Coolit Vantage Advanced Liquid Cooler Review

Review Score:
2 Flares 2 Flares ×

With the vast selection of coolers on the market today it is hard to know which model to purchase. Will an £18 Thermaltake Contac 29 do the job or do you really need to spend over £60 on a Noctua NH D14 ? To make matters even more confusing there are some ‘all in one’ liquid cooling solutions from Corsair and Coolit, which offer low noise levels and high performance with small CPU mounting blocks.

We recently looked at the Coolit ECO, an excellent cooler which combined low cost with good cooling prowess, and today we are going to be reviewing the Vantage A.L.C. - a unit with enhanced functionality and programmable performance levels.

As with all Coolit liquid cooling units, the Vantage comes pre assembled and filled so its a simple case of ‘plug and play’.

Specifications:

CoolIT CPU FHE (Fluid Heat Exchanger)
Copper Micro-Channel

Universal Retention System
Out of the box support provided
for Intel 775, 1156, 1366 and
AMD AM2, AM2+, AM3 sockets.

CoolIT Pump
Quiet, compact, long life Ceramic bearing CFF1 pump
Life Cycle: 50,000 Hours MTTF

CoolIT Coolant
CoolIT Systems low toxicity with anticorrosion/anti fungal additives

CoolIT Radiator
Custom engineered for low noise high heat dissipation

CoolIT Fan
High reliability, Quiet 12V
Speed: 1100 – 2,500 RPM (low to high regulation)

CoolIT CPU Thermal Grease
CoolIT Systems Pro A.T.C. (Advanced Thermal Compound)

CoolIT Fan Node
Three standard 3 or 4 pin fan headers that can auto detect a variety of third-party fans. Integrated Red-Green LED as well as an external RGB LED header and one temperature sensor header allowing for remote temperature detection.

Operations Modes (User Selectable)
Three cooling performance modes quiet, performance, and full.

CoolIT 2 Year Manufacturer Warranty

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
2 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 2 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 2 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6

  • Sam

    As always Zardon, wicked overclocking skills :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    nice overclocking on a locked processor. I saw one site saying it sucked compared to 980X and they struggled to hit 4ghz!

    Good product, if a little costly.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    I love this product, the LED screen is worth the 50 quid !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    My friend had a domino, it leaked, but its good to see the build quality has improved.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tom

    Nice idea of including the CPUZ verifications, ive often wondered how you did it, but clearly you have mad skilzz

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eric K

    Wow that is such an awesome looking product, thanks for including the videos lately they really help spice the content up. Lovely chassis that, fell in love with it at the weekend.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Davey Jones

    If you’re building yourself, then the Noctua and Frio still look like great options.
    But they put an awful amount of weight on a mainboard and at 90 degrees.
    This kind of water cooling might not be the best at cooling in the market, but it’s probably the safest way to get a strong OC without risking a problem during shipment.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • faith

    Thanks to everyone for the positive comments!

    When it comes overclocking, Zardon was cutting his teeth in the XtremeSystems.org forum when most of the world’s long-haired-lurkers were still in nappies :)

    Unfortunately skill, experience and patience are not available in Primark.

    Zardon’s in the minority that forces the hardware to his way of thinking. I’m with the great majority of people who just can’t do it :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Timothy Newton

    Fantastic review and this looks to be a very impressive product, love the video showing all the options.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Death Dealer

    Domino was terrible, but it was a good novelty item at the time, i read threads on anandtech with people’s systems destroyed! It would make me wonder if this is ok long term but I trust Zardon as he has helped me build my last 3 systems. Great review, but that goes without saying.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gareth Hamburg

    I just ordered one, I hope its as good as you say.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Red Rooster

    The fact you managed to get a core i7 970 to 4.5ghz is rather impressive. most of the main stream press can barely get a 980X to this. kudos Mr Z.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rog The Man

    Im probably one of the few people who knows his secret name on xtremesystems :) guy used to lead the charts in the old days. much respect Z :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Forest

    id buy that for a dollar. well 180 of them :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance

    Shit that 970 processor isnt as bad as I thought. everyone says its a waste of money, but clearly if you got the right motherboard (kudos MSI) and the right man on the case (Z) then the results are up there with the 980x!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dorkmeister

    Wish you made systems and id buy them. nice product, looks brilliant in a case like that lian li. love it. just a bit much dosh for me

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bobby Bricklayer

    Very impressive product. id rather have it than the noctua NH D14 for all the reasons Zardon listed in the conclusion. I bet that hurt though, he seems married to noctua

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joe

    damn, that is sexy. it really is. shame the LED aspect is ramping up the price so much, 105 quid for a cooler is almost as bad as paying 250 for the corsair ax1200. makes for a very expensive system build.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Flo

    Top review, nice product, well done coolit.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad

    drop the price by 30 and id buy it, its too much cash for what you get right now.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek Fyl

    I would buy this, but I need to get a CPU first. probably pick up a 1055T cheap here.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hung like a baby elephant

    I already bought one of these last week and im very impressed. im embarassed to say I havent tried overclocking yet, but if I can get close to 4ghz with my 920 ill be happy.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dax

    It is a lot of money to part with for a cooler, but it seems not too far off the Noctua NH D14 but without the massive bulk. thats the only thing that puts me off that cooler. its bound to be a nightmare to fit, stress on the pcb. and getting near the mobo for other work? impossible. this looks to be ideal, if I can work out how to get the cash toghether

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fred

    Too rich for my blood, but my friend read this earlier and ordered one online,. hopefully it sucks :p (he is rich)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • long jumper

    How does this compare to H70, any review of H70 coming up Kitguru?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    I have had the h70 here a while, and testing is done, just need to get time to write it all up :)

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Vivian

    So this is better than H50 or much the same but over 100 quid? ilike the display, but once its set up does anyone really look at it all the time ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Paul Sheers

    50,000 hours life is good, that 5 years 24/7, or 10+ for most of us. will be on the next generation slots in 1 year, by 10 years these slots will all be long extinct!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Klaus Distorm (FR)

    I think its worth the money to be honest. NH D14 from noctua is clearly the best heatsink on the market but look at the downsides? the size for one. blocked ram slots, inability to get near half of the mobo. this is so small and not far from the performance levels.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Cameron Diaz is a hottie

    Great review, video sold me when I saw it in operation. selling my left kidney on ebay as we speak.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeff

    All hail the Z – 4.8ghz on a 875K and 4.6ghz on a locked 970. 4.45ghz usable. :)

    **bows**

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Zardon aint that good

    Zardon I dont believe this will hit 4.5ghz, I bet this is the CPU right at the limit, no way it hits 4.6ghz.

    Show me a CPUZ vailidation with the CPU over 4.5ghz and ill eat my hat.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Zardon

    What hat are you going to eat? http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1358922

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    OMG pawned. I just pissed myself. anyone else? haha

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan

    Comedy hour on KG, love it :)

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • fluffychicken

    mwahahahahahahahahaha.

    (good review).

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Darren Roth

    lol.

    Hey good review, im tempted to pick one of these up for my new Core i7. thanks!

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sarasparella

    very good review – seems like a good product

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry

    4.44ghz stable with an entry level liquid cooling unit. thats hella impressive. Coolit have clearly delivered the goods this time.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • David

    very nice indeed. very enjoyable to read, that screen Coolit made is a brilliant idea. the rotation options are inspired.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fisshy

    Nice review Z. Seems a lil’ Expensive but it sure looks worth the money… are we going to see a head to head with the H70?

    Brilliant OC on the 970. Best I’ve Ever seen, I bow to your Overclocking prowess.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD Size for you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives