Amazon Kindle 3 Review (with leather light cover)

Review Score:
0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Since the Apple iPad was released, the tablet sector has been a thriving hotbed of news and discussion. Market leaders such as Research In Motion, Samsung, Sharp are developing new tablets to target this lucrative market. On the ‘monochrome’ side however, the battle has been just as intense and recently one of the most awaited devices has been released in the UK – The new Amazon ebook reader, entitled The Kindle 3. The levels of demand have been that high that many people are having to wait several weeks before one can be shipped.

I have admitted to owning an iPad, I have also said I use it on a daily basis – I am probably one of the few ‘PC centric press’ who really rate it highly as a fantastic all round device. There is one form of media it doesn’t excel with however, and that is E-Books. This is not an Apple specific problem … backlit screens can cause significant eyestrain, especially when reading fine text over a period of several hours. The fact I am not getting any younger probably only compounds the matter. E-Ink technology is easily the best way to read text on a portable device.

kindletrio Amazon Kindle 3 Review (with leather light cover)

The Kindle 3 eReader has received much publicity in recent months and a recent ad campaign targeted the iPad with a particular focus on problems associated with the ‘glossy screen’.

Amazon are also aiming to target the largest possible audience with a very modest price tag of £109 with Wi-Fi or £149 with Wifi and 3G – even the delivery is free. This is going to be an affordable product for even those on a tighter budget.

Size: 190 mm x 123 mm x 8.5 mm
Weight: 241 grams
Colours: Graphite

Display:

  • Technology: E-ink Electronic paper display
  • Resolution 600 x 800 pixel at 167 ppi
  • Size: 6.0-inches (diagonal)
  • Colours 16 shades of Grey
  • Reads just like ordinary paper
  • Manual Screen Rotation: Portrait or Landscape view
  • Adjustable text size 8 sizes
  • Adjustable font style 3 styles
  • Zoom images to full display size
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Amazon Kindle 3 Review (with leather light cover), 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
0 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Eric K

    I have ordered the 3G version of this 2 weeks ago. still waiting on delivery :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sam

    I want to get one of these for christmas now. I used to read a lot of books, but I never make the time anymore. its sad :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim

    Very good indeed. I like the interface system on this one better than the sony unit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    My friend has the DX, the V2. and its great, but I found the text a little weak. great to see them boosting the contrast with this one.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kern

    Not for me, I hate books, but it looks well developed. the kindle 2 was quite big looking, ipad size really. too cumbersome for travelling.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    Nice design and you can tell its a revision 3 as they have fixed a lot of the stupid design issues.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Steve

    Been interested in this product for a while, more as a gift for my father than for myself. It looks really well done. very cheap too, the sony products were released at three times this price initially.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Meta licker

    Would love this, but I bought the V2 last month, bad move I know, but its pretty good. I am tempted though for the added contrast levels as this is the one part of it I dont like. in daylight I have to strain sometimes to read.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • John David

    arrrghhh im sick of tablets! Donjt like kindles at all.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Howdy there

    Ordered one last week in the UK. I didnt like the sony tablet review here last month as I saw it and the screen is a reflective mess. this is what I want ! thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    my girl has the original kindle and its time for an upgrade. Guess ill have to buy it ;)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Robert

    the reviewer needs to point out that the amazon book store has over half a million books for download and that they are often only a few pounds each. the Apple store is terrible for books and they are often 4 times the price ! the stephen fry book for instance was 16 quid on itunes, and 9 dollars on amazon.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pascal

    This gets my vote as gadget of 2010.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rufus Wainwright

    Would never leave home without mine

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    I already have one of these for reading PDF documentation for work. and I love it.

    I need to get the light leather cover though after reading this. brilliant addition.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom

    Id love to know a percentage of people on KitGuru who would use this. I dont think the active gaming/enthusiast audience read many books anymore. its refreshing to see these reviews here though, just not sure a high percentage appeal to this product.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    I would think a lot of people read books, even still. At least I would like to hope so. food for the brain. I read a book a week. even with a busy lifestyle both in work and at home.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.ebook-reader-advisor.com/kindle-3.html Tommy

    I received mine 4 months ago, really satified with it. Also had the kindle 2 but the screen of the kindle 3 is decent ad offers sharper and clearer text.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives