Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review

Review Score:
11 Flares 11 Flares ×

A short while ago we reviewed Corsair’s top of the line AX1200 PSU and it walked away with a score of 9.5/10 and our top award. It earned this by delivering record breaking efficiency (93%) with an incredibly potent and ultimately stable power delivery.

The only downside with this unit was the £235 price tag which it carried, ensuring that only the richest and most demanding of enthusiast users could ever afford it.

A few weeks ago we received the AX850 power supply and we have put it through its paces since then, ensuring that it can deliver in the same manner as its bigger brother. This model will be more appealing as it is much more affordable. When you see that Corsair are offering an industry leading 7 year warranty then it seems they have every faith in this unit to be a long term investment.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Corsair AX850 Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
11 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 1 Email -- Facebook 9 11 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

24 Comments
  • Henry
    August 22, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These Corsair PSUs really are leading the way. Nice temperature results too. I used to read reviews with PSUs outputting over 50c.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    August 22, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    that is great. the pricing is good too £90 less than the 1200W.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob
    August 22, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Corsair really do deliver such great products. this is an ideal next purchase for a buddy of mine who is building a high spec gaming rig with a GTX480 in it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam
    August 22, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent review, seems to be a killer product all round. Price isnt bad considering. I know PCpower used to charge 300 quid for their 1200W and over 200 for a 850/900w

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Todger
    August 22, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Man this site is active, every day one or two reviews on it !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rodger
    August 22, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The fan in that seems pretty much the best you could use. great job by Corsair and they deserve to be getting a good rep in this market. Box art is brilliant.!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    August 22, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well this is sweet. bit more than I like to pay, I got an enermax last year for 100, still working great :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    August 22, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Im really glad this unit came out. the AX1200 was a great showcase of technical ability, but it was so expensive, I think only people who have dual GTX480s would buy it.

    This seems much more valid for todays market, and while its 150, its ‘affordable’, If you think about it, this should last 3 years easy even with new hardware, so its a long term investment. I wish a video card I would buy now for 150 would still be a good option in 3 years..

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • breaker
    August 22, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yeah, always stuns me when people build a great gaming system then buy a no name 800w brand for 35 quid in their local store. Then bitch when the system crashes every 5 minutes.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    August 22, 2010
    #10
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is my next PSU, without question. should last me to 2014 :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gimmie some sugar
    August 22, 2010
    #11
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Brilliant review. cross loading results are superb.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head
    August 22, 2010
    #12
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Been waiting on this one for a bit now :) hasnt disappointed.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tunick
    August 22, 2010
    #13
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I need a new PSU, but do you think they will release one at £80 :) ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • nerd sucker
    August 22, 2010
    #14
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent, most excellent. Now I just need to rob a bank.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth Cringle
    August 22, 2010
    #15
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    These designs are so efficient and its really setting them apart. Enermax should have an answer soon however.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vivian
    August 22, 2010
    #16
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Corsair are having such a great year. them and MSI seem top of the field.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • haditbutlostit
    August 22, 2010
    #17
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    150 is out of my price point. normally. I might try and make an exception this time, funds permitting. I need something I can rely on to last me for years also

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fireforce Delta
    August 22, 2010
    #18
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Another kick ass product from the Corsair group. They really are pumping them out lately. efficiency is great.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dirk Diggler
    August 22, 2010
    #19
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    over 90 percent efficiency is impressive shit. Would save quite a bit of money with this over the year, Once I convince my wife that is why I need it however,

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cheezey
    August 22, 2010
    #20
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Another top review KG. I think this is going to sell very well for corsair. I hope they bring out a 650W model and can get it under £100

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank
    August 22, 2010
    #21
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Seems this range is breaking all records in the PSU industry. How many more models are they going to make, or is it just two ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trif
    August 23, 2010
    #22
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excellent product from a company who seem to be really putting a lot of resources into delivering the best possible units to market.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hordic
    August 23, 2010
    #23
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very impressive testing results. much better value than the 1200 unit in the same family

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kev
    August 23, 2010
    #24
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The hybrid fan feature is great as it should mean the psu fan stays silent when you’re not gaming or folding or something like that. More psus should do this!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives