ROCCAT Pyra Wireless USB Gaming Mouse (& Sota Surface) Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

These days it seems every manufacturer is trying to get into the gaming peripheral market including the likes of Thermaltake and Corsair.  But there are some brands, like ROCCAT and SteelSeries that have much more experience in the sector and have been producing gaming peripherals for a number of years now.

Today we are going to look at ROCCAT’s latest gaming mouse, the Pyra, which can either be used via USB or wireless.  It’s sized and specced for gamers on the move so we look forward to how it performs.  ROCCAT have also sent us a Sota gaming surface to test with the Pyra.

Features

  • WIRELESS USB GAMING MOUSE with 1000Hz polling rate and 1ms response time
  • EASYSHIFT[+] BUTTON DUPLICATOR button duplication for 6 additional functions
  • MOTION BLUE-OPTIC SENSOR 400dpi to 1600dpi for optimum precision
  • ON-THE-FLY CHARGING VIA THE USB CABLE nano receiver stowable in the mouse
  • REST AND DEEP-SLEEP MODES for a longer battery life
  • WIDE, NON-SLIP MOUSEWHEEL excellent grip and distinctive notch positions
  • FOR NOTEBOOK GAMERS for any sized hand, whether left or right
  • ROCCAT GRIPTECH featuring stabilizing, non-slip side grips
  • MACRO MANAGER create complex command sequences

Technical specifications

  • 5 mouse buttons + mousewheel
  • EasyShift[+]: up to 12 functions at any one time
  • 1600dpi optical gaming sensor
  • 130ips maximum speed
  • 1000Hz polling rate
  • 30Gs of acceleration

Further Information

Mouse dimensions: 9.5cm x 6cm (LxW)
Mouse weight: Approx. 90g (excluding cable and batteries)
System Requirements: Windows XP/Windows Vista®/Windows 7 USB 1.1 Port CD-ROM drive
Package Contents: ROCCAT Pyra – Mobile Wireless Gaming Mouse

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
ROCCAT Pyra Wireless USB Gaming Mouse (& Sota Surface) Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

9 Comments
  • Raymond
    September 29, 2010
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That software looks great. very stylish looking. logitech need to improve theirs.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tim
    September 29, 2010
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    The price is certainly good, ill say that. has stiff competition on the market right now however.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jerry
    September 29, 2010
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I like their mice, I used one in an event over here recently and was surprised how good the ‘feel’ was. These guys deserve to do well. hopefully we see more reviews over here of their products.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank
    September 29, 2010
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Henry, could you let me know what you think of the build quality overall, compared to say a logitech mouse? is it comparible or weaker?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan
    September 29, 2010
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    left handers might like that, looks like a mirror design, or close.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Colin McConnigle
    September 29, 2010
    #6
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I am really tempted with this, the price is much lower than say a steelseries, if the quality is as good as you say.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger
    September 29, 2010
    #7
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I have one of their older products and its still in good shape, I would say these are built just as good as logitech. I will never forget my G7 falling apart. even the cord frayed. Never again. ill stick to steelseries and these guys.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brooke
    September 29, 2010
    #8
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Never heard of them before, but I found their website,. cant believe id never heard of them.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jordan
    September 29, 2010
    #9
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I haven’t heard of Roccat until few months ago (maybe already an year?) when I read a review about their 5.1 headset (Kave)…

    I was so interested so I bought the Kave and … damn, what a nice headset! so now I’m waiting for my keyboard/mouse to die so I can check theirs… :D

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives