Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review

Review Score:
11 Flares 11 Flares ×

A short while ago we reviewed Corsair’s top of the line AX1200 PSU and it walked away with a score of 9.5/10 and our top award. It earned this by delivering record breaking efficiency (93%) with an incredibly potent and ultimately stable power delivery.

The only downside with this unit was the £235 price tag which it carried, ensuring that only the richest and most demanding of enthusiast users could ever afford it.

A few weeks ago we received the AX850 power supply and we have put it through its paces since then, ensuring that it can deliver in the same manner as its bigger brother. This model will be more appealing as it is much more affordable. When you see that Corsair are offering an industry leading 7 year warranty then it seems they have every faith in this unit to be a long term investment.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
11 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 9 11 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Henry

    These Corsair PSUs really are leading the way. Nice temperature results too. I used to read reviews with PSUs outputting over 50c.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    that is great. the pricing is good too £90 less than the 1200W.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob

    Corsair really do deliver such great products. this is an ideal next purchase for a buddy of mine who is building a high spec gaming rig with a GTX480 in it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    Excellent review, seems to be a killer product all round. Price isnt bad considering. I know PCpower used to charge 300 quid for their 1200W and over 200 for a 850/900w

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Todger

    Man this site is active, every day one or two reviews on it !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rodger

    The fan in that seems pretty much the best you could use. great job by Corsair and they deserve to be getting a good rep in this market. Box art is brilliant.!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    Well this is sweet. bit more than I like to pay, I got an enermax last year for 100, still working great :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    Im really glad this unit came out. the AX1200 was a great showcase of technical ability, but it was so expensive, I think only people who have dual GTX480s would buy it.

    This seems much more valid for todays market, and while its 150, its ‘affordable’, If you think about it, this should last 3 years easy even with new hardware, so its a long term investment. I wish a video card I would buy now for 150 would still be a good option in 3 years..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • breaker

    Yeah, always stuns me when people build a great gaming system then buy a no name 800w brand for 35 quid in their local store. Then bitch when the system crashes every 5 minutes.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry

    This is my next PSU, without question. should last me to 2014 :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gimmie some sugar

    Brilliant review. cross loading results are superb.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Been waiting on this one for a bit now :) hasnt disappointed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tunick

    I need a new PSU, but do you think they will release one at £80 :) ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • nerd sucker

    Excellent, most excellent. Now I just need to rob a bank.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth Cringle

    These designs are so efficient and its really setting them apart. Enermax should have an answer soon however.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vivian

    Corsair are having such a great year. them and MSI seem top of the field.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • haditbutlostit

    150 is out of my price point. normally. I might try and make an exception this time, funds permitting. I need something I can rely on to last me for years also

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fireforce Delta

    Another kick ass product from the Corsair group. They really are pumping them out lately. efficiency is great.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dirk Diggler

    over 90 percent efficiency is impressive shit. Would save quite a bit of money with this over the year, Once I convince my wife that is why I need it however,

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cheezey

    Another top review KG. I think this is going to sell very well for corsair. I hope they bring out a 650W model and can get it under £100

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Seems this range is breaking all records in the PSU industry. How many more models are they going to make, or is it just two ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trif

    Excellent product from a company who seem to be really putting a lot of resources into delivering the best possible units to market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hordic

    Very impressive testing results. much better value than the 1200 unit in the same family

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kev

    The hybrid fan feature is great as it should mean the psu fan stays silent when you’re not gaming or folding or something like that. More psus should do this!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Best printer option for 2015?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives