Powercolor Gaming 600W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Powercolor are one of a handful of graphics card manufacturers who are trying to create additional revenue streams by entering into the power supply marketplace. We took a look at their Extreme Series 1000W unit a few weeks ago and we found that Solytech based (SL-X1000EPS) unit actually delivered very impressive results.

Powercolor recently released two ranges, the modular Extreme Series and the non modular Gaming series.

The Extreme models are more expensive 80 Plus Bronze certified with 1000w and 850W units available. The Gaming Series is targeted more for the mainstream audience with standard 80 Plus certification with 600W and a 500W units available.

Today we are reviewing the 600w model.

 Powercolor Gaming 600W Power Supply Review

  • 80 Plus certified to deliver more than 80% efficiency
  • ATX 12V V2.2/ EPS 12V 2.91 ready and backwards compatible with ATX 12V 2.01
  • Active Power Factor Correction (PFC) with PF value of 0.99
  • Multiple Protection: Over-voltage and over-current protection, short circuit protection, under-voltage protection, over power protection
  • Long lasting, Ultra-quiet 120mm fan double ball bearing fan with thermal control
  • 105c High quality Japanese-made capacitors
  • Sleeved Cable and Extra Length
  • Crossfire and SLI support
  • MTBF >100,000 hours at 80% load, ambient temperature at 25c
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Powercolor Gaming 600W Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Tim

    Very cheap product, looks well. internals seem ok.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brook

    Another Solytech design./ doesnt seem quite as impressive, but obviously the price is the reason.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steven R.

    This site always appears really fair and even handed with product reviews. This is a decent effort from powercolor for the budget audience. it looks great which means many system builders might use it in more budget oriented systems with side panels.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trevor IT Slave

    For the price, if it hits US and UK in relation to that Canadian price, it is a solid enough buy. Some PSUs in this price range dont have proper protection circuitry. This is very important.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harry

    I really dig this product. most 50 quid psus look like a mess. appearance isn the main buying point with a PSU obviously but at least it looks well too.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    Good buy for a kid with not much cash. would even handle a low powered CF or SLI system. cant be bad for 50 quid. also, as someone else said, at least we know now that the protection circuitry works which brings peace of mind. our local store sells some shitty looking far east psus at this price and I wouldnt trust them.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hank

    Bit underwhelming. for 15 quid more there are much better buys on the market right now

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fluffychicken

    Will do me nicely. have to wait and see how much the UK stock it for. but its right in my cash bracket (ie none).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    The colors are awesome. shame they didnt use this color scheme on the higher models. I know it sounds daft bringing up this, but I have a killer rig with side panels and lighting. love this scheme. I might actually buy it, take out the components inside and put another PSU into it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Are you for real Tri Color? why not just get a new fan for the one you currently have. I think you can buy good enough yellow colored fans to suit your PSU. if its a 120mm or 140mm one anyway

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harald

    I think the 585W figure is the combined wattage allowed on the 3.3V, 5V and 12V together. Other than that, cool to see a Solytech unit that actually does well.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Anonymous()

Polls

Your next PC, which memory?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives