ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard Review

Review Score:
10 Flares 10 Flares ×

Today we are looking at the Asus Maximus V Formula Motherboard, designed for the latest i7/i5/i3 Intel processors. The Maximus V Formula is a ‘no compromises’ Z77 motherboard, aimed at the top 10 percent of enthusiast user who will be using the most expensive components with a focus on overclocking. We partner the Asus motherboard with a flagship, liquid cooled Core i7 3770k processor, a Sapphire HD7970 6GB Toxic Edition graphics card and 16GB of Corsair Dominator 2,666mhz Platinum memory. Is the Maximus V Formula the foundation for the ultimate gaming system?

Asus are well known for producing some of the finest motherboards on the market, even though they are facing a tougher challenge lately from companies such as ASRock and Gigabyte. Their Republic Of Gamers series always receive special treatment by the engineering team, particularly in regards to overclocking and squeezing every ounce of performance from a high end system build in the bios.

ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard Overview:

  • LGA1155 socket for Intel® 3rd/2nd Generation Core™ i7/ i5/ i3/ Pentium® / Celeron® Processors
  • Intel® Z77 Express Chipset
  • Fusion Thermal
  • SupremeFX IV
  • GameFirst II/ Intel Gb LAN
  • mPCIe Combo + dual-band Wi-Fi/Bluetooth 4.0
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
10 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 8 10 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

8 Comments
  • Eran
    September 19, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    mega stuff. thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davis
    September 19, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have a view on this which might not prove popular.

    I think this motherboard is very expensive for Z77. Reason? Its fine with X79 or Xeon motherboards with quad channel etc, but this is £250 for a mainstream platform? great product as always from ASUS, but I wouldnt pay this for Z77 motherboard. £200 would be my limit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Darth Digglers
    September 19, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is their X79 Rampage Extreme IV for the Z77 platform, right?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    September 19, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    What a stunning board, great review too. Love it! ive an asus mobo and i love it to bits. so easy to work inside.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel
    September 19, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Lovely motherboard, I was tempted to buy this a week ago and bought an MSI one at the same time. Quite happy with my decision, im using a 3570K @ 4.6ghz

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • TPG Daily Links: I Can’t Click | truepcgaming
    October 9, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] ASUS Maximus V Formula Review – KitGuru We have no hesitation recommending this motherboard, but it is expensive and there are plenty of excellent options on the market today. If you don’t need some of the ‘bells and whistles’ then you could save yourself some money. [...]

  • Daren
    October 10, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is perfect for a typical system with a 2500k/3570k + 7850 or 650 ti. Would actually be better than using a higher wattage psu as it would peak at around 50 percent load when gaming.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • i7 3770k + Asus Maximus V Formula, NO PUEDO OVERCLOCKEAR!! HELP
    December 28, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] i7 3770k + Asus Maximus V Formula, NO PUEDO OVERCLOCKEAR!! HELP Mira este review ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard Review | KitGuru intenta guiarte por medio de las imagenes realmente desconosco el BIOS de esa hermosura de tarjeta [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives