Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review

Review Score:
10 Flares 10 Flares ×

A short while ago we reviewed Corsair’s top of the line AX1200 PSU and it walked away with a score of 9.5/10 and our top award. It earned this by delivering record breaking efficiency (93%) with an incredibly potent and ultimately stable power delivery.

The only downside with this unit was the £235 price tag which it carried, ensuring that only the richest and most demanding of enthusiast users could ever afford it.

A few weeks ago we received the AX850 power supply and we have put it through its paces since then, ensuring that it can deliver in the same manner as its bigger brother. This model will be more appealing as it is much more affordable. When you see that Corsair are offering an industry leading 7 year warranty then it seems they have every faith in this unit to be a long term investment.

GD Star Rating
a WordPress rating system
Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
10 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 9 10 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

24 Comments
  • Henry
    August 22, 2010
    #1
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    These Corsair PSUs really are leading the way. Nice temperature results too. I used to read reviews with PSUs outputting over 50c.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Tim
    August 22, 2010
    #2
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    that is great. the pricing is good too £90 less than the 1200W.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Bob
    August 22, 2010
    #3
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Corsair really do deliver such great products. this is an ideal next purchase for a buddy of mine who is building a high spec gaming rig with a GTX480 in it.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Sam
    August 22, 2010
    #4
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Excellent review, seems to be a killer product all round. Price isnt bad considering. I know PCpower used to charge 300 quid for their 1200W and over 200 for a 850/900w

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Todger
    August 22, 2010
    #5
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Man this site is active, every day one or two reviews on it !

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Rodger
    August 22, 2010
    #6
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    The fan in that seems pretty much the best you could use. great job by Corsair and they deserve to be getting a good rep in this market. Box art is brilliant.!

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Eric K
    August 22, 2010
    #7
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Well this is sweet. bit more than I like to pay, I got an enermax last year for 100, still working great :)

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Frank
    August 22, 2010
    #8
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Im really glad this unit came out. the AX1200 was a great showcase of technical ability, but it was so expensive, I think only people who have dual GTX480s would buy it.

    This seems much more valid for todays market, and while its 150, its ‘affordable’, If you think about it, this should last 3 years easy even with new hardware, so its a long term investment. I wish a video card I would buy now for 150 would still be a good option in 3 years..

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • breaker
    August 22, 2010
    #9
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Yeah, always stuns me when people build a great gaming system then buy a no name 800w brand for 35 quid in their local store. Then bitch when the system crashes every 5 minutes.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Garry
    August 22, 2010
    #10
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    This is my next PSU, without question. should last me to 2014 :)

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Gimmie some sugar
    August 22, 2010
    #11
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Brilliant review. cross loading results are superb.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Tech Head
    August 22, 2010
    #12
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Been waiting on this one for a bit now :) hasnt disappointed.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Tunick
    August 22, 2010
    #13
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    I need a new PSU, but do you think they will release one at £80 :) ?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • nerd sucker
    August 22, 2010
    #14
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Excellent, most excellent. Now I just need to rob a bank.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Gareth Cringle
    August 22, 2010
    #15
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    These designs are so efficient and its really setting them apart. Enermax should have an answer soon however.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Vivian
    August 22, 2010
    #16
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Corsair are having such a great year. them and MSI seem top of the field.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • haditbutlostit
    August 22, 2010
    #17
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    150 is out of my price point. normally. I might try and make an exception this time, funds permitting. I need something I can rely on to last me for years also

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Fireforce Delta
    August 22, 2010
    #18
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Another kick ass product from the Corsair group. They really are pumping them out lately. efficiency is great.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Dirk Diggler
    August 22, 2010
    #19
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    over 90 percent efficiency is impressive shit. Would save quite a bit of money with this over the year, Once I convince my wife that is why I need it however,

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Cheezey
    August 22, 2010
    #20
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Another top review KG. I think this is going to sell very well for corsair. I hope they bring out a 650W model and can get it under £100

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Hank
    August 22, 2010
    #21
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Seems this range is breaking all records in the PSU industry. How many more models are they going to make, or is it just two ?

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Trif
    August 23, 2010
    #22
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Excellent product from a company who seem to be really putting a lot of resources into delivering the best possible units to market.

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Hordic
    August 23, 2010
    #23
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    Very impressive testing results. much better value than the 1200 unit in the same family

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
  • Kev
    August 23, 2010
    #24
    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system

    The hybrid fan feature is great as it should mean the psu fan stays silent when you’re not gaming or folding or something like that. More psus should do this!

    GD Star Rating
    a WordPress rating system
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives