October 28, 2011
    #3
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Cant see it anywhere for sale yet. is this a preorder on any store im missing?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Davis
    October 28, 2011
    #4
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Love the vapor X cooler, got one on my GFX too :)

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Optix
    October 28, 2011
    #5
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    If you were buying one today, would you get this or the twin fan XFX ?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Nana
    October 28, 2011
    #6
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Battlefield is £30 for PC. This is a very good price.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Peter
    October 28, 2011
    #7
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Nice, good temps and cooler

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Angus
    October 28, 2011
    #8
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    No one is stocking it, or evenon preorder

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Raymond
    October 28, 2011
    #9
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I like sapphire cards, i want their 6990 but cant get one anywhere

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Paul
    October 29, 2011
    #10
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Great. Good luck to all wo entered the comp. Hope i win!

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Unino
    October 29, 2011
    #11
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Love it! Cant wait to play bf3. They make good hardware

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Billy
    October 29, 2011
    #12
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Why buy one of these. New cards will be out in a few months

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Lenny m.
    October 29, 2011
    #13
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Vapor x rocks. Dual bios switch is a good idea. Any ideas when we might be able to get it? Ive held off buying bf3 for this now

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Scottie
    October 29, 2011
    #14
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    6970 is a great card, but i bought the 6959 and modded it to 6970 cost me 210
    Last month

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Kyle
    October 30, 2011
    #15
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    @Billy …and why buy those cards coming out in a few months when new cards will come out a few months after those? lol

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Scottie
    October 30, 2011
    #16
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I agree you gotta jump in sometime. Seems like as good a time as any now

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Paddy o.
    October 30, 2011
    #17
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Nice. I rexoomend 6970 for 1080p. Has extra bandwidth for more aa than 6950

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Dan
    October 31, 2011
    #18
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Really dumb question bby someone who knows nothing of graphics cards, just because its supports the 3 screen setup it will still work fine with just 1 screen ? Also the switch to change the modes is that a physical switch on the card or a something you can change on the computer on the fly?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Zardon
    October 31, 2011
    #19
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Hi Dan, Yes, the card works fine with 1 screen. I just tested Battlefield 3 with eyefinity. All other games are using one screen.

    There is a physical switch on the card for the enhanced core speed mode. Switch it while the system is off and restart. There is a picture of it, earlier in the review.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Dan
    October 31, 2011
    #20
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Ok awesome thanks for the speedy response. Does that switch poke out the back or would i have to take the case of my computer each time i wanted to change it?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Zardon
    October 31, 2011
    #21
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I would just leave it on the higher setting all the time.

    The bios switch is on the card itself, you would need to take the door off the case to get at it.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • myself
    November 12, 2011
    #22
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    So you review an special/overclocked edition with BF3 and you do not bench it with BF3, just with these freaky triple display that only people with $5000 rigs uses… cool.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Zardon
    November 12, 2011
    #23
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Three 1080p screens in uk can cost as little as £500. And we used this sapphire review card to test battlefield 3 with those screens. Not sure how you work out 5000 dollars just for that.

    An eyefinity setup is not expensive at all actually. i5 2500k, 4gb of ram, £80 motherboard easily used as a basis for an ef rig.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • OemFty
    November 16, 2011
    #24
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    pretty good………………nice

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives