G.Skill Sniper DDR3 8GB 1600mhz 1.25v (SR2) Memory review

Review Score:
8 Flares 8 Flares ×

Recently G.Skill announced their latest Sniper memory which is designed specifically for PC gamers and system modders. They have underwent extensive compatibility tests to ensure high performance operation on a variety of Intel and AMD platforms.

This new Sniper series is a new ultra low voltage design which runs at 1.25v, saving power over the course of a year, while reducing emitted heat.

We are looking today at the 8GB kit (2x4GB) which is sure to on the shortlist of many enthusiast gamers looking for an upgrade.

Our kit on review today is the last in this list, available in 8GB/12GB/16GB and 24GB capacities. The timings are set at 9-9-9-24 @ 1.25volts.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
G.Skill Sniper DDR3 8GB 1600mhz 1.25v (SR2) Memory review, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
8 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 7 8 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

5 Comments
  • Seth
    April 12, 2011
    #1
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really value the fact that they are dropping voltages on memory, its long overdue and I applaud them for doing it

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad
    April 12, 2011
    #2
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really dig the heatspreader design, im not a fan of the giant kingston ones, its too restrictive now, no need for it.

    lets hope they all get performance memory down to these voltages, will help reduce heatspreaders design also.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garry
    April 12, 2011
    #3
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    I really think this is a great kit and better than the kingston stuff you reviewed last week. lower voltage, better OC, smaller heatsinks. Id like to see a review of a 3 way 4GB kit (12GB) for X58.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mark
    April 12, 2011
    #4
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Garry, only thing is with three sticks in the mix, the OC can be worse. would be interesting to read though, even though I dont have X58

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ned
    April 12, 2011
    #5
    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

    Good kit, the prices lately are brilliant, 80 quid for 8GB of DDR3. Its bound to go up soon with Japan though.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Leave a Reply:



 

Polls

As i51 kicks off, how often do you game on a PC?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
*
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives