Home / Software & Gaming / Nintendo will celebrate Pokémon Day with a 7-minute Direct presentation

Nintendo will celebrate Pokémon Day with a 7-minute Direct presentation

Update (27/02/19): Nintendo unveiled Pokemon Sword and Shield, the upcoming 8th generation pegged for release “Late 2019.”

Original story (26/02/19): Pokémon Day lands on February 27th every year, prompting The Pokémon Company to celebrate the release of the original Red & Green in Japan. Alongside a special event in Pokémon Go, Nintendo will be holding a 7-minute Direct livestream with promises of “new information.”

Spin-off games Pokémon Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee debuted in November, 2018, acting as a loose remake of the first-generation title, Pokémon Yellow. Both entries mixed things up a little, replacing core capture mechanics with elements found in the modern smartphone adaptation Pokémon Go, however a mainline game was announced for the Nintendo Switch back in 2017.

Nintendo and The Pokémon Company have remained tight lipped on the project since its E3 reveal, which didn’t even tease a title card like the similarly elusive Metroid Prime 4. Despite this, it was revealed to be a fully-fledged role-playing experience akin to other core entries, with an expected release in the latter half of 2019.

Of course, Nintendo hasn’t confirmed what will be arriving in the Pokémon Direct presentation, but it’s a safe bet that we will at least learn something about the upcoming Switch version. The Direct will air on Wednesday February 27, at 6:00 PT / 9:00 ET / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET, which translates to 1:00 AET on February 28.

KitGuru Says: I didn’t particularly enjoy the Sun & Moon series, so I do hope that the Nintendo Switch version offers something a little different. What do you want to see revealed in tomorrow’s Direct?

Become a Patron!

Check Also

Leaked screenshots give us a look at what Left 4 Dead 3 could have been

Over the years, there have been plenty of leaks hinting towards the existence of Left …