Zotac GTX 465 Review: Full-on, affordable Fermi?

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Fermi has left many feeling famished. The launch of the 8800GT in October 2006 put nVidia so far ahead of the competition, that many wondered if ATI could ever come back. Also, let’s not forget one fact. Jen Hsun is a genius. Even the hierarchy at AMD knows this is true. So where are the Fermi cards that make us rush to the cashpoint?  KitGuru Labs has just completed testing on one of the world’s first GTX465 cards. Should you be cracking open your wallet?  Let’s find out.

The longer you wait, the better it has to be. Arrive in a Chinese restaurant and the first thing they hit you with is prawn crackers and tea. In an Italian, you’ll get grissini, olives, bread and a plate with oil and vinegar. Restaurants know that if you leave hungry people sitting for half an hour before the starter arrives, then the chef has to pull a miracle out of his butt with the real food. And no one wants to rely on miracles. KitGuru has been waiting in Mr Huang’s restaurant for quite some time. Was it worth the wait?

Following the release of the GTX 480 and 470, nVidia today unveils the latest in the Fermi lineup – the GTX 465.

The GTX 465 is nVidia’s first cost conscious Direct X 11 board, featuring 352 CUDA cores, 44 texture units and 32 ROPs. It also features the same high performance distributed tessellation architecture implemented in the more expensive models.

GeForce GTX 465 also uses the same board design/cooling seen on the GTX 470. However, this time, power consumption is improved – thanks in part to the reduced core count. This board has a maximum consumption of 200 watts so, in theory, it will run cooler than its big brothers, the GTX 470 and 480.

Model Geforce GTX 465 Geforce GTX 470 Geforce GTX 480
Graphics Processing Clusters 3 4 4
Streaming Multiprocessors 11 14 15
CUDA Cores 352 448 480
Texture Units 44 56 50
ROP Units 32 40 48
Graphics Clock (Fixed Function Units) 607mhz 607mhz 700mhz
Processor Clock (CUDA Cores) 1215mhz 1215mhz 1401mhz
Memory Clock (Clock Rate/Data Rate) 802mhz/3206mhz 837mhz/3348 mhz 924 mhz/3696mhz
Total Video Memory 1024MB 1280MB 1536MB
Memory Interface 256-bit 320-bit 384-bit
Total Memory Bandwidth 102.6 GB/s 133.9 GB/s 177.4 GB/s
Texture Filtering Rate (Bilinear) 26.7 Gigatexels/sec 34.0 GigaTexels/sec 42.0 GigaTexels/sec
Fabrication process 40nm 40nm 40nm
Connectors 2x Dual Link DVI-I
1x Mini HDMI
2x Dual Link DVI-I
1x Mini HDMI
2x Dual Link DVI-I
1x Mini HDMI
Form Factor Dual Slot Dual Slot Dual Slot
Power Connectors 2x6pin 2x6pin 1x6pin, 1x8pin
Recommended Power Supply 550 watts 550 watts 650 watts
Thermal Design Power 200 watts 215 watts 250 watts
Thermal Threshold 105c 105c 105c
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
Zotac GTX 465 Review: Full-on, affordable Fermi?, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 2 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

44 Comments
  • eric k
    May 31, 2010
    #1
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thats actually a really good card. thanks for the unbiased and impartial results :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • terbone
    May 31, 2010
    #2
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    its still quite hot for a mid range card but compared to the higher end models its pretty cool. Nice performance.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • henry
    May 31, 2010
    #3
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    5850 is definiately faster overall but it holds onto it pretty well. if you dont like ATI drivers this is a good option.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dude
    May 31, 2010
    #4
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Interesting results – but the pricing is off. thanks for explaining why though, I will wait for it to drop a little over the next month. my next card!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Horrice
    May 31, 2010
    #5
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was expecting the 465GTX to score a little better, but its clearly outclassed by the 5850. That said, for nvidia fans this is a good option, just seems a little too little , too late.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev
    May 31, 2010
    #6
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Funny text in places, gave me a chuckle. 5850 is a better card which this review verifies but the 465 is better than I thought it was going to be.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • trix
    May 31, 2010
    #7
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    260 is too much money for this. 200 quid id be tempted. nothing more.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vivian
    May 31, 2010
    #8
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    excuse my english – 255 will be how much euros?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger ramjet
    May 31, 2010
    #9
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    bit disappointed, thought it would be the class leader

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • stefan
    May 31, 2010
    #10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    drop the price nvidia, get into the real world !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry roberts
    May 31, 2010
    #11
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    good review, informative. it seems to hold its own again the strong AMD competition, noise seems ok, temps a bit hot, but not like 480. all in all a pretty good card, even if its late to the table.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad
    May 31, 2010
    #12
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    better than I expected, nice card. drop the price.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • long jumper
    May 31, 2010
    #13
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am not really that impressed . it should be beating the 5850, its more expensive, later to market and runs hotter while consuming more power. Why is everyone so positive about this?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ron
    May 31, 2010
    #14
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I agree with long jumper – why is this being received so positively?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dax
    May 31, 2010
    #15
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    because ATI drivers suck, thats why. people are prepared to pay a little extra for forceware, its well known :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry
    May 31, 2010
    #16
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thats actually quite a good card, nice performer. Temps are still a bit worrying for me to be honest, I don’t have a great case at home.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rick
    May 31, 2010
    #17
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    5850 is still better and actually cheaper, dont know what nvidia are thinking

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wez
    May 31, 2010
    #18
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice nice nice, I like it. I prefer nvidia cards to ATI and this is next on my list. ill do some shopping around to see if I can get a bit of a deal on one.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • death dealer
    May 31, 2010
    #19
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I was expecting this to be crap, its not bad. still cant believe how hot they get though, thats really poor design methodology from nv

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rog
    May 31, 2010
    #20
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    surprised kitguru got a sample after all the ermm interesting nvidia news reportage lately.

    Still have to say, good unbiased review. seems to be a capable board. good job,

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • F82323 39232
    May 31, 2010
    #21
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its pretty close to HD5850, which is good enough for me. ill have one :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian Drun
    May 31, 2010
    #22
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    very nice, thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • paul
    May 31, 2010
    #23
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    too hot for me, i like my cards cold. will wait on third party cooler to come out. hopefully by then the price has dropped also as they cost a bit much right now. good to see why they cost more though in the conclusion.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • guardian
    May 31, 2010
    #24
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    not a flop at all. I bet KitGuru are gutted they couldnt slag it off ;)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ben
    May 31, 2010
    #25
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    im impressed with the review, thanks for the coverage so soon.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Koran
    May 31, 2010
    #26
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Overpriced, too hot. no thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AMD4EVER
    May 31, 2010
    #27
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is a total flop. its far too late and offers no performance improvements over 5850, it actually costs more too ! WTF!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trey
    May 31, 2010
    #28
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wise up NV, almost 90 c under load when overclocked? could double up as a good egg frier. toasty, far too toasty

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tunick
    May 31, 2010
    #29
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    AMD really have this market still in their pocket. If NV drop the price by £30-50 quid then its a different story, but its still AMDs market.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam
    May 31, 2010
    #30
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    You AMD fanbois need to shut up. this is a wicked card, the review shows its actually very close in some and WINS IN OTHERS! I wouldnt touch AMD with a 10 foot pole, cause the drivers such azz.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 Review Roundup « GPUplanet
    May 31, 2010
    #31
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] 465 @ HardwareHeaven Zotac GTX 465 and EVGA GTX 465 Superclocked @ HotHardware Zotac GeForce GTX 465 @ KitGuru Zotac GeForce GTX 465 @ TechPowerUp Zotac GeForce GTX 465 @ Tom’s Hardware [...]

  • Blog PcComponentes – Noticias, novedades, todo acerca de la más novedosa tecnología » Llegan las nuevas Geforce GTX465 de Nvidia
    May 31, 2010
    #32
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] KitGuru [...]

  • ET
    May 31, 2010
    #33
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Sam, NVIDIA recently had drivers which bricked cards. I don’t think AMD got to that level.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Benjamin
    May 31, 2010
    #34
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @Vivian: My guess is that it will be almost the same from $ to £ to €

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Finally Nvidia show GTX465 ability | Cyber World
    May 31, 2010
    #35
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Kitguru (Zotac) | Hardware Canucks (eVGA) | Hardware Canucks (ASUS) | Hardware Heaven | Techpowerup | XBit Labs | Hot Hardware | PC Perspective (Galaxy) | Legit Reviews | Techarp [...]

  • Dax
    May 31, 2010
    #36
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    300 euros I hear.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Corsair Flash Survivor GTR 32GB USB Flash Drive review | KitGuru
    May 31, 2010
    #37
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Zotac GTX465 Review: Full-on, affordable Fermi?… Filed under: Graphics, Highlights Latest Previews [...]

  • Rob
    May 31, 2010
    #38
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good review – I wouldnt touch ATI cards with a bargepole. last card I had the drivers were absolutely shite

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    May 31, 2010
    #39
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The ATI drivers are really good now, I prefer them for watching movies on my tv for instance, the controls work so much better for vibrance, noise reduction and sharpness.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • GTX 465: Scanning for launch stock | KitGuru
    June 1, 2010
    #40
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] the market ahead of the retail launch of nVidia’s GTX 465 card. As you know, this card delivers decent performance at almost the right price. But can you buy [...]

  • me
    June 1, 2010
    #41
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    You probably just forgot to test power usage, but this card almost takes as much juice as the 470.

    I bet NVIDIA is glad you forgot.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    June 1, 2010
    #42
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I actually didn’t get time to start running power consumption tests however nvidia have rated the card at 200watts against the 470 at 215watts. 480 is 250 watts. Interestingly they say “TDP is a measure of maximum power draw over time in real world applications. It does not represent the maximum power draw in pathological cases such as Furmark.”

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Burning Pussy
    June 1, 2010
    #43
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @Zardon: How does one achieve the proper FurMark anyway ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Graphic Cards : GTX 465 and Other Cards -- Order Now ! - Erodov Forums
    June 2, 2010
    #44
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Right for Rehabilitation – X-bit labs techPowerUp :: ZOTAC GeForce GTX 465 Review :: Page 1 / 33 Zotac GTX 465 Review: Full-on, affordable Fermi? | KitGuru I didn't go past the Temperature, Noise and Power Consumption sections… Seriously a single page [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives