XFX ATI Radeon HD5670 1GB Passive Heatpipe CFx Review

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

Buying a new HD5970 or GTX580 is sure to clean out your bank account, and for the majority of people it is totally pointless. If you are in the market for a new high quality graphics card for a media center or 720p gaming system then the product we have for review today should certainly hit the spot.

For many people considering building a system, fan selection is very important – choosing the wrong products can make for a very noisy and painful mistake. If you don’t want to take any chances, then a passively cooled card is the best option. Kitguru has already looked at Sapphires Ultimate Edition HD5670, and today XFX have sent several of their passively cooled HD5670′s for review. This looks to be an ideal card for media fanatics who don’t want to compromise with image quality.

Highlights of the XFX ATI Radeon 5670 HD 775MHz 1GB PCI-Express 2.1 HDMI

  • ATI Eyefinity technology
  • ATI Stream technology
  • Designed for DirectCompute 11 and OpenCL
  • Accelerated Video Transcoding (AVT)
  • Compliant with DirectX 11 and earlier revisions
  • Supports Open GL 3.2
  • 40 nm Process technology
  • ATI CrossFireX multi-GPU support for highly scalable performance
  • ATI Avivo HD video and display technology
  • Dynamic power management with ATI PowerPlay technology
  • PCI Express 2.1 support
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
XFX ATI Radeon HD5670 1GB Passive Heatpipe CFx Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

11 Comments
  • Howdy
    November 12, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Gotta love these boards. they look just as nice as Sapphires, which is going to piss them off :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frankie
    November 12, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Love them, im building a new media pc and I think ill send dabs a few quid tmoorrow.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jonathan
    November 12, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The heatsink looks quite big on the back of the PCB. would that be an issue for some smaller chassis designs?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    November 12, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ Jonathan – I wouldnt think it would be a problem. only thing would be on an mini itx board, if the slot was close to the cpu slot and the cpu cooler was a little wider than reference. Tough one to call for all situations, but generally, no.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin Johnston
    November 12, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Need to talk my parents into this for christmas, my old nvidia board is knackered.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kal
    November 12, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Onmly downside with one of these is that in a year it will be not able to power anything. maybe you could pick another up early next year, but im not sold. I like the silent operation and media IQ performance, but for gaming , not a good move imo.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    November 12, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    People buying this probably wont even be gaming at 1080p. that is maybe a little misleading, although I apprecaite its good testing for TV resolutions. 720p is this market, and the hardware is fine.

    Also this is ideal for media HD playback. blueray, MKV etc. and you get the benefits of AMDs driver options for noise reduction etc. onboard solutions just dont cut it for this. its a better buy than the 5550 which is so weak.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nathan
    November 12, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    no power connectors and fans. This excites me more than a 5970 :p

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vincent
    June 6, 2011
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Once you go fanless, you never go back.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • henk
    June 25, 2011
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    hm… looks really nice, and with the current price at 65 euro’s, it is impossible to ignore.
    and will get one of these asap, as my passive 5450 is starting to die TT_TT.
    also, maybe ill zip-tie an 80mm fan at (very) low rpm to keep the card a few degrees cooler, without adding to the sound

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • site
    March 25, 2014
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    So much about these gadgets revolves around style and being
    an early-adopter. It is very compact to carry and easy to operate as well.
    With this mobile phone you will be able to program it to recognize your own handwriting alone.

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with
    my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives