Dell XPS 8300 Review (Core i5/Nvidia)

Review Score:
3 Flares 3 Flares ×

Life in 2011 is hectic, and we don’t all have the time or skills necessary to build a PC from the ground up. There are many system makers in the UK, but Dell are assuredly one of the biggest, offering a huge range of solutions to suit every desire and budget. Today we are looking at the compact, yet stylish XPS 8300 – a performance range which operates alongside their ultra high end Alienware series.

The XPS 8300 can be configured with a wide range of hardware and the system we are reviewing today ships with the very capable Intel Core i5 2500, Bluray drive, a generous 2TB of storage and includes an Nvidia GTX560 ti for high resolution gaming demands.

With a price starting at £429, it certainly won’t break the bank. Our review sample has been significantly enhanced when compared to the entry level specification however.

XPS 8300 Review machine:

Processor: Intel Core i5 2500 (3.30ghz)
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1333mhz
Graphics Card: Nvidia GTX560 ti
Optical: BluRay Drive
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit)
Storage: 2TB Hard Drive configured in RAID 0 ‘stripe’ (2x1TB 7,200rpm)

We priced our specific build at around £1,329.00 inc vat.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Dell XPS 8300 Review (Core i5/Nvidia), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
3 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 1 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 1 3 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

  • Brooke

    It looks great, but the upgrades ruin the price. at £500-700 its a good deal, but I would have to get a GFX for it myself and fit it. their tool is ludicrous.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Uriel

    It is a common problem with many companies including Apple. They release a standard build which offers good value, then by the time you add all the cool bits, the price is over the odds.

    I do like this computer too, but for £1,300 there are better systems available, and most of them include a monitor too !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Heath

    I bought one of these last week for my parents. I didnt include the RAID 0 or the graphics card and the price was good. They love it, and its ideal for their living room. It is very small.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vic

    When I saw £429 I thought, wow thats good., then saw the spec and the final price and almost fainted.

    If they included a 24 inch screen it would still seem very expensive, without a monitor its ridiculous.

    it is a nice system and the review shows the good parts, but I could build it better and for £500 less. It only has a one year warranty as standard too, which is pretty stingy.

    Im not against Dell, but people who know a lot more about computers dont like their pricing system, its almost as bad as Apples

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter

    over £1300 without a screen and and SSD. WTF.

    6 out of 10 for this. I dont care if its quiet or small. Its way overpriced. The scoring on Kitguru is generally too high. I dont mind the system, but it cant get 8 out of 10 at over £1,300! I could get a high spec gaming laptop for this price!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    I really like seeing these reviews because I am sure others, like me can’t build a PC. part of the price is for support too. Its important for people like me to know they will be looked after.

    I have bought Dell systems for 10 years and I have never had a problem. I would buy these also if I had the budget right now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Thomas

    Its a hell of a nice looking PC, especially for Dell. However, and its a big however. what is up with the price?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • JY

    Why do you have a drop-down box to change pages on a review? This is extremely irritating and it doesn’t seem to be designed to force users to see more ads. So…why?

    Also why use unspecific language such as “several” when you can be exact? We are looking at a picture that obviously shows TWO USB ports on the front of the case, and you write “…panel which holds hides several USB ports.” Again, why?

    Other than that, thanks for including the extra information, especially the exact specs of the power supply.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

How much would you pay for a gaming mouse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives