Enermax Revolution 85+ 1020W Power Supply Review

Review Score:
1 Flares 1 Flares ×

Every enthusiast knows the Revolution 85+ series of Power Supplies from Enermax, they have been winning awards across the globe for many years. With a lethal combination of performance and efficiency the original 1250W Revolution 85+ powered many of our high end review systems across a 2 year time period.

Enermax have decided to revisit the Revolution 85+ series with two new models, the ERV920EWT/ ERV1020EWT (920,1020 watt respectively). What is most interesting however is that Enermax have dropped the prices with a new compact PCB design taking centerstage. The old 950W model for instance retailed at 295 euros and the new 920W is selling for 260 euros.

The model we are looking at today is the 1020W which is set to replace the 1050W model in the previous range. The only unit to survive the ‘changeover’ will be the 1250W high end model. All of the new models have also received a fan change, with one of the new Twister fans replacing the old ball bearing units. We have looked at some of the new Enermax fans in the past, and they are very good – check out the review over here.

Specifications:

  • 80PLUS® SILVER
    86 to 92 per cent efficiency at 230V and 20 to 100 per cent load. 80PLUS® Silver certified.
  • Multi Rail Design
    Stable and safe power supply thanks to four high-performance and massive 12V rails each with separated over current protection (OCP). Extremely low ripple noise.
  • Future CPU/GPU ready!
    Ready for upcoming CPU and GPU generations due to 12P sockets for possible connector changes and support of latest EPS12V PSU design guide for maximum compatibility.
  • DXXI ready!
    Full support of most current DX11 graphics cards due to minimum two 6+2P (8P) PCI-E connectors
  • C6 & Hybrid Support
    Supports energy saving modes of current and future CPU & GPU generations (C6 & Hybrid Mode) due to ZERO LOAD Design (no minimum load).
  • Fit4Server
    SSI PSDG 2008 v1.2 support for latest Intel® Core™ Extreme/i7, Xeon™ and AMD® Opteron™ and SLI™ or CrossFireX™ and AMD GAME! or AMD GAME! Ultra systems and downward compatible with SSI PSDG 2008 v1.1, v1.0, EPS12V v2.92, v2.91, v2.8.
  • 99% 12V Power
    Leading EPS12V PSU with 99% 12V output capability.
  • Non-Stop @ 50°C
    Non-Stop industrial class performance at 50°C ambient.
  • Air Cooling by Enermax
    Integrated 13.9cm fan with patented Twister Bearing Technology and intelligent RPM control ensures efficient, silent cooling and long lifetime (100,000 hours MTBF).
  • AirGuard
    Patented air-intake with optimal aero-dynamical design reduces noisy air turbulences.
  • HeatGuard
    Keeping PSU fan running for 30-60 seconds after shut down to dissipate the remaining system heat and prolonging system lifetime.
  • SafeGuard
    Industry-leading octuple protection circuitry (OCP, OVP, AC UVP, DC UVP, OPP, OTP, SCP, SIP).
  • CordGuard
    Fixing the AC cord tightly to avoid accidental shutdowns of your PC.
  • Worldwide compatible
    100V – 240V AC input with automatic adjustment and active Power Factor Correction (PFC) for global usage.
  • EuP/ErP (Lot 3) ready!
    Support computer system to meet EuP/ErP (Lot 3) standard.
  • ENERGY STAR 5.0 ready!
    Support computer system to meet ENERGY STAR 5.0 standard.
  • Dimensions (W x H x D)
    150mm x 86mm x 175mm
  • Warranty
    5 years manufacturer warranty
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
1 Flares Google+ 0 Twitter 1 Reddit 0 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- Facebook 0 1 Flares ×

Page : 1 2 3 4 5

  • Gadich

    Another great PSU, nice to see something else outside Corsair here this month :) Tough competition for Enermax, this would have been leading the way 6 months ago.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Raymond

    Interesting to see the 12V mv fluctuation. clearly some circuitry changes have taken place since the last models were released. looks great however

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tri Color

    Very tough market now with corsair dominating. Still this is a brilliant model, but the price needs to drop to under £200 to be truly competitve. Nice to see Kitguru being totally honest. i saw another review of this last week (or another model) on a tech site and they give it a top award. I fail to see how this really deserves to be put before the corsair unit considering the performance, efficiency and price differences.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brian

    The corsair Flextronics models are totally unbeatable right now until other manufacturers catch up. While this Enermax model is certainly worth buying, it shows the gulf in design between the last generation and this new cutting edge flextronics generation.

    I agree. I read a review of this on johhnyguru and it was honest. a few other sites seem to have been overly supportive of this unit. the 12v mv is a little concerning, while it wont cause issues, it still shouldnt be there and compared to the AX1200 which is 15 less, produces more power, more efficiency with more stability with mv, it seems a no brainer. still enermax deserve some credit, I dont want to appear dismissive.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    great testing, glad to see you raised ambient temperatures by 10c to cover a greater variety of system temperatures. 25c was too low.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frank

    Very good review and I think this is a great unit. I agree Corsair is number 1 choice, but this is a close second.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Terry

    Great testing KitGuru, best review of this unit ive read online yet,

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Roger

    Good solid design, nice to see rubycon components, those are wiked good/

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dryforce

    This is still extremely hard to buy, hacent seen it anywhere :(

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Earthforce 10

    been trying to buy this for weeks, still cant find it anywhere. Enermax need a new distributor.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dave

    They look really brilliant, the design is awesome and im so glad they aren’t using gold fans in this model.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ramjet

    £250 is too much for this, its not competitve. not thanks to corsairs new AX models. I would score it 7/10 for this alone.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Harold Funkmeister

    Great testing, good to see ambient temperatures up. would still like to see them at 50c however. good step up however.

    Efficiency is good, not quite as good as AX series from corsair, but if you have an issue with corsair as a company on some level then this seems to be the one to get.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Garth

    Zardon, no offense, but how did this get 8.5/10? the testing is spot on, I have one and have taken it apart too. however, the 12V mv is quite movable by todays standards which could in theory cause an issue under full load with for example 2 480′s GTX in SLI. Not only that, but the price is £250, which is £15 more than the AX1200 from corsair which is more powerful, more efficient and doesnt suffer from 12 mv fluctuation. Views?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tech Head

    Garth, this power supply wont give issues with 2 480GTXs under load. dont be silly. the 12 V mv result kitguru measured is STILL well within the recommended specifications by industry experts. Certainly wont argue the corsair units are better, but lets keep it sane !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jerome Smalley

    Great review, very helpful. I need to get the AX1200 now, thats my view !

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Brad

    No one needs this, or the AX1200. the AX850 is the best PSU on the market now when taking into consideration the price point and current modern hardware requirements.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Silver Tongue

    Nice design, always loved the appearance of these products. just a shame they werent comparible to corsairs. makes the pricing seem even more ridiculous.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Fat Facker

    Found this review today and had to say great site ! very good testing and nicely laid out with high quality pictures.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Samuel Pepps

    GREAT REVIEW ! ill be back.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bart

    Very nice indeed, Enermax are quality. id rate them higher than corsair due to their history in this market and 5 year warranty.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Trev

    Dont corsair offer a 5 year warranty also ?

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.kitguru.net Henry Butt

    @ Trev, I’m pretty sure Corsair actually offer a 7-year warranty on their PSUs…

    VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hakuren

    I lost all interest in Enermax when I bought Galaxy 850W with that stupid Power Guard system, beeping every step of the way without any reason (even if UPS was well above specified data – 850W PSU require at least 1000W UPS to work properly, I have 1980W). I was using Liberty 500W for a long time then switched to Galaxy and it was biggest mistake of my PC buys. Switched once more but this time to Corsair and never looked back. Enermax messed up big time with first versions of Galaxy and Revolution. For me never again Enermax. It is good to see that this “big-success” addition Power Guard is… no more with this particular model.

    Furthermore at this price point I expecting fully modular construction. It is not a secret that Enermax’s sleeving and connectors are rather poor and bulky. Cables are not as flexible as Corsair, with Enermax you need often excessive force to plug another 12V line cable, while Corsair connectors just slid in, do “click” and end of story. For now using spare Galaxy 850W on test bench with minimum loads mainly to test old HDDs with various controllers.

    Best buys today are:
    - (Blue) 750W Corsair – if you don’t need fully modular setup or SLI/CF
    - (Gold) 850W Corsair – if you do require fully modular PSU and SLI/CF
    - (Gold) 1200W Corsair – if you don’t want to buy PSU for another 5 or even 10 years.

    Right now Corsair is simply unbeatable. Best quality, best price, best design (talking about cables, connectors and general ease of use not color of the box) and finally best support with 7 year warranty.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.guidemehome2capecod.com/spice-up-your-home-by-remodeling-your-kitchen-2/ www.guidemehome2capecod.com

    Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your next write ups thanks once again.

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Polls

Which SSD for your next PC Build?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
KitGuru Facebook
Latest News Latest Previews
Related Posts
Archives