XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review

Review Score:
13 Flares 13 Flares ×

XFX. Those three letters immediately conjure visions of video gaming excellence – especially when you delve into their high end product range. Without doubt, along with Sapphire, XFX have been producing some of the finest graphics cards on the market over the last decade.

Today we have the chance to look at something rather special from them – their latest high end card, the HD 5870 Black Edition. Now when you say HD5870, XFX and Black Edition together you can be assured that the product in your hands is going to happily devour the frame rate of any game you throw at it. The card is a 1GB model with a 900mhz Core clock and the GDDR5 memory runs at 5Gbps.

Let’s keep ramping the tension because the card on test today is not only massively overclocked, but it features a new cooling and fan system which aims to not only reduce temperatures, but also to lower noise.

We put the card through its paces today and as we all like a quieter, cooler gaming experience we focus on the proprietary cooler system. If you already have a HD 5870 we also look at the benefits over a reference card.

As A Black Edition Member – XFX customers receive the following benefits:

  • Priority Technical Support – 5 Star Black – Actual live support in realtime, with dedicated XFX staff.
  • Invitations to members only events
  • Members only Product Offers (The 5870 Black will be offered exclusively to Black Edition members first)
  • Exclusive XFX Premium Gift
  • Exclusive Information on XFX (Hear it first)
  • Exclusive competitions
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings
13 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 13 13 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

40 Comments
  • alek
    May 13, 2010
    #1
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    The first comment is mine. Outstanding review and the first one I’ve read till now about this great card

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Steve
    May 13, 2010
    #2
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    damn Zardon – thats a mega review. Your old site really misses you. Thanks, first of this ive seen online. Bit out of my price range but good reading!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance
    May 13, 2010
    #3
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Damn damn damn, very sexy cooler. I want

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lukee
    May 13, 2010
    #4
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Nice to see Far Cry 2 in the mix, missed that game, might play it again. nice review guys thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Percy
    May 13, 2010
    #5
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    XFX are wicked – I like them and Sapphire, although eVGA are good too. Its always good to see coolers being used by these companies who make the effort. reference coolers tend to suck ass.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon
    May 13, 2010
    #6
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Bookmarked the site, I just follow you wereever you go Z man !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan Singleton
    May 13, 2010
    #7
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is quite expensive but when you look at the price, only £40 more than the reference one, it makes sense. some people pay more for an arctic cooling one. Great review as always Zardon, nice to see you back in action, missed your quality reviews

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mike
    May 13, 2010
    #8
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Shit is this site only up a week? wtf, do you not sleep? What a wicked review, been waiting for this card as I dont like saphire and have had some issues with support

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mia
    May 13, 2010
    #9
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Hey Zardon, nice to see you over here !!! bookmarked the site, love the layout! always know your touch !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeremy
    May 13, 2010
    #10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    XFX make good cards but I had one fail on me recently which was annoying. They looked after me though so cant complain I guess.

    this is probably my next card, once I sell my own. Any ideas on availabilty?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eddonny
    May 13, 2010
    #11
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    XFX have always released good products and their stylish approach is always a little ‘extra’ for me, as they seem to go the extra mile. This is a nice card and I always am particularly interested in products with high quality coolers like this. Color me impressed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Tim Smalley
    May 13, 2010
    #12
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    It is very like the Sapphire Toxic model, as far as I can see the cooler is identical. nice job though

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Catalyst Lover
    May 13, 2010
    #13
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Who hooooooo – thanks for the review, been waiting for this for a while. very impressed with the temperatures.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek
    May 13, 2010
    #14
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I do like XFX but I tend to prefer Sapphire as they release their products earlier. I hope XFX can step up the release date, this still isnt out yet so it looses points from me.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brownieboy
    May 13, 2010
    #15
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well you can hardly hold that again XFX Derek. Sapphire are known to be AMD’s number 1 partner. and XFX produce nvidia cards so im positive that they get punished for that too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek
    May 13, 2010
    #16
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I am not saying its their fault, but there is no point having such a cool designed card if you cant buy it and Sapphire release a similar one months before it?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • brownieboy
    May 13, 2010
    #17
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Yes, I know, but the point im making is that Sapphire are firmly fighting in AMDs corner, they only sell AMD cards and XFX sell both ranges. The thing is if AMD have no good ranges out at a particular time then Sapphire cant fall back on nVidia cards to sell them. XFX play both fields and therfore some penalities will always happen.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • derek
    May 13, 2010
    #18
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ok, but equally so wouldnt you think that if a problem occured that Sapphire would support it better? they only make one range of card and training a team on two complete ranges would cost more and probably lead to poorer support?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • brownieboy
    May 13, 2010
    #19
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Maybe, but I dont often need support for a video card. unless it dies and im well within my rights as a consumer to get it replaced ASAP. This really wont affect many people unless they need live customer support on something they dont know or are stupid.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • terrance
    May 13, 2010
    #20
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    THe more I read this the more impressed I am with performance. those temps are great too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eddonny
    May 13, 2010
    #21
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Are the catalyst drivers any better now than they were a year or 2 ago? it made me always want to kill myself

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Will Har.
    May 13, 2010
    #22
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Ho, Nice site, like it !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lucyintheskywithhardware
    May 13, 2010
    #23
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    mmmm, the end result seems fair, but a question. WHEN CAN I BUY THE BASTARD CARD !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rumplehumper
    May 13, 2010
    #24
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    For all the people prasing Sapphire, they can kiss my ass, my last card died just outside warranty and they just said “tough shit”. I can understand it i guess, but I have owned 4 sapphire cards. they can go play with emselves.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph AMD
    May 13, 2010
    #25
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well if its outside warranty, its outside warranty. its a little like a car part failing outside warranty, you cant expect to drive into BMW and get a new one.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • lucyintheskywithhardware
    May 13, 2010
    #26
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Well I think the point he was making was he felt that companies should really be seen to be more helpful to customers. if something just fails outside warranty and its major I don’t see why they can’t help him someway, even with a cheap deal to cover their own costs and keep the guy sweet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • evga fanboi
    May 13, 2010
    #27
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    This site is biased. I WANT EVGA REVIEWS they are the best

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon
    May 13, 2010
    #28
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Its only just opened a week, its hardly being biased they haven;t had the chance yet man

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • evga fanboi
    May 13, 2010
    #29
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Opened a week? rubbish, its been here ages.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  • Paul ipad
    May 13, 2010
    #30
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Had to post a big THANK YOU. I found this review and went to read it on my iPad thinking it wouldnt work. what a smooth experience on Apple and no bloody flash crap in the way anywhere. sent you an email, can we make paypal donations to keep this up?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • 5/13/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!
    May 13, 2010
    #31
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] CardsXFX Radeon HD 5870 Black Edition @ KitGuruSparkle GTS 250 Green Power Low Profile @ [...]

  • faith
    May 13, 2010
    #32
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    @ Jeremy: You are XFX’s target audience for this product. They want to sell to existing loyal customers first. Ping cont...@xfxforce.co.uk and see what they say… REMEMBER to send them a link to this review – so they know the ‘source of the goodness’ :)

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • News and Links for May 14th 2010
    May 14, 2010
    #33
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review @ Kitguru.net [...]

  • News for May 14th 2010 — dsmTechNews
    May 14, 2010
    #34
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review @ Kitguru.net [...]

  • GruntvillE » Friday evening hardware round-up
    May 15, 2010
    #35
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] Video Card @ Benchmark Reviews HIS Radeon HD 5570 1GB Graphics Card Video Review @ eTeknix.com XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review @ Kitguru.net Asus GTX 480 1.5GB vs Sapphire Toxic Radeon HD 5870 2GB @ [...]

  • Rika
    May 16, 2010
    #36
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    That’s a hell of a thorough review. Pretty much covered everything I would want to know. :) Glad to see attention paid to cooling.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Win 10 Copies of Aliens V Predator with [KG] & XFX | KitGuru
    May 18, 2010
    #37
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] acclaimed Alien V Predator DX11 game with some of their video cards such as the excellent HD5870 Black Edition which we reviewed a short while [...]

  • Zotac GTX 480 Review | KitGuru
    May 26, 2010
    #38
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review [...]

  • CV
    June 11, 2010
    #39
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I sure wish this thing would release for everyone else, my GTX 260 fried a few weeks ago, and I need a new card. Would love to at least have an ETA.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • MSI R5870 Lightning Review | KitGuru
    June 15, 2010
    #40
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    [...] The ATI HD5870 video card redefined high end gaming when it was released many months ago, taking the performance crown as the fastest single core solution on the market. Even though nVidia have knocked it off the number one perch with the GTX480, many enthusiasts still prefer the HD5870 thanks to the lower power drain and cooler temperatures. This has left the market wide open for a variety of enhanced cards from many manufacturers and we recently looked at several, such as the XFX HD5870 Black Edition. [...]

Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives