Fractal Design NEWTON R3 1000W PSU Review

Review Score:
5 Flares 5 Flares ×

Fractal Design have been hitting the headlines over the last 12 months for their array of class leading, low noise chassis designs. There is no doubt that products such as their Node 605, 304, Core 3000 and Define XL are market leaders while being offered at competitive prices. Today however we are looking at their latest high end power supply, the NEWTON R3 1000W, a modular unit with Platinum efficiency.

The NEWTON R3 1000W is right at the top of their range. There are two colours to choose from, a black and white model to suit a wide variety of windowed chassis designs. The power supply features a single +12V rail, is semi modular by design and features high grade Japanese capacitors. On paper, the specification list is certainly eye popping, but can it deliver the goods in our test labs?

The key features

  • 80PLUS® Platinum
  • Single, powerful 12V rail
  • SLI (800W and up) and CrossFireX Certified
  • Long-life ball-bearing fan
  • Modular cables
  • Japanese capacitors
  • Semi-passive fan
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Fractal Design NEWTON R3 1000W PSU Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
5 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 4 5 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

6 Comments
  • Harris
    March 12, 2013
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really like this, the pricing is good too. keeping my eye out for it. are they making a new 850W unit?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    March 12, 2013
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    They make great products, this would suit my fractal case in white. Not sure I need 1000W. a 750W or 850W would make more sense. still good to see them doing so well in such an area. one of my favourite new companies.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alex
    March 12, 2013
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thats a heck of a price in the UK, although I can only find it on amazon for £10 more. waiting on scan or OCUK.

    Seasonic 1000w platinum is much better, but its £200.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Anusha
    March 12, 2013
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its not a pure modular design which is slightly disappointing. I wouldnt mind normally but why not make all the PCIe cables modular? too many cables hardwired for my tastes

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stevie
    March 12, 2013
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Excuse my ignorance, but the ripple on the 3.3 and 5v output, is that not dangerous being so close to the recommended limit? or is it not a concern ? just working out if its worth a purchase

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • nathan2013
    March 12, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like the white one. It looks clean and classy. I think i will put this as one of the top power supply psu on my list. Great post.:)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

1080 TV Gaming in the Living Room

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives