XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review

Review Score:
13 Flares 13 Flares ×

XFX. Those three letters immediately conjure visions of video gaming excellence – especially when you delve into their high end product range. Without doubt, along with Sapphire, XFX have been producing some of the finest graphics cards on the market over the last decade.

Today we have the chance to look at something rather special from them – their latest high end card, the HD 5870 Black Edition. Now when you say HD5870, XFX and Black Edition together you can be assured that the product in your hands is going to happily devour the frame rate of any game you throw at it. The card is a 1GB model with a 900mhz Core clock and the GDDR5 memory runs at 5Gbps.

Let’s keep ramping the tension because the card on test today is not only massively overclocked, but it features a new cooling and fan system which aims to not only reduce temperatures, but also to lower noise.

We put the card through its paces today and as we all like a quieter, cooler gaming experience we focus on the proprietary cooler system. If you already have a HD 5870 we also look at the benefits over a reference card.

As A Black Edition Member – XFX customers receive the following benefits:

  • Priority Technical Support – 5 Star Black – Actual live support in realtime, with dedicated XFX staff.
  • Invitations to members only events
  • Members only Product Offers (The 5870 Black will be offered exclusively to Black Edition members first)
  • Exclusive XFX Premium Gift
  • Exclusive Information on XFX (Hear it first)
  • Exclusive competitions
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
XFX HD5870 Black Edition Review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings
13 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 0 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 13 13 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

  • http://www.kitguru.net alek

    The first comment is mine. Outstanding review and the first one I’ve read till now about this great card

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Steve

    damn Zardon – thats a mega review. Your old site really misses you. Thanks, first of this ive seen online. Bit out of my price range but good reading!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terrance

    Damn damn damn, very sexy cooler. I want

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lukee

    Nice to see Far Cry 2 in the mix, missed that game, might play it again. nice review guys thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Percy

    XFX are wicked – I like them and Sapphire, although eVGA are good too. Its always good to see coolers being used by these companies who make the effort. reference coolers tend to suck ass.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon

    Bookmarked the site, I just follow you wereever you go Z man !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Stefan Singleton

    It is quite expensive but when you look at the price, only £40 more than the reference one, it makes sense. some people pay more for an arctic cooling one. Great review as always Zardon, nice to see you back in action, missed your quality reviews

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mike

    Shit is this site only up a week? wtf, do you not sleep? What a wicked review, been waiting for this card as I dont like saphire and have had some issues with support

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mia

    Hey Zardon, nice to see you over here !!! bookmarked the site, love the layout! always know your touch !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeremy

    XFX make good cards but I had one fail on me recently which was annoying. They looked after me though so cant complain I guess.

    this is probably my next card, once I sell my own. Any ideas on availabilty?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eddonny

    XFX have always released good products and their stylish approach is always a little ‘extra’ for me, as they seem to go the extra mile. This is a nice card and I always am particularly interested in products with high quality coolers like this. Color me impressed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Tim Smalley

    It is very like the Sapphire Toxic model, as far as I can see the cooler is identical. nice job though

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Catalyst Lover

    Who hooooooo – thanks for the review, been waiting for this for a while. very impressed with the temperatures.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek

    I do like XFX but I tend to prefer Sapphire as they release their products earlier. I hope XFX can step up the release date, this still isnt out yet so it looses points from me.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brownieboy

    Well you can hardly hold that again XFX Derek. Sapphire are known to be AMD’s number 1 partner. and XFX produce nvidia cards so im positive that they get punished for that too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Derek

    Well I am not saying its their fault, but there is no point having such a cool designed card if you cant buy it and Sapphire release a similar one months before it?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • brownieboy

    Yes, I know, but the point im making is that Sapphire are firmly fighting in AMDs corner, they only sell AMD cards and XFX sell both ranges. The thing is if AMD have no good ranges out at a particular time then Sapphire cant fall back on nVidia cards to sell them. XFX play both fields and therfore some penalities will always happen.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • derek

    Ok, but equally so wouldnt you think that if a problem occured that Sapphire would support it better? they only make one range of card and training a team on two complete ranges would cost more and probably lead to poorer support?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • brownieboy

    Maybe, but I dont often need support for a video card. unless it dies and im well within my rights as a consumer to get it replaced ASAP. This really wont affect many people unless they need live customer support on something they dont know or are stupid.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • terrance

    THe more I read this the more impressed I am with performance. those temps are great too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Eddonny

    Are the catalyst drivers any better now than they were a year or 2 ago? it made me always want to kill myself

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Will Har.

    Ho, Nice site, like it !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Lucyintheskywithhardware

    mmmm, the end result seems fair, but a question. WHEN CAN I BUY THE BASTARD CARD !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Rumplehumper

    For all the people prasing Sapphire, they can kiss my ass, my last card died just outside warranty and they just said “tough shit”. I can understand it i guess, but I have owned 4 sapphire cards. they can go play with emselves.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph AMD

    Well if its outside warranty, its outside warranty. its a little like a car part failing outside warranty, you cant expect to drive into BMW and get a new one.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • lucyintheskywithhardware

    Well I think the point he was making was he felt that companies should really be seen to be more helpful to customers. if something just fails outside warranty and its major I don’t see why they can’t help him someway, even with a cheap deal to cover their own costs and keep the guy sweet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • evga fanboi

    This site is biased. I WANT EVGA REVIEWS they are the best

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jon

    Its only just opened a week, its hardly being biased they haven;t had the chance yet man

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • evga fanboi

    Opened a week? rubbish, its been here ages.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  • Paul ipad

    Had to post a big THANK YOU. I found this review and went to read it on my iPad thinking it wouldnt work. what a smooth experience on Apple and no bloody flash crap in the way anywhere. sent you an email, can we make paypal donations to keep this up?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: 5/13/2010 Daily Hardware Reviews « Hardware « Tech news combined!

  • faith

    @ Jeremy: You are XFX’s target audience for this product. They want to sell to existing loyal customers first. Ping cont...@xfxforce.co.uk and see what they say… REMEMBER to send them a link to this review – so they know the ‘source of the goodness’ :)

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  • Pingback: News and Links for May 14th 2010

  • Pingback: News for May 14th 2010 — dsmTechNews

  • Pingback: GruntvillE » Friday evening hardware round-up

  • Rika

    That’s a hell of a thorough review. Pretty much covered everything I would want to know. :) Glad to see attention paid to cooling.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Win 10 Copies of Aliens V Predator with [KG] & XFX | KitGuru

  • Pingback: Zotac GTX 480 Review | KitGuru

  • CV

    I sure wish this thing would release for everyone else, my GTX 260 fried a few weeks ago, and I need a new card. Would love to at least have an ETA.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: MSI R5870 Lightning Review | KitGuru

Polls

Which mouse for gaming?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives