OCUK Prodigy Arctic Gaming System Review

Review Score:
136 Flares 136 Flares ×

The Bitfenix Prodigy has proven one of the most popular enthusiast cases, when we reviewed it in June this year it took our top award. Building on the success of the Prodigy, Overclockers UK decided to devote a whole gaming range to the Mini ITX wondercase. Today we are looking at the higher specified Prodigy Arctic Gaming system from Overclockers, with a starting price around a thousand pounds.

Overclockers have a huge following in the UK – they sell a plethora of components and they also build their own systems. While purist enthusiast users will surely look horrified, there are plenty of people who don’t have the time, or skill set to build their own own gaming rig.

The company offer a variety of configurations which you can see over here. If you opt of the free software, operating system and are happy with a low profile HD5450 then the asking price drops to £980.00. Not really a ‘Gaming system’ but perfectly suited for high definition media duties.

Our configuration today includes the high end KFA2 GTX680 LTD OC V2 graphics card and Windows 7 Home Premium 64 BIT OEM for £1,463.99 inc vat.

System Specification

  • Case: Bitfenix Prodigy Mini ITX Case – White
  • Power Supply: OCZ ZS 750W PSU
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.40GHz Ivybridge Processor overclocked to a staggering 4.20GHz
  • Motherboard: ASRock Z77E-ITX Intel Z77 (Socket 1155) DDR3 mini ITX Motherboard
  • Cooler: Antec 920 Kuhler CPU Cooler
  • RAM: Corsair Vengeance White 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit
  • Hard Drive: OCZ Agility 3 240GB SSD & 1TB HDD
  • Graphics Card: Choice of DX11 Compatible Graphics Cards
  • Sound: High Definition 7.1 Onboard Sound Card
  • Optical Drive: LG Blu-Ray Reader / DVD±RW Drive – OEM
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
OCUK Prodigy Arctic Gaming System Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
136 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 3 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 133 136 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

8 Comments
  • Dannie
    October 10, 2012
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I love this case and nice system from OCUK too. id opt for a cheaper GFX though.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren
    October 10, 2012
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nah. not for me. the case is really easy to break, my mate broke his by liftning it!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harris
    October 10, 2012
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    great idea and looks fab, im interested, but would aim a little lower up the pecking order on GPU side of it.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    October 10, 2012
    #4
    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Warren, what do you mean he broke it by lifting it? did something snap?

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Warren
    October 10, 2012
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ Zardon – he built a system into the prodigy with a large CPU cooler, lifted it with the front handle a few days later and the handle snapped cleanly in the middle.

    He was gutted. id love to know if this happens on a regular basis with ‘heavy’ system builds inside this case.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davis
    October 10, 2012
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Detailed review, thanks.

    I like the build myself. I can deal with noise, I normally game with headphones on anyway. idle/general noise results look good.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Xtreme
    October 10, 2012
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Id rather b uild a system myself, its a lot of the fun!”

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rayhan
    October 10, 2012
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    DEFINITELY NEEDS CABLE MANAGEMENT!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives