Steelseries Siberia V2 Headset (special red edition) review

Review Score:
7 Flares 7 Flares ×

Steelseries … without even seeing the product in question, the name alone gives an immediate feeling of quality. Rightly so, because for the last few years they have been producing some of the finest gaming equipment on the market.

The Siberia was a popular full size headset which won many awards across the globe and today we are taking a somewhat belated look at the follow up, Version 2. The new revision features enhancements in sound quality, both with headpieces and microphone – further improvements have been made in regards to comfort. The Siberia V2 has been designed from the ground up with primary focus on professional gaming, one of the most demanding markets.

The Sibera V2 has 25 percent larger driver units (50mm) and there has been a boost to ‘overall acoustic performance’. Steelseries say “Experience a rich and detailed soundscape from immersive atmospheric background music to precise 3D positional sounds of footsetps, gunfire and more.”

Features

  • Closed type headphones
  • Pull-out microphone
  • Crystal clear high, low and mid-tones
  • 50mm driver units
  • Lightweight suspension construction
  • Integrated volume control located on the cord

Specifications

Headphones

  • Frequency response: 10 – 28.000 Hz
  • Impedance: 32 Ohm
  • SPL@1kHz, 1Vrms: 112 dB
  • Cable length: 1,0 m + 2,0 m = 3,0 m / 9,84 ft.
  • Jack: 3,5 mm

Microphone

  • Frequency response: 50 – 16.000 Hz
  • Pick up pattern: Uni-directional
  • Sensitivity: -38 dB
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
    Steelseries Siberia V2 Headset (special red edition) review, 3.7 out of 5 based on 3 ratings
    7 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 7 Email -- Facebook 0 7 Flares ×

    Page : 1 2 3 4 5

23 Comments
  • Horrace
    June 5, 2010
    #1
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I wouldnt buy gaming headphones, but in red these do look very nice indeed. I hate the white ones.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    June 5, 2010
    #2
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I hear these are good, and nice to see the review verifying it. I dont use headphones for gaming, prefer my creative speakers, but at night they would be handy

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K
    June 5, 2010
    #3
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Bit expensive for gaming headphones are they not ? seem good though.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • death dealer
    June 5, 2010
    #4
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Very nice, and yes they are expensive, but steelseries always are, its a quality brand name,. also pay more. My logitech head phones suck ass, might look into a set of these if my local store can get them in

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo Smith
    June 5, 2010
    #5
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Already have the first set, not sure if the second is worth upgrading to, I dont actually use the mic much !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave
    June 5, 2010
    #6
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shit, that is weird, I ordered a set of these yesterday, I was dreading clicking the link to find out they sucked. phew ! great review thanks. not so sure about comparing them against a headset at 900 quid ! thats different!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek
    June 5, 2010
    #7
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Wow that red photographed well didnt it? they look really very nice indeed. my girlfriend liked them. not sure if thats a good thing.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • James
    June 5, 2010
    #8
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    man this captcha post comment thing does my head in, fourth time lucky.

    Nice REview ! thanks ! lol

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Craig Urban
    June 5, 2010
    #9
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I dont see why these would be a good purchase, I would want an all round set of great quality phones for music etc. While the red is nice, I cant see myself walked around with these on my head. id get beat up !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    June 5, 2010
    #10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I hope they pay you well for all these reviews Z! Nice headset, good testing, nice to see a reference set at big money being used as the ‘goalpost’ nice idea. hard to compare or review if you dont know any better, right? love the thinking

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trey Kewl
    June 5, 2010
    #11
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    can you review the Grados too? ive love to hear about those, way out of my price point but they look amasing

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tajmin Rakim
    June 5, 2010
    #12
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have been trying to order a set of these into india for months, its not possible :(

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond Tribble
    June 5, 2010
    #13
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Almost £100, a lot of cash for gaming headphones. but they seem to be pretty good. Id need a set for music too, and as its moslyt MP3s, these should do the trick.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Daz
    June 5, 2010
    #14
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    wow I didnt know they made these in red, ive read a few reviews on them before, but that white is terrible.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wayne
    June 5, 2010
    #15
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    mmmm, the first set had a terrible mic idea and you could hear so much background noise on the other side, is this set considerably better with the mic quality?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    June 5, 2010
    #16
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yes the microphone on the new revision is much better, and its more versatile also in the design. no more clip idea. which wasn’t great.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Wayne
    June 5, 2010
    #17
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Thanks Zardon, ill order a set next week once I get money back from my friend, which he owes me. I need a new pair

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe
    June 5, 2010
    #18
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice review, great photos too, that red is intense.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Francois LeBon
    June 5, 2010
    #19
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Boy I wish I hadn’t bought my last microsoft set now after reading this, they are not good at all. avoid :(

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev
    June 5, 2010
    #20
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Why would Steelseries not use braided cables? seems like a bad idea for long term use? thats bad.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon
    June 5, 2010
    #21
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I don’t think braided is ‘that big of a deal’ – sure its nicer, but I doubt these would break within many many years of use.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rambo
    June 5, 2010
    #22
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Nice color, the attention to detail seems high. BUt the cost is also. $60 is my limit unfortunately. They should make a cheaper version :) ‘lite’ – remove things like the volume and mute box. make them plain black, cut out cable extension etc. drop the price

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 6/7/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!
    June 7, 2010
    #23
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] AudioEagle Tech Arion ET-AR506-BK @ TweaknewsSteelseries Siberia V2 Headset Red Special Edition @ KitGuru [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives