Seasonic G Series 360W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
28 Flares 28 Flares ×

Today we are looking at a new power supply from Seasonic in their latest ‘G Series’, targeting the mainstream enthusiast audience who have no desire to pay a premium. The G Series is offered in 360W, 450W, 550W and 650W configurations and we thought it made sense to start with the lowest rated unit.

When I was first told that Seasonic were releasing a 360W 80 Plus Gold certified power supply I have to admit I was slightly perplexed. After all, they already have the excellent X-Series 460W power supply which is fanless and ideal for the low power, low noise, media center audience. The only downside is the price, it retails in the United Kingdom for a tad under £120 inc vat.

To be fair, not many people would pay £120 for a 460W power supply, regardless of how much ass it can kick.

The G Series is targeting a slightly different audience. While Seasonic have still achieved 80 Plus Gold certification, the purpose of the G Series is to reduce the retail cost to reach as wide an audience as possible. The G Series 360W is not a modular design and the company have managed to aggressively target the budget audience with an entry level asking price of only £46.99 inc VAT.

Special features:

  • 80 Plus Gold Certified.
  • DC to DC Converter Design.
  • Tight Voltage Regulation.
  • Smart & Silent Fan Control.
  • 12cm Ball Bearing Cooling Fan.
  • Ultra Ventilation.
  • High Current Gold Plated Terminal.
  • Conductive Polymer Aluminum Solid Capacitors.
  • High Reliable 105C Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors.
  • 5 year warranty.
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Seasonic G Series 360W Power Supply Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
28 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 24 28 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

6 Comments
  • Uriel
    September 20, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I do have to say, this is a good design, but I cant see any enthusiast opting for a 360W power supply. it is a common misconception that we need 750W or higher. I bought a 20 quid power meter and my system takes 150W at the wall under load. ive a 550W in mine, its running at a very low efficiency load. with this power supply it would be almost 50% load, so peak.

    Its food for thought.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eran
    September 20, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Really interesting to see Seasonic aiming at this market. id like to see a review of the 550W or 650W too. coming?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian
    September 20, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    this is an ideal choice for my media center build. thanks.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stephen Rimington
    September 25, 2012
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    do you sell these in Australia or much will the cost to be sent over they look awsome

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Daren
    October 10, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This is perfect for a typical system with a 2500k/3570k + 7850 or 650 ti. Would actually be better than using a higher wattage psu as it would peak at around 50 percent load when gaming.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • My hardware choice « My freebsd home server/NAS
    January 20, 2013
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] on big load…, so I would need a psu proviing between 200 and 300W max… I choose this : Seasonic G-Series G-360 – 360W it seems stable, reliable for 24/7… Be carefull.. there are only 4 SATA and 5 MOLEX [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives