Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard Review (with OC GTX680)

Review Score:
24 Flares 24 Flares ×

Intel have a busy month in April, launching their 3rd generation processors within a couple of weeks time. Today however they release their much awaited Z77 platform, with a raft of motherboards hitting the market from all their partners. Under NDA we have to wait until a later date to publish next generation Core i5/i7 results, so today we will take a look at one of the many boards we have in our labs when paired up with a Core i7 2600k.

The Asus Sabretooth Z77 looks to be another quality product from ASUS and we will overclock it to the limit and pair it up with an overclocked Asus GTX680.

This hasn’t been the smoothest product launch for Intel as their Z77 NDA has been breached by some publications clamoring for hits and even some retailers. This means that performance results, detailed photographs and descriptions are already in the wild and have been for many weeks. On Friday for instance many of the UK retail stores such as Scan, Aria and Overclockers decided to launch Z77 sales.

The Asus Sabertooth Z77 motherboard supports Quad SLI and Quad Crossfire and uses an interesting ‘Thermal Armor’ cover to enhance cooling and improve reliability under stressful conditions. The Sabertooth Z77 also features ASUS exclusive pioneering Dual Intelligent Processors 3 with SMART DIGI+ Power Control where 2 dedicated chips, the TPU and EPU provide an auto overclock and save energy through optimized power management, significantly boosting performance.

Overview:

Asus Exclusive Innovations:

  • SMART DIGI+ Power Control
  • Fan Xpert+
  • Network iControl
  • USB BIOS Flashback
  • USB 3.0 Boost
  • AI Suite II

Innovations:

  • Quad GPU AMD CrossfireX – a flawless architecture accommodating the power of up to four graphics cards
  • LudicLogix Virtu MVP – boots responsiveness, improves gaming frame rates by 30-70% and sharpens visual quality
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard Review (with OC GTX680), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
24 Flares Google+ 2 Twitter 2 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 18 24 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

22 Comments
  • NEWS - Placi de baza - Page 66 - My Garage
    April 8, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Sabertooth Z77 Review (with OC GTX 680) – KitGuru [...]

  • Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard Review (with OC GTX680) – KitGuru | Notebooks PC
    April 8, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] KitGuru [...]

  • davisD
    April 8, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love the heatsink idea with the cover, but it looks like it might block some of the bigger CPU coolers, hard to tell going on the information but it looks tight near the top of the board.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Intel Panther Point Mainboards - News Reviews Specs Bilder (Z77 Z75 H77 Q77 Q75 B75) - Seite 39
    April 8, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] KitGuru: Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard Review (with OC GTX680) Hexus: Review: Intel Z77 chipset and Gigabyte Z77-D3H motherboard Thinkcomputers: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H Intel Z77 Motherboard Review eTeknix: Asus Maximus V Gene (Z77) Motherboard Sandy Bridge Review Zitieren + Antworten [...]

  • Zan
    April 8, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great review. So, it did or didn’t OC stable to 5Ghz with the H100?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • My gaming rig i want to buy&questions - Electronic Arts UK Community
    April 8, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] LOL) Take ASRock Z77 Extreme4, unbeatable price/performance. It's thermal armour, not plastic Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard Review (with OC GTX680) | KitGuru __________________ EA – 100 million spent for marketing but 100 pounds spent towards server [...]

  • Nje
    April 8, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks for a great review!

    I have a couple of questions about this motherboard with a Noctua NH-D14 cooler – firstly if it fits and secondly if the motherboard is able to control the Noctua fan speeds (they are 3 pin fans, not PWM).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    April 9, 2012
    #8
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    yeah 5ghz is stable with one of the samples I have, but they all vary. 4.8ghz is best all round spot with less voltage and a cheaper cooler (for most people anyway).

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    April 9, 2012
    #9
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    If you give me a few days ill try with a D14, didnt for the review, but I have one in another drawer.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Nje
    April 9, 2012
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Great! Thanks =)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • For those who prefer their boards with a bit of experience, MSI’s Big Bang XPower II X79 - IT Lounge
    April 10, 2012
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Asus Sabertooth Z77 @ Kitguru [...]

  • Daily Hardware Reviews for 4/11/12
    April 10, 2012
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] @ Bjorn3D ASUS Sabertooth P67 Motherboard @ Ninjalane ASUS Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard @ KitGuru Biostar TZ77XE4 Z77 Motherboard @ eTeknix ECS Z77H2-AX Motherboard @ Guru3D ECS Z77H2-AX [...]

  • Tomi
    April 13, 2012
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Zardon. Any new about the D14, with this board? Its compatible?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • GodOfGaming
    April 20, 2012
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I’m getting this board and want to know, would the Thermalright Silver Arrow cpu cooler fit above the TUF Armor? With two 140mm fans attached?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    April 20, 2012
    #15
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Hi there, the NH D14 fits – but its close. As for the question on the Silver Arrow CPU cooler, I dont have one here, but ill try and get hold of one.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • GodOfGaming
    April 20, 2012
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks for the quick answer. Hopefully it will since the D14 fits. But this pic has me really concerned:
    http://www.overclockers.ru/images/lab/2010/11/25/391_thermalright_silver_arrow_onmobo_big.jpg

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    April 20, 2012
    #17
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Actually looking at that, it looks as if it would fit. I can’t guarantee it, but I have the board at the same angle on the desk here and it looks as if it would fit fine.

    Remember, I know its not ideal, but you can remove the protective shell in a worst case scenario, so the board isnt redundant if there are some fitting issues.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • GodOfGaming
    April 20, 2012
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Since the looks of TUF armor are one of the reasons why I want that mobo It would be a waste to remove it. Also I heard that it cools well with the 2 small fans, and I don’t mind a little bit of noise. If the Silver Arrow wouldn’t fit, I’d get a Corsair H100 and normal RAM with heatsinks, so that’s why I wanted to know in advance. According to reviews the H100 is behind by a few degrees and is also more expensive, so I wanna have the Silver Arrow which is currently the best no-maintenance cooler, if it would fit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob
    April 24, 2012
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Quote: “Quad GPU AMD CrossfireX – a flawless architecture accommodating the power of up to four graphics cards” /Quote

    So where do Install the 4 graphics cards?

    I see 3 slots

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe frn
    April 24, 2012
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I think they do that, saying quad is possible with two cards, but its actually tri crossfire

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Matt
    April 29, 2012
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    did you downclock your RAM to OC? page 4 bottom pic. RAM speed=800 mhz…

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    April 30, 2012
    #22
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thats 1,600mhz. its how DDR3 memory is reported in those programs Matt.

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives